We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Hotel

393 reviews
Save
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (7)
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good37%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (393)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
190
144
39
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
190
144
39
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubwetherspoons hotelsusual wetherspoonsoverlooking the squareno liftfire escapesmall car parkpay and displayhospitality trayattending a weddingbeer gardenserved quicklysingle roomtown squarelarge bathroomfirst floorgood size
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

No car park, no breakfast without paying extra, sink doesn't drain properly, tv remote broken, receptionist was quite surly. Not the normal wetherspoons experience, a tad disappointing, would not stay here again.More

Thank chrisxr2
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 5 December 2017

I'm sorry to hear you found your stay with us a tad disappointing. While we don't have a car park, local parking is very reasonable and only charges from 08.00 to 17.00 hours. Similarly, our rooms are sold on a room only basis but, for...More

Reviewed 19 November 2017

we had a great time at hotel we were on top floor but due to not being able to do the stairs they moved us to level 1 not very good for disabled as too many stairs but overall great food great value and breakfast...More

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank anniephipps
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 25 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear of the problem you had with your top floor room. As we were unable to install a lift when the hotel was redeveloped, we will always try to help our guests who need a lower level...More

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

The new manager in Wetherspoons ruthin is fantastic, great service and a happy smile, it's very refreshing seeing someone put effort in that place, he was constantly on the move making sure everyone was okay and did a great job I will definitely return

Thank ward1015
Response from Pub_Team1, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 25 November 2017

Thank you for your review. It's nice to hear you're impressed with our new manager and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Had day trip to ruthin so called off to the castle for breakfast StaFf were very helpful and friendly food was good and hot had wanted to stay the night before but no vacancies so travelled early morning instead had a good look round the...More

Thank Chris S
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 17 November 2017

Thanks for your review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and we look forward to welcoming you to our lovely hotel on your next trip to Ruthin. Please search our website to check availability and book and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 31 October 2017

My son and I stopped here for one night, whilst visiting an event in the area. All we needed was food, drink and a bed for a few hours and we got all that. We had the "easy access" room, which is outside, at the...More

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
1  Thank David H
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 2 November 2017

Thanks for leaving us a review. We're pleased you had an issue free stay and hope to see you again. Kind regards

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345679
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$67 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$67 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
KSBaxter
29 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Robwimborne1 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Sorry we did not have time to watch the TV. But its a Weatherspoons so I think they have all the sport
0
Votes
Richard F
8 November 2016|
Answer
Response from frolickingfairy |
Unfortunately due to the building being Grade 2 listed the hotel doesn't have lift.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Best to be on a higher floor to avoid the noise from the bar downstairs and creaky floor boards."
Read review
"do not go on top floor rooms"
Read review
"Avoid rooms over bar at weekends and be aware no lift and steep stairs"
Read review
"Ask for an upper floor as through experience the rooms are quieter, no noise from the rooms above you."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing