We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 372: English reviews
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

My friend and I had a one night stay here and the hotel was excellent.I have mobility problems and the staff carried my bag to my room and could not have been more helpful.I had room 2 and it was luxurious,four poster bed,roll top bath and a walk in shower! I ran out of teabags and they delivered more to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay & the girls will be pleased to be "name checked" ! it is always nice to be appreciated.

Blidworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Stayed here 2 nights on a "value" deal and was given a budjet room which was more than addiquate. Only two small gripes, 1. The light behind the bathroom mirror didnt work. 2. There was no hotel info folder in the room. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and it was very good. Service was fine and menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Gripes addressed ! - see you next time.

Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

lovely hotel - room perfect and excellent evening meal, and nice choice of breakfasts. Only two tiny gripes - bath / shower had no aid to getting out and newspapers were one day old at breakfast. No other complaints whatsoever.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Your gripes are justified & will be looked into.

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Llandovery is a great destination for a getaway, and is a focal point for many things Mid to West Wales. It is a firm favourite with many motorcycling enthusiasts, and was the focal point for BMW Owners Group last weekend, which I attended as part of an IAM Roadsmart publicity event for South Wales Advanced Motorcyclists. My wife and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

You are too kind ! we look forward to your return visit.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

On a Bank Holiday tour of the Llyn Brianne lakes we popped in for lunch on spec. How fortunate we were to discover a gem of a restaurant in Llandovery. The lunch, both the fish in batter and homemade curry, were excellent and presented beautifully. Despite being busy the staff were polite, helpful and efficient and the meal served promptly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Treforysboy
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you again.

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Stayed one night on business and was delighted to discover the standard of food in the evening and also the following morning at breakfast. The room was huge with its own lounge. The interior is period and full of stairs corridors and corners, mucch better than soulless new buildings. If you are looking to stay in the area I'd recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Adam. It's great when people "get us" !

Pembrokeshire
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We love coming here - staff are amazing especially the manager/boss lady - food is faultless absolutely gorgeous - had squid and prawn cocktail starter followed by trout and fish finger sandwich plus cheese board!! We are always made to feel so welcome even on their busiest days - would recommend to all - thanks again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Always happy to see you !

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Stayed in the Hamilton Room. It was alright, nothing special. Found a new paint brush in the bathroom on arrival. Thought it was an invite to DIY as it needs a bit of attention. Dinner was okay. Breakfast was okay. Nothing special. Disappointed to be shown to the bar to eat our evening meal when we had booked on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roofer59
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were not totally impressed. Re the room, it is scheduled for refurbishment - but not by the guests ! Re the dining arrangements, we are a very casual hotel, a pub with rooms in fact. We find that the majority of people prefer the atmosphere in the bar & cwtch and as such use those...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Managed to get a last minute booking on the same day, had the basic room which was fine, no issues with the room at all. Staff are very friendly, showed us to the room and was on hand to help when we had questions. Guinness was excellent, as was the wine. As for the evening meal I was very pleased,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrow6
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Always a pleasure to look after such lovely people !

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We were supposed to be staying 3 nights for a wedding and (after reading other reviews) I decided to contact the hotel to ask for a room in the quieter part of the hotel as we have an 8 month old baby and didn't want him to be too disturbed by alot of noise. Unfortunately the family rooms are all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michellehill22

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
18.2 km away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
411 reviews
33.0 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
855 reviews
28.1 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
154 reviews
0.0 km away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Llandovery
68 reviews
9.6 km away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#6 of 13 in Llandovery
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Price Range: RM297 - RM523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
over a year ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Treat yourself to best or the suite”
 of 5 bubbles bub72, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 - Comfortable bedroom. However, as situated in the front of the hotel not ideal for light sleepers as there is some noise.”
 of 5 bubbles BLACKBOYS, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not book room 12 or 14 as right next to boiler which ignites every 5 minutes.”
 of 5 bubbles mevs44, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front can suffer from traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Cranside, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wherever is furthest away from the anaerobic digester!”
 of 5 bubbles Elzzza, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5