We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 514: English reviews
Manchester UK
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

We stumbled upon this hotel as a last minute option, without viewing the website or reviews. I have to say it was one of the best impromptu hotel stays we've had. Such a warm, welcoming reception. With the aroma of delicious skill-fully cooked food. The rooms are decorated in keeping in Georgian style, they are spacious and have everything you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brownnicksta
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Charming hotel, sensitively decorated and furnished in keeping with the period. Quirky, homely and spotless throughout. If you want contemporary, plastic and boring, please book into a city centre hotel! Bedroom and facilities very good with tea/coffee making facilities which were replenished daily. Ate the first evening in the hotel restaurant after reading previous reviews. No disappointed, the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie F
HazelJohnson-Ollier, Owner at Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, firstly we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Bishopsgate. Secondly what a welcome pleasure to know somebody does actually appreciate the period build of the hotel and isn't looking for plastic and formica!! Hope to see you soon.

Cheshire
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Called in for Sunday lunch. The restaurant was extremely quiet but we had brilliant service and lovely food. The restaurant is trapped in a bit of a time warp, would be nice to see some updating done as the food deserves a splendid surrounding! Will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheekychubbychops
HazelJohnson-Ollier, Owner at Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. Bishopsgate is all about the good food, warm welcome and hospitality. Your comments about us being stuck in a time warp may be slightly misleading for somebody reading. Bishopsgate is a 1755 Georgian house which has been refurbished to suit the building, all public rooms (Bar, Lounge, Restaurant, Hall stairs...

Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

We visit Beaumaris every year and every year we go to the Bishopsgate hotel and would not go anywhere else. The staff are lovely, the food is out if this world, the hotel itself is beautiful, child friendly and serves for a very relaxing break. Thank you to everyone who made our visit perfect. We look forward to seeing you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carleyjane89
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

We booked in last minute and got a lovely cosy room on the top floor. The owner and all the staff are really friendly and helpful, can't fault the service or the place. The star of the show has to be the food! We had dinner in the restaurant which was simply stunning and breakfast the next day was great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bryony R
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We had a very pleasant midweek summer break here which made a change from our usual New Year trip! The staff were most helpful and welcoming, and the food was wonderful. I had the toasted goat's cheese on beetroot salad starter on both nights as it was so delicious. At breakfast the poached eggs were perfectly cooked and the service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanR646
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

A lovely privatley owned hotel, well presented and very comfortable friendly staff who made us feel most welcome. The food is of exceptional quality at a very reasonable price. And dog friendly All in all a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Supersupersandy
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Arrived as a single female traveller and was made comfortable the moment I arrived. It is a small (9 rooms only) privately owned immaculate Georgia Town House. Small cosy bar and beautiful residents lounge with sea with. The most accommodating staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dotty W
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We initially had difficulties in finding the private free hotel car park which is at the rear Fortunately the weather was lovely so to take our bags around was no problem but it wouldn't be so pleasant in bad weather so an access door from the car park would be very beneficial . The check-in was friendly and helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris D
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2015

My wife and I booked a three night stay at this hotel from the 9th of July at a cost of £299-70 for what was described as a deluxe double room .The room was number 1 on the top floor in what was I presume part of the attic judging from the sloping ceiling and windows so high you cant...

 Report
Helpful?
15Thank ian l
HazelJohnson-Ollier, Partner at Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I will try to be objective and honest to your very dishonest and disparaging comments. Firstly when you arrived you were told it was a quiet room at the top of the hotel without a view as it has a skylight window, so I would not expect you to see out of it. Your TV worked perfectly but you hadn't...

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
4.3 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
872 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
659 reviews
16.2 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 km away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
77 reviews
6.4 km away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Price Range: RM512 - RM584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No great views but front rooms have a nice view of the street”
 of 5 bubbles Glenyce2015, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go for 1st floor as they seem larger and don't have to extra flight of stairs to go up.”
 of 5 bubbles waggalot, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms are on the small side with low ceilings”
 of 5 bubbles charliehigginson, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There isn't s lift, but staff are more than happy to help with luggage”
 of 5 bubbles Sand_staffordshire, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 11 which is the only room where the wi-fi signal is poor.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffM406, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5