We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Hotel

Save
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (7)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good37%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
191
147
41
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
191
147
41
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubusual wetherspoonsoverlooking the squarewetherspoons pubsno liftfire escapesmall car parkbeer gardenpay and displayhospitality trayattending a weddingsingle roomtown squarelarge bathroomdecent sizestayed for one nightwould stay again
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel but just can’t do the basics. Stayed in 2 rooms all clean as expected but no milk for us fine if we didn’t have 2 young kids . When we asked for milk bar person was very surprised also no milk was told...More

3  Thank Grffin
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry your stay was marred by stock availability issues caused by very rare problems with our deliveries. I must also apologise for our failings in dealing with your concerns but would like to reassure you that this is very...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice decorated rooms clean and comfy,good tea tray and bottled water as well,although their car park is now a beer garden there is a council car park behind you can pay the night before so you dont have to rush around early in the morning.The...More

1  Thank johnbrum
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 9 March 2018

Lovely hotel right in the middle of town car parking is now a bit of a problem £7 per day not enough staff on in the morning but very busy and popular at night good quality throughout lovely beer garden and great wetherspoons prices on...More

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
1  Thank andyafc
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and note your comments on our morning staffing levels and car parking. We regularly review our rotas to ensure prompt service and we'll look at what went wrong during your visit. The recent redevelopment...More

Reviewed 7 March 2018

The room was very good value for money although it could have done with a more comfortable chair .Unfortunately breakfast choice is rather limited in choice which was a pity.There was no noise from people in the bar although it was a Monday.

Thank Tim19061953
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you for your review, We've noted your comments about the comfort of the chair in your room and our breakfast menu and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 March 2018

When we were caught in heavy snow on our way home to West Lancashire we were lucky enough to find a room at the castle hotel. The family room was exceptional and the service from the staff was friendly and helpful. Costa being across the...More

Thank Jo H
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We're pleased we could be of service and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again when you can enjoy our part of North Wales in better weather!

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$67 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$67 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
liverpool-lulu
8 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Clair P | Property representative |
Hi, Llandyrnog is literally 10 minutes away. We'd recommend pre booking a taxi and can send you a list of local taxi firms if you let us know when you book. Kind regards
1
Vote
KSBaxter
29 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Robwimborne1 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Sorry we did not have time to watch the TV. But its a Weatherspoons so I think they have all the sport
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Best to be on a higher floor to avoid the noise from the bar downstairs and creaky floor boards."
Read review
"do not go on top floor rooms"
Read review
"Avoid rooms over bar at weekends and be aware no lift and steep stairs"
Read review
"Ask for an upper floor as through experience the rooms are quieter, no noise from the rooms above you."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing