We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 219: English reviews
North West UK
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our winter stay was made very special by being at this place for the weekend. Outside was cold but inside was lovely warm and welcoming and a great retreat even in January from the real world elsewhere Set in it's own 3 acre woodland area with beautiful walks available and a lovely picnic garden as well The owners were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ikelly46
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here at the beginning of December and we were oddly surprised at the previous reviews as to its 5 * rating. Admittedly we checked in on a very cold day but the place on arrival felt unwelcomingly cold! However, we could not fault the very warm greeting from its owner Gareth but when shown the small room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanT7093AP
Gina R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Rob and Susan, We are glad you appreciated the beautiful grounds, and great food and lovely area. The house has central heating, underfloor heating in the bathrooms and heated towel radiators. All the rooms have extra blankets, hot water bottles and most have thermal blinds. The guest books state that if you need an additional electric heater can be...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from our second visit to Gina and Gareth's luxury country B&B and will be planning our next stay very soon. After our first visit at the beginning of 2016, we were wondering if the second visit was a good idea or whether we should try somewhere new. However, our expectations were again exceeded as we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
Gina R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review Jason. We are glad you enjoyed your second visit with us and congrats on the engagement. We wish you all the best for 2017 and all the best for when the babe arrives. Thanks once more. Gareth and Gina

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for three nights including New year. Our room (Iris) was beautiful and the bathroom was newly refurbished and impeccably clean. The breakfasts were absolutely lovely and the meal we had on New Years eve was fantastic. Gina and Gareth treated us as friends and we could not have felt more welcomed by them. We had a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
Gina R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks Jen for the review..:)))) It was our pleasure having you stay with us and congrats on the engagement. We wish the two of you all the best for 2017 and for the wedding!!! Thanks once more. Gareth and Gina

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We would like to wish Gina and Gareth all the best for the New year. We stayed at the Afon Rhaiadr B and B in November and had a really lovely time. The accommodation was first class as was the warm welcome we received on arrival. Our only regret was that we were unable to walk around the extensive grounds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaz4321
Gina R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay..(sorry about the weather.)....but it is wales...lol. We hope all is well and all the best for 2017. Thanks Gareth and Gina.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is not easy to find with a SatNav. The postcode sends you about 15 miles away! Follow the directions given by the owners for best results. A good sized car park with a sympathetically decorated period house with en suites or, in our case, an individual, well appointed FULL bathroom. Good sized bedroom with a comfy bed. TV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
Gina R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks Roger for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your break. We hope you are all well and all the best for 2017. Thanks Gareth and Gina.

Denbigh, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We were bought a 2 night getaway as a gift last Christmas and having only got around to using it now. From the moment we booked Gina went out of her way to keep in touch by e-mail, even sending the in-dining menu over so we could pre book our dinner. We stayed in Foxglove room which had lovely views,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NPeskett28
Gina R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the awesome review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to get some good R&R It was our pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future. Thanks once more. Gareth and Gina

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

on arrival we found the place abit disappointing considering its 5 star rated , our bedroom was very small indeed & had a tiny tv which had a mind of its own, even though it was the coldest time of the year,we found hardly any heating on & especially noticed this ,when in the dining room for breakfast! saying all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worcsbaz
Gina R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, but you did book the small room. As the house is almost 200 years old and built out of stone it does tend to get cold in winter. We are sorry you didn't approach us at the time about being cold as we could have given you extra heaters....

Reviewed 26 November 2016

My wife and I were gifted a 2 night stay at Afon Rhaiadr which was booked a couple of months ago and we weren't disappointed. Our room wasn't huge but was comfortable and although we didn't have en suite facilities, our own private beautifully appointed bathroom was just a few steps away. We had dinner at the B&B on our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
Gina R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful review Jeff. We glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you in the future. Thanks Gareth and Gina

Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We have just returned from a two night midweek break at Afon Rhaiadr, had a great time, Gareth and Gina are very friendly and welcoming, we felt at home instantly. Breakfast was second to none with plenty of choice. We stayed in Room 4 which is Iris, bathroom lovely with underfloor heating and two showers in one! If you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayne l
Gina R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks Jayne for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your break with us. Hope all is well. Thanks Gareth and Gina

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
7.6 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
304 reviews
5.0 km away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
279 reviews
5.1 km away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
5.3 km away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
174 reviews
5.0 km away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Victorian Boutique 5* Gold Award Country House in 3 acres with garden, woodland&waterfalls.Stylish décor, luxury bathrooms, luxury bedding, towels robes etc.Set in stunning scenery of Snowdonia near mountains and coast.Walkers paradise. Cyclists & Adventure attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast

Address: Glanrafon A494, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Price Range: RM486 - RM723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You want a top tip: Book quick as staying anywhere else will only be second best!”
 of 5 bubbles jasonlJ5902WI, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Foxglove is spacious with nice views, lovely spa bath, very comfortable double bed”
 of 5 bubbles NPeskett28, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“view before booking”
 of 5 bubbles worcsbaz, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 4 at back of house just sounds of waterfall to "disturb" your sleep!?”
 of 5 bubbles jaynelangley2000, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room - Foxglove - had a jacuzzi bath.”
 of 5 bubbles RobandGill, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay