We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

532 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 529: English reviews
Start your review of Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
 Click to rate
Cortes de la Frontera
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed as part of a Travelzoo deal, dinner b&b. The dinner on the first night was delicious and could not be faulted. Congratulations to the chef. Breakfast was also very good as was the service. Our bedroom, number 3, was awful. (The staff call it the Marmite room.) You could barely open the door in the bedroom; half the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank piedraverdi
Hazeljohnsonollier, Owner at Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your dining experience at Bishopsgate. Like we said at the time many of our guests love room 3 and request it time and time again. It is also the room deliberately advertised with the offer you booked. It was also explained to you at the time of booking because you booked 2 rooms on the offer, one...

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent and very friendly service. The food was top notch. We opted for the roast Welsh lamb which was delicious. It was served with good quality and perfectly cooked veg. The home made roast potatoes and parsnips were divine. The sticky toffee pudding was the lightest I've ever tasted. Definitely a return visit on the cards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Einir
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast in room 9. On entry the room was quite cold. It gave the impression that it had not been stayed in for a while because the bath robe was not only cold, but slightly damp feeling. I had a cup of tea and unfortunately the milk congealed into lumps in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malpoet
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the hotel for a quick break for my husband's birthday. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the owner was as welcoming as her team. The room was cosy, as we have a dog we expect that our room would not be the best in the hotel so we weren't disappointed. As long as it's clean and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smiffi62
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on a Travelzoo deal, DB and breakfast. We had delicious food in a lovely dining room, the staff were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. The room we stayed in overlooked the Menai straits was very comfortable and very quiet. Would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
Corwen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a boring, modern and sterile chain hotel. This hotel has real character with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Our dog Ollie was made most welcome, which always makes our stay a happy one. Our evening meal and breakfast was good and we were able to eat in the bar with our dog (who was given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elerinant
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food in this hotel is fantastic and the staff are lovely however, the room we stayed in number 2, was very tired really needed updating. We stayed on a travel zoo deal so we were very happy with the price we paid but I don't think I would like to pay the full price for this room. Would return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
Hazeljohnsonollier, Owner at Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed the food and described it as excellent. However I am surprised you booked a 1755 building if you were looking for something more updated. We are very proud of the character of the hotel and feel there are plenty of modern buildings for those who prefer that.

liverpool
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a night in this lovely hotel with our dog. We had a lovely view from our bedroom window of the Menai Straits and Snowdonia. The hotel is not a chain hotel and you are made to feel very welcome. Great to have a hotel that welcomes dogs. They can't go in the restaurant but can go into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmcliverpool
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Wife and I and two friends have just returned f rom a three day stay at the Bishopgate house Hotel in Beaumaris North Wales . We found it to be a quite nice experience but not without a few minor negatives .We had a meal there the first night which we found to be very good and also the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kinger465
wales
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely 3 course meal here for my birthday. Lovely bar area with open fire for drinks before our meal. Food was perfect! Great service and a lovely quirky building. Would definitely return and maybe stay overnight next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blissWales

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
4.3 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
921 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
677 reviews
16.2 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 km away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
78 reviews
25.2 km away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Price Range: RM511 - RM608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room number 3”
  • View to window showing slop which is mirrored on the other side
  • View to bedroom door and shower cupboard
  • View to shower and basin at the end of the bed
piedraverdi, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front of hotel for views of the straight”
mikewJ5640AO, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 9 is lovely and spacious”
elerinant, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our bedroom was very quiet, at the back of the building (Room 11)”
TomCaris, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It seems they are all different!”
RobL743, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5