We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old School House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old School House
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We have just returned from a night at The Old School House and we found the welcome we received on arrival lovely. We were offered tea and biscuits in the conservatory which was much appreciated. The room we stayed in was spotless and very cosy, the only drawback for us was the shared bathroom. I was under the impression that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen L
Karen B, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments but I am surprised to read what you said about the bathroom as being shared, I would like to point out that the double room has sole use of the bathroom as the twin room has a en-suite facility, therefore the bathroom you were using was actually for your sole use, if you had only... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016

have just returned from our 2 night stay at the old school house , superb spotlessly clean room ,greeted with a pot of tea and beautiful home made cake , sat in the very relaxing conservatory over looking the welsh hill's and mad two lovely little friend's Charlie and Goldie , the hens !. our breakfast both morning was of... More 

Helpful?
Thank denise186402
Karen B, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, we hope to see you again in the near future Kind Regards Karen & Bernie More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We had an emergency trip to do and found the Old School House had a room. What a service. Can't fault it at all. Vegetarian breakfast for us at 6.30 am, the room was spacious, comfy and fully equipped. Bathroom shower was brilliant and all decorated to a high standard. The hosts were so friendly and welcoming and I thoroughly... More 

Helpful?
Thank dene029
Karen B, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks, it was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again one day in the future Karen & Bernie More 

Brecon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2016

This B&B cottage would come first on any of the 'Four in a Bed' competitions!! Karen and Bernie provide wonderful hospitality, superb food and first class accommodation and off road parking The location is beautiful and starting just by the side of the cottage is a lovely country walk. My partner and I and our dog really enjoyed our time... More 

Helpful?
Thank thebigskill
Karen B, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review

Sorry to leave it so late to reply but Bernie and I would like to thank you for your high recommendation of us, we love doing the B&B and sharing what we are lucky to have Karen & Bernie More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2016

What a fantastic place for a night or for a week as a base to explore the area. The accommodation was spotless and we could find fault with nothing. Karen the landlady was the perfect host could not do enough to make our stay the best we would recommend The Old School House to anyone looking for a quiet and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigPaulH
Karen B, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, I am so pleased you had a good time and we hope to see you again in the near future Kind Regards Karen More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Although it's 4 miles off the main road,on country lanes,you won't be disappointed. It was raining when we arrived. We had a fantastic welcome,we were shown to a twin room,en suite at the front of the house. We were offered tea & coffee in the conservatory. Our room was really pretty ,in tones of blue. All the furniture was wooden,including... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShrewsburyChefette
Karen B, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, we are glad you had a nice time and look forward to you returning. Kind Regards Karen More 

Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2016

I was with a large extended family group of all ages + mnay dogs! We all enjoyed the warm pool and sauna after our wet muddy walks. Well equipped with washer, dryer etc. Broadband and Sky for the afficionados. Super owners, very obliging. Wonderful place. I would go again.

Helpful?
Thank Brigid C
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2015

The old school house is situated in a lovely rural area of mid Wales. Karen and Bernies welcome is wonderful making you feel your in a home from home. The breakfast is legendary and nothing is too much trouble, there is always a thought or suggestion of things to do.

Helpful?
2 Thank gcmrj25
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed two nights at this B&B. Lovely welcome from Karen and Bernie. Lovely quiet setting, clean and homely. Fantastic cooked breakfast gave us a great start to the day! We didn't book a meal... but only because we didn't know our schedule. I bet it would be lovely to eat there after a day's biking or walking and would mean... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dawnadele25
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2015

We stayed over at Karen and Bernies for two nights last weekend, and really enjoyed our stay. Karen and Bernie are very friendly, welcoming and helpful hosts. We arranged to have our evening meals at the B&B, and it was great to have something nice to eat as soon as we arrived. The house is in a really peaceful rural... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roderick M

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Old School House

Address: Pennant, Llanbrynmair SY19 7BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanbrynmair
Price Range: RM422 - RM445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old School House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Old School House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old School House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the twin room as we prefer it. Excellent”
 of 5 bubbles dene029, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“They are all fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles BigPaulH, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“This is a small establishment so it is not possible to offer a wide choice of rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles JackiE114, 27 May 2013 | Read review
“Both the twin and kingsize rooms are more than adequate.”
 of 5 bubbles LindsayD687, 2 Apr 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay