We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

being a service station you think it would not be ideal but for me it was. in the eveniungs it was not too busy so traffic noise was low. there were no rowdy guests or noise from a city centre bar eg cardiff central. on site is greggs (for breackfast), coast for afternoon tea/coffee and in the evening burger king....

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David N
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The double bed was very comfortable as always but the additional bed was not fit for sleeping upon. You can feel every spring, it tips over when you turn over and it is very narrow. (I had actually asked for a twin room so we would get 'real beds'.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 980sandyt
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. It’s great that you found our Dreamer bed to be comfortable however, we apologise that you found our truckle beds to be uncomfortable as we aim to provide a comfortable stay to all of our guests. We will be sure to pass your feedback on and hope to have the chance to welcome you again.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel, more like an old butlins block, is in the services. It has a small filthy Burger King and a costa onsite. The rooms are along one long shabby corridor from the reception. The reception is a window in a wall. The corridor has noisy banging fire doors along it. The rooms are in 80s decor but were clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank On_travels_together
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff M4 Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments and we...

Chafford hundred
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Stayed room 25 Cardiff west travelodge Tired shabby reception and corridors- wifi useless, 1 toilet roll generally shabby hotel looks tired and in need of a good clean - carpets were filthy stained and in need of hovering from reception area to my room . Very depressing accomadation . Have had many good stays at travelodge but wouldn't use this...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylortays
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff M4 hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would like to apologise that your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard. We will be sure to pass your valuable comments to the hotel to ensure that the service we provide improves. May we thank you again for your...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Stayed here for an overnight stay before a long drive back to manchester. Rooms and hotel itself is ok, but the sleep factor is very poor, the noise from the M4 is constant through the night. Did speak to manager in the morning and accepted his explanation that a few rooms had problems with the vents causing the noise to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigharris
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff M4 Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Really great place to stay excellent location just off the M4 staff really friendly and easy to get hold of. We had a Comfortable room clean and tidy and child friendly. We would definatly stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarahtC3936HY
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Rocked up at the hotel expecting a minimum standard like most Travel Lodges but was greeted by a hotel that was so old, it made an American Motel seem modern. The security door that is supposed to be closed, was just open for anyone in the busy service station to just walk in and wander around and at reception, I...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaimieelias
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not to the exceptional standard we strive for and we do apologise for this. We can assure you we will be passing on your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our hotel to enable us to improve the service we offer. Could we kindly ask you...

Plymouth
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a night before a golf weekend in Cardiff. Plenty of free parking in the Services car park area, you just need to confirm your car registration on check in. Check in itself was very straight forward with a nice polite lady on the desk. The service station itself is a very small one but has what you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank papapump444
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re pleased that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that you stay overall was positive. We will be sure to pass your comments on and hope to see you again soon.

Norwich
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Hotel is OK but had tools stolen out of the van only to be informed this has happened to others in the last few weeks. A notice would have been nice. Not a good range of food so would have been better at the previous services.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank morgan1983Norwich
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff M4 Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

No sleep due to uncomfortable beds Broken bathroom fittings Dirty rooms Torn bed sheets No A/C Dead bugs in lights Still using keys A dirty smell everywhere you go Dust on head board The list goes on!!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry A
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff M4 Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontyclun
6.9 km away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
7.4 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
6.4 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Whitchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
7.6 km away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
138 reviews
26.0 km away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Address: Moto Service Area, M4 Motorway, Pontyclun CF72 8SA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff West Hotel Pontyclun
Travelodge Pontyclun
Travel Lodge Pontyclun
Pontyclun Travel Lodge
Pontyclun Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Waterford, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unfortunately as this hotel is so close to the motorway and you need a good sleep i wouldnt chose this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles craigharris, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the car park if noise is an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles AikaterineXXVI, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 100Jeanjeannie, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid anything on the M4 side ( we were 118)”
 of 5 bubbles Teddybug84, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Location itself is just too noisy for light sleepers”
 of 5 bubbles paulgB6639RS, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5