We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,020 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
See the most recent reviews
Showing 961: English reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Cons: 1) Check in was slow and we were billed for two nights for a one night stay. It took us a week to correct the issue. 2) The shampoo bottle in the room was open and half empty. 3) Housekeeping attempted to enter our room twice while the Do Not Disturb was hanging on the door. 4) No fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danny B
DOSHIDowntown, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced regarding billing mistakes, interruptions by housekeeping, and insufficient supplies in your room. I regret your dissatisfaction with our hotel, and you can be assured that your comments will be shared with our management staff. Thank you...

Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

Our room was nice enough, although the coffee pot had not been cleaned from the last guest. Trying to get our car out of valet (we were offered no option to self-park) parking was a bit absurd. The clearly understaffed crew was hustling but the wait was unreasonably long (over 30 minutes). Won't be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
DOSHIDowntown, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience at our hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences to your stay regarding the unclean conditions of the coffee machine in your room and the long wait for your car in valet. I can assure you that this is not typical of...

Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Reviewed 3 April 2015

I came to Memphis for a concert at the Orpheum Theatre. This was a great choice for the money (compared to The Peabody, Westin, etc.). It is within walking distance of the FedEx Forum, The Orpheum, as well as all the clubs an retaurants in the Beale Street area. The room was clean, the hotel staff was very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeannie G
DOSHIDowntown, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with us! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our downtown location, found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and your room to be clean and comfortable. I hope we are able to welcome you back to our location on your next visit to Memphis....

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 March 2015

The first impression we had when we arrived wasn't positive--we were told the only way to park was valet at $22/day, but the valet himself was very nice and advised us that there was a parking structure across the street where you could leave the car overnight for $6/day. Check in is late (4pm) and they held our bags at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katsi2013
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with us. I am happy to hear that you found our employees to be friendly and helpful. It sounds like you had a good overall experience at our hotel. However, I apologize for any confusion over our hotel policies and I regret that you found our service...

Tennessee
Reviewed 26 March 2015 via mobile

The hotel location is wonderful if visiting Beale street. The building itself is older and musky smelling. The room doors have nothing to keep them from slamming shut so you hear that all night. They also have mandatory valet parking at $22.00 a day that adds up quick.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jdavis4345
DOSHIDowntown, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay at our hotel. It sounds like our hotel did not meet with your expectations. I regret your dissatisfaction with the Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis, and I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. It sounds like you were disturbed by neighboring noise, and I...

Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We booked here because of its' proximity to Beale Street, and it is just two blocks away. My problem was with the extra charge for a "city view" room. While it was on the 12t floor, well above the noise of the city streets, our view was of the hotel across the street. Save the extra cost, and wear ear...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Judy-Chuck
DOSHIDowntown, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet with your expectations. It sounds like you were disappointed with your room and our breakfast options. I regret your dissatisfaction with our hotel. It is our goal to provide 100% customer satisfaction, and I'm afraid we fell short of that goal in regards to...

Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 March 2015

The location is great, right across the street from the Peabody Hotel and 1 block from Beale St. There are bars and restaurants all around the hotel, there is a small convenience store 400 feet from the hotel and the hotel has it's own bar. If you are a Platinum member you get free valet parking, this is something you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CAPTRON83
DOSHIDowntown, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. I am beyond thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience while you were a guest of the holiday Inn Downtown Memphis. It sounds like you enjoyed our ideal location, and I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We had had a glorious trip on the CITY OF NEW ORLEANS from the Big Easy to Memphis. The train got in around 10 pm - not late I would have thought for Memphis but what did I know? This was a Sunday evening and we arrived at the Holiday Inn Select Downtown by cab from the railway station. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Journeyman41
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am so glad you were able to experience travel on the City of New Orleans train. It is a wonderful way to travel and see the countryside, and I hope you enjoyed your trip. I apologize if Memphis did not meet with your expectations. It seems there is always something to...

Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 18 March 2015

all good from the moment we arrived. Daniel the valet was very nice, did not always have his hand out for a tip, took good care of us. Michelle and Dana and the rest of the front desk staff we're, although quite busy, always took the time to take care of us. I asked for a quiet room, explaining why,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daveLarin
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with us and with others. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Daniel, Michelle, and Dana are great assets to our customer service team, and they will be delighted to hear that you mentioned them. Your comments will be shared with members of...

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Very convenient location for walking to Beale Street and the walking trails near the Mississippi river. Hotel was very clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. Valet parking was a little expensive at $22 per night but give the fact that parking in the area isn't easy to find sometimes made it worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterHNewf
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us, and I couldn't be more delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of our ideal location in central downtown Memphis. I am so glad to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and our staff to...

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (107)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Double Beds (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
816 reviews
0.4 km away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Price Range: RM648 - RM1,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
swansea
7 months ago
Albany, New York
over a year ago
6 months ago
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High room to escape the night noise”
PaulC722, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just ask the manager.”
donhurleydoc, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Corner suite on high floor was a great location but a little noisy”
rotop3, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on Union side can be a little noisy with vehicle traffic”
traciep895, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors seem quieter. Ice machines are on every other floor.”
JTscarb, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5