We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,072: English reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last year whilst I was backpacking around America solo. I decided to stay at the Crowne Plaza as a bit of a treat after staying in hostels for so long, and I'm really glad I did! I arrived before check-in time and was exhausted from a long journey; the staff could not have been more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KirstyAnneUK
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words about your stay. We take pride in our hotel and service. We are glad that our hotel provided a welcomed treat during your travels. Please stay with us on your next visit to Memphis and continue to recommend us to your friends and family.

Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

Having endured an awful overnight rail trip from Chicago, do not use the sleeping compartments they're too small for comfort, the seats on amtrac are more comfortable to sleep on. Anyway, we got to the hotel at 6am and hoped we could book in early. To our pleasant surprise the reception staff welcomed us warmly and showed us to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham K
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant and that we were able to accommodate your early arrival after a long trip from Chicago. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.

Tullahoma, Tennessee
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We stayed here overnight to see our daughter play at the convention center. It is a 5 minute walk to get there and you can leave your car in the parking lot until check out time. ' It was an easy check in process and the room was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cmanis01
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Wow! What a wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you found our location to your liking. We appreciate the great feedback and for providing useful tips for our future guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2015

this was the best of the 3 hotels we stayed in on our tour. Rooms and facilities excellent and all staff very friendly. Four friends and I had a great time in Memphis and all think this is the best of three hotels we visited.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen M
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for great comments on our staff. We are so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We stayed at this hotel as a base for a two night stay in Memphis. To say we were disappointed was an understatement. The rooms were dark and dingy and, as we were placed in a room accessible to disabled people (which we are not), cluttered with equipment. The location of the hotel is quite a way out from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2755Julie
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please know that we are continue to invest in our property to satisfy our guest expectations and have passed on your feedback. We appreciate the great comment on our breakfast and hope you will consider staying with us again.

Neath
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Quite a way out of town but free shuttle was a godsend and a lovely guy driving it. Reception staff very helpful and friendly, a lot more than can be said for the ladies serving breakfast - no customer service skills at all. Room was beautiful and we managed to check in early which after arriving at 6am on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevieaNeath
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our free local shuttle. We appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant and apologize that this was not positive. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our restaurant management. We hope you will consider staying...

Bowling Green, Kentucky, United States
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

Clean rooms, great location!!! Shuttle service to anywhere downtown. Our driver, Reginald is an excellent ambassador for the hotel and city of memphis. He was very friendly and enthusiastic when discussing upcoming events and city development. He really makes you feel welcome. The resteraunt staff, however could take some notes from him.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hzrvkt
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We will be sure to let Reginald know how much of an impact he made on your experience. We are disappointed to hear that our restaurant staff didn’t meet your expectations. We do hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We stayed in this hotel for our three day trip to Memphis. It was very clean and staff very helpful. It was on a room only basis. We had breakfast in the hotel which was brilliant, plenty to eat and a wide choice on the menu. We had a complementary bus which took us downtown, the different drivers where very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pmlfra
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to others. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 8 April 2015

We had to change our travel plans at the last minute and booked this hotel for one night. We used IHG Points which made me feel a little better for what we got. The rooms are very small for the "rack rate". We never did find a comfortable temperature, woke every hour trying to find a level of comfort. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
CrowneDOS, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. We are disheartened that your experience was not positive. Please except our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had doing you stay. We appreciate your business as a loyal customer and thank you for recognizing our staff. We hope you will give us a...

Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

Staff was very pleasant& extremely helpful. Hotel had some previous water damage that was in the process of being repaired but room was very nice & enjoyable. Have stayed here multiple times...outdoor pool is nice when it's warm. We love the free shuttle service available; saved us a lot in cab fare. I would stay there again for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TaushaTaylor
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear TaushaTaylor, we are so happy that we have been your constant hotel of choice when you’re in Memphis. Our staff are always ready to welcome you back again soon.

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 km away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 137 in Memphis
839 reviews
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.8 km away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 137 in Memphis
765 reviews
0.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Price Range: RM476 - RM1,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“reserve a suite well in advance”
 of 5 bubbles z0elife, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from elevators tend to be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles EvetteD, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We have stayed here several times. Never had a noise problem. Is located next to I-40 so easy in and out.”
 of 5 bubbles lrrp2015, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a pool facing room rather than an interstate one for a quieter option”
 of 5 bubbles HfamilyYork, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Amazing location near all attraction. Walk along the river and the Pyramid is 5 mins away.”
 of 5 bubbles Casey786786, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay