We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ruthin Castle Hotel

Booking.comUS$134*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Panoramas (30)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,039 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ruthin Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,034: English reviews
Abergele
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We only live about 30 mins from the hotel but had never been there before. We stayed there one night as part of a package that included B & B and the medieval banquet. It was great. Lovely old building, an authentic castle, but with the right balance between modern practicalities and original charm. Our room was lovely, overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark426
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark426 Thank you for choosing to stay at Ruthin Castle recently. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the Medieval Banquet, your kind comments are appreciated and are always a great boost for the hard working staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Wiltshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our three day "Secret Escapes" stay at Ruthin Castle was by no means a bargain - for a couple it cost us over £400! We were a little disappointed by the quality of our room - it looked nothing like those featured on the website. Our air conditioning unit remained stubbornly blank despite all attempts to coerce it into life....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robandeil
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robandeil Thank you for providing feedback following a recent stay. It's really unfortunate that we weren't aware of your disappointment during your time with us. Your enjoyment and quality of stay is our priority. Breakfast presentation does vary based on occupancy levels, during busier periods it is presented buffet style to avoid any delay to you, our guests. I...

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ruthin Castle Hotel I was very disappointed by the two night stay at the Ruthin Castle Hotel - I expected much more for the price. The building itself is impressive, the staff are very friendly and the best thing about the place is the peacocks and peahens that wander free in the grounds without a care in the world. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dtc333
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dtc333 Thank you for providing feedback following a recent stay to review the Hotel. It's unfortunate that you only scored us 2 out of 5 and that you didn't enjoy your stay overall. Obviously, this is also disappointing for us as we were offered no opportunity to rectify the situation whilst you were with us. We do appreciate your...

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a truly great hotel, yes a bit tired, but that adds to the whole experience. The only downer and the thing that ruins the whole experience, is the appalling food and some of the younger staff. The food is bland, tasteless and in my experience cold. Some of the younger staff seem more interested in grabbing a cigarette...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank karl637
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear karl637 I was alarmed to read your comments about the behaviour of certain members of staff on a recent stay at Ruthin Castle. I would appreciate it if you could please contact me directly so that we can discuss further - Our staff are our greatest asset and are regularly commended for their attention and efforts which is why...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

an excellent short break, 2 nights in a castle room, comfortable and nice friendly staff, an interesting place with lots of history, the meals were very good indeed [better than you would expect even with two aa stars,] and we were informed the chef is only 24 years old, look forward to seeing what he does in the future, will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hungrydavid
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Attending a wedding which location and event was great I'd like to comment about our room and hotel in general Are room was large and comfy, the bathroom had a bath sink and toilet, the toilet was tight against the bath and to be honest both rooms where dusty and needed some tlc The hotel I felt needed a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chorleyf
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ruthin castle is steeped in history. It is a little rough around the edges.....but only around the edges. You feel like you are in a castle with the wonderful majestic decor and furniture in the communal areas. The staff are really helpful and friendly. We spent a relaxing few hours in the thermal suite and we both had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kath29012017
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Ruthin Castle middle of April and was very fortunate to book the Prince of Wales Suite. The Castle is an absolute delight. As for the Suite, absolutely amazing, perfect place for a romantic getaway. Slightly higher priced than the other suites, but worth every penny. The food and service in the bar was excellent. The Ruthin Castle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian J
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed here twice previously, I was very disappointed this time. I understand a castle needs a lot of maintenance, but paint and cleaning doesn't cost much. There are holes in the plaster and thick dust on the furniture in the corridors. The drapes on our 4 poster bed were thick with dust which is just poor housekeeping. We missed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank heatwave65
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a night at the castle with my wife. Booked in and were very pleased with the service at reception. Bertie's restaurant served up some nice dishes and service was good. Spa treatments was really enjoyable. Disappointed with the standard of cleanliness in the rooms as the wife's dress after taking it out of the wardrobe had dust stains on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grav E

1,891 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1377)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (437)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
4:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (618)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (472)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Lillie Suite (68)
Viewed
Prince of Wales Deluxe Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Castle (43)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Rear (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (169)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.4 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
339 reviews
38.7 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
659 reviews
39.9 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,084 reviews
25.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
32.6 km away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Price Range: RM604 - RM1,252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ruthin Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Ruthin Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away.”
pstephenson17, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Eat elsewhere.”
karl637, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suites are really nice and quiet”
Suzi-Red, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“My room was good.freeview tv and very good nights sleep”
dave14142016, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“room 207 is amazing!”
  • Suite 207
Kha_H, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$134* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$134
HotelQuicklyUS$185
Orbitz.comUS$144
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates