We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,135: English reviews
Cumbria
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Nice big room with rubbish view. Comfortable beds, no fridge, which is annoying in these temperatures. Noisy but efficient air con. Bathroom fine, but bring your own toiletries, because after the tube containing about a tablespoon of shampoo on night one, there ain't no more! Our bathroom extractor fan didn't work. The parking system doesn't work. The reception staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LizAtk
huntsville7, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear LizAtk, Thank you for taking the opportunity to fill out a review on your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Memphis. We value your very important feedback and I certainly would like to apologize for the issues you encountered with our reception team. There is really no excuse for you to have experienced these concerns, and I will...

Alabama
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Check in was near the appointed check in time.There was a convention in town so this made it inconvenient for the incoming guests as they needed time to freshen up before the venue.LONG check in.They were at 100% occupancy the night before. 2 housekeepers per each floor housing 28 rooms(?)Room appeared clean.Tub drain did not work.Upon reporting, engineering was there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Notthejetset
huntsville7, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Notthejetset, Thank you for taking the opportunity to complete a survey on your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Memphis. We certainly appreciate your valuable comments and feedback and are pleased that you found your guest room clean and comfortable. I would like to sincerely apologize for the confusion and experience with our shuttle vehicle. I will certainly...

Monroeville, Alabama
Reviewed 25 June 2015

The staff and location could not have been better. Free shuttle to Beale street was an added bonus. Very nice rooms. clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and went out of the way to make the stay enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth C
huntsville7, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 305daelc, Thank you for your very kind comments on your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Memphis. I will certainly share your comments with the entire team, as they will be thrilled to learn that you found the staff so wonderful and friendly. In addition, I will personally reach out to Reginald and recognize his going above and...

Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

Last month we stayed at the crown plaza Memphis downtown while we were seeing the sights and sounds of Memphis, the room was acceptable and clean however the breakfast was terrible the buffet was always cold and if it was not included we would have been asking for our money back!!!! But the saving grace of this hotel was Reginald...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppykett
huntsville7, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Poppykett, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on your recent visit with us here at the Crowne Plaza Memphis. Please allow me to sincerely apologize for your poor experience in our restaurant during breakfast. I will certainly address this immediately with the food and beverage team so we can correct these issues moving forward....

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 24 June 2015

This is a great hotel, staff are so friendly. We recently stayed for 3 nights and could not fault a thing! From arrival we were treated by all staff in a friendly manner!! Rooms were clean and the beds and pillows so comfortable and housekeeping was great!! The complimentary Shuttle service is an added bonus that we used on many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 305daelc
huntsville7, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 305daelc, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Memphis. We are so pleased that you had a terrific visit with us and found our staff wonderful and friendly. I will certainly share your kind comments with the entire team, as they will be delighted to hear your...

oldham UK
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here 5 years ago and loved the place This time we found reception really poor they paid no attention to detail and seemed happy to allocate rooms and nothing else When we told them the drink machine had taken our money without a giving a drink and the room maid said it had been reported but no one bothered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevekathybithell
huntsville7, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear stevekathybithell, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent visit here at the Crowne Plaza Memphis. Please accept my sincere apologies for the concerns with our reception staff. There is absolutely no excuse for you not to have received our true southern hospitality during your recent stay with us. I will certainly share your...

San Diego
Reviewed 19 June 2015

I stayed at the Crown Plaza for work and I expected more for the area and hotel. There was nothing in a super short walking distance. I did venture out but I had to venture down several blocks before I found anything. Downtown Memphis at night creeped me out and I didn't feel safe walking alone. The hotel was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rudolphsgf
huntsville7, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Agtstarling13, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Memphis. It was very nice to hear that you found the Front Office team very accommodating and recognizing you by name. I do want to extend my apologies for your guest room not being up to your standards. I...

Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

I stay here for three nights early in the week. The best thing about it is the shuttle to pretty much anywhere you need in town. The team are very friendly. Bring your plugs the air conditioning units are very noisy. My room was fine but the bathroom door didn't shut properly and the carpet seemed a bit old and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreeJen
huntsville7, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Free Jen, Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Memphis .We are very pleased that you found our team of associates very friendly. I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the concerns you experienced in your guest room. I will immediately address these issues with our engineering...

Phnom Penh
Reviewed 19 June 2015

We stayed 3 nights at the Crowne Plaza, we thought that it was a very nice place to stay. We stayed on the executive floor ,but the rooms here didn't seem to be any different to any other hotel, although we did have glasses and proper mugs to drink from. Up above on the 11th floor we could hear the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
huntsville7, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jenny W, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit here at the Crowne Plaza Memphis. We are very pleased that you found our hotel a very nice place to stay and that you had good experiences in our Food and Beverage outlets. We all appreciate your comments and patronage of our hotel and hope...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We spent one night at this hotel which met our needs and included free Wi-Fi. We had a great evening in a Beale street restaurant with an entertaining blues singer. Transportation is essential both ways to and from the hotel. We did see on the local news the next morning that there had been some incidents later on in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
Danny H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Donna W, Thank you for taking time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza in Downtown Memphis. We are so pleased that you found our hotel met your needs and hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Memphis! Warm regards, Danny Hiatt General Manager

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 km away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
871 reviews
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.8 km away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
816 reviews
0.9 km away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Price Range: RM577 - RM1,660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a renovated room. Although they might all be by now.”
dbaker831, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“side on hotel away from motorway”
JKBlake, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We didn't have enough time to check out the other areas of the hotel, but our room on the 2nd floor was satisfactory.”
venegas65, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
TNfrecklesrus, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our roo. Was on the 7th floor and we could look out and see the city of Memphis looking towards Beale street area..”
kgnolen9562, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5