We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Having just returned from a couple of nights staying at this wonderfully B&B I had to come along and write a review. My sister and I had a room each in the farm house, everthing you could possibly wish for was supplied plus a few surprising extras. To sum up our stay, fabulous rooms, fabulous food and a warm and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline T
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review

Pauline & Hazel, Thank you for the great review. We enjoyed meeting you both, ideal guests and look forward to see you again in November Pauline. Kind Regards Gwen More 

worcester, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Fantastic welcome as always from Gwen and Idris , the cottages are always clean and offer excellent facilities Stunning views and a lovely collection of animals to see. Make sure you book breakfast in the farmhouse as it is fab quality and plenty of it! Looking forward to next year

Helpful?
1 Thank gincott
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, we enjoyed having you to stay as always. More 

Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Had a wonderful nights stay with my horse to compete in the Trec competition at Llanthony. Lovely room and bathroom, and the best breakfast I have ever had staying away!! Very interesting farm with so many animals, children must love it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary C
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you for your it great to know people have enjoyed their stay with us. Hope to see you again. many Thanks Gwen More 

South Yorks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We had a wonderful few days B&B with our hosts Idris and Gwen looking after our every need. We stayed in a large, comfortable family room with our daughter and our dog. Breakfast was served in a large farmhouse kitchen and sustained us for the rest of the day! We were visiting family and friends in Abergavenny and the farm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clijon
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review, we enjoyed having to stay and hope to see you all again. Many Thanks Gwen More 

Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Our walking group has been staying at Pen-Y-Dre for our Welsh walks for many years now, and the welcome just gets warmer and warmer. This year, as well as the fresh milk in the fridge for our tea and coffee, Gwen had baked an excellent lemon drizzle cake with which to tempt us. The rooms have absolutely everything you might... More 

Helpful?
Thank Horleylad
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review, we always enjoying seeing you, You certainly brought the good weather for your walks this year. Hope to see you all again soon. Kind Regards gwen More 

Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2015

this place is awesome, the hosts are very friendly and welcoming, room and breakfast fantastic, will definitley stay there again.Lots of extras like cake with your tea in the room, the room was clean and comfortable with little extras like soap and flannels.

Helpful?
Thank 1chrism2014
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, we enjoyed looking after you, hope to see you again. Kind Regards Gwen More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We spent a lovely weekend at Pen-y-dre farmhouse B&B- warm welcome, lovely large room with every detail attended to, from flannels and toiletries to biscuits and cake. Warm, clean and comfortable with a generous breakfast, lovely hosts and a welcome for our dog too. We look forward to visiting again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra B
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review

Sandra, thank you for your lovely review, we do appreciate have nice and helpful comments. We both enjoyed meeting you both, hope to see you again sometime. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Stayed for a few nights at this campsite ... Pitch was awful, absolutely no way we could put an awning out. If I said that it was uneven I would be being generous.Site is mostly occupied by long term residents ... Not hugely friendly .. Shower block is very basic but clean. If you are passing through for a night... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank welshcake224
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, I do try and tell people that it not a very flat site and that we are by the road. However I am glad that you were happy with the shower and toilet block cleaning standard. I think the charge of £6.00. per person reflects that it is a small basic... More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2014

Stayed as a B&B guest. Was given a very warm welcome by Idris, and shown to my beautiful large room. For the price I was paying the room exceeded my expectations! It was all clean and had some thoughtful finishing touches. It was just 200 yards from the oldest pub in Wales, which served great food. And next to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurjolie
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, I am sorry I have not responded before I somehow missed the alert. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We are just back from a weekend stay at the B&B. Such a lovely warm welcome, fantastic breakfast cooked to perfection and the rooms are very clean & cosy, and every little home comfort is provided ( biscuit tin and a full jar of decent coffee) Looking forward to our next visit :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Lilygibson
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we really enjoyed meeting you both. Hope to see you again. More 

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An ideal holiday location especially for families or groups keen to visit The Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons, or walk the Offa`s Dyke Path. The village has The Skirrid Mountain Inn, which is the oldest pub in Wales and was used as Judge Jeffrie`s Court. The scenery is superb with The Skirrid Mountain behind and The Black Mountains just beyond the village. Ideally situated to explore the Wye Valley, Welsh Border Country, Forest of Dean, The Brecon Beacons National Park & South Wales. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays

Address: llanfihangel crucorney | nr abergavenny, Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llanvihangel Crucorney
Price Range: RM223 - RM446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dog friendly. Don't come here if you don't like kids, dogs and animals!”
 of 5 bubbles dogloverkate, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“great family room if you can handle a spiral staircase!”
 of 5 bubbles rayd783, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We recommend the cottages separate from the house.”
 of 5 bubbles cardiff198, 12 May 2014 | Read review
“I contacted Gwen in advance to question what would be the best room for us as we required room for the dog and cot etc.”
 of 5 bubbles 157stur, 7 Sep 2013 | Read review
“The front rooms have thick stone walls, exposed beams, and genuinely ancient wooden floors. Very atmospheric.”
 of 5 bubbles Horleylad, 3 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5