We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The City Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The City Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
Start your review of The City Inn
 Click to rate
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A little disappointing- lovely people but over stretched. Food average feel guilty but won't be going there again. One of us is strictly vegan for medical reasons, asked for a baked potato and beans and got a potato soaked with butter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David D
howard b, Owner at The City Inn, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear you were dissappointed - as you said we were understaffed that evening due to exceptional circumstances-however we did let you know that we would be looking after you but there may be some short delays. We did discuss your dietry needs with you and made sure that your strict requirements were met-This included not putting butter...

Reviewed 13 February 2017

When pulling up to the Inn I was a bit disappointed by the outside. Once inside though it was a different story. The bedroom was very large, clean and comfortable, with all the amenities you could wish for. Also the view was amazing. The staff were lovely and friendly, nothing too much trouble. They rustled up some sandwiches even though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Stayed here for one night Saturday, with my sister to visit another sister who lives local, staff very helpful, I have a problem eating due to a cancer operation, so when I asked if they had any soup as not shown on menu for our evening meal, they said not a problem I could have some cowl (type of Welsh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernie K
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here whilst doing some walking on the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path. The room was reasonable but would have benefited from more thorough cleaning, the fixtures and fittings are also tired. The best part of my stay was the breakfast which was freshly cooked and nicely presented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogerfromTown
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I can honestly say we could not fault this place the room was very comfortable and clean we had an excellent nights sleep and the breakfast was delicious and served very quickly and the staff were very friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drew I
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Upon our arrival we were shown straight to our room and told all the paperwork had already been sorted out. It was very nice to wake up to the sounds of cathedral bells. Breakfast in the morning was also excellent with a good choice of hot and cold items.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

When pulling up to the hotel we were a bit disappointed by the outside. Once inside the rooms were very large, clean and comfortable, with all the amenities you could wish for. The staff were lovely and friendly. The breakfast's were a good English breakfast and very tasty. The inn itself was a good proper local pub with all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Stayed for five days while on a walking holiday. On the plus side the City Inn provides good sized clean rooms, traditional cooked breakfast, friendly staff, reasonable value for money and a good location for the Coastal bus. On a not so positive side the initial impression is poor. Entrance is via some neglected flower pots, view from the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussiehiker
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016

I booked a room here to be near family who were camping. The owner very helpfully juggled rooms to squeeze me in, as the whole of St David's was booked up and I'd left booking until the last minute. It's a 3 Star Hotel and was very good value. I stayed 6 nights in room 6, an en suite room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank savernakelass2016
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016

A small group of us stayed at the City Inn recently and we were all satisfied with it. The breakfasts were lovely and the evening meals were delicious. Nothing was too much for the staff in the dining room and the chef who cooked the meals. The rooms were clean and tidy except the downstairs reception room which was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 208Carol

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Davids hotels
0.4 km away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
137 reviews
0.2 km away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
278 reviews
0.3 km away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
215 reviews
0.6 km away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 21 in St Davids
183 reviews
0.3 km away
Captain's House
Captain's House
#9 of 18 in St Davids
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just a short walk from the centre of historic St. Davids, the City Inn is run by Howard and family, offers a relaxed atmosphere and is a popular inn open every lunchtime and evening. The inn also has 11 bedrooms, 9 of which are en-suite. Large car park available. Located near several Blue Flag award-winning beaches including White Sands Bay, and with many historic sites of interest to explore. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The City Inn

Address: New Street, St Davids SA62 6SU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Price Range: RM394 - RM461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The City Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Aberystwyth
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The City Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room no 3 was very large and spacious with a double & single bed. An amazing view of the sea and Preselli Hills.”
 of 5 bubbles 464rachaels, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room had a good view as should all the others”
 of 5 bubbles 408berniek, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room on the top floor”
 of 5 bubbles S1381MVrichardf, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you want to use the WiFi in your room avoid top floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Aussiehiker, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles savernakelass2016, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5