We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Manly Backpackers

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Manly Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of Manly Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location,less than five minute walk from Manly beach.The room was quite big with everything you might need including a huge TV and the bed was very comfy.Staff was super friendly as we were allowed to leave our luggage there after the check out. Ideal for young people as they do pizza and barbecue nights. The only con was that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
Manly_Backpackers, Guest Relations Manager at Manly Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It's so great to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us. We agree the location is amazing and the vibe is great. Manly Backpackers is situated in an old Fire Station and parts of the building date back over 90 years, this is why the bathroom is not on the ground floor. We do have...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for over a week, and each day got worse and worse. The facilities were completely gross. Rotten food in the cupboards and fridges, sticky floors from beer spilled everywhere and not cleaned up. I was on a working holiday so I was excited to meet new people, but the hostel brought in a lot of losers. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda B
Manly_Backpackers, Guest Relations Manager at Manly Backpackers, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about your experience, it sounds like there were a lot of issues for you. I would like to take a moment to address them below: The hostel is cleaned every day and we regularly check the cupboard and walk in fridge for anything that has been left behind or is going out of date...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came to manly for the weekend as a friend was having a party there. The reception was open until 7pm which made checking In really easy. The staff were really friendly and helped us work out where we needed to go and even offered suggestions for a hangover breakfast the next day. Location was perfect, less than 100m from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LisaMarrie
Manly_Backpackers, Guest Relations Manager at Manly Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great feedback. Our team on reception love meeting all our guests, so it's great to hear they were able to help you out with a few recommendations as well. Reception is open Monday - Saturday unitl 7pm and on a Saturday until 6pm. We do also have night managers, so even if you need to...

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

This place is awesome, it's so close to the beach and the bars and shops are only a 2 minutes more. Everyone seemed to be on the same vibe. We often hung out in the outdoor area which is great for meeting new people. We stayed in a 4 person dorm which was clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ali c
Manly_Backpackers, Manager at Manly Backpackers, responded to this review

It's great to hear you enjoyed the outdoor area and meeting new people. We agree the location is awesome, especially if you want to get some beach time in. Please come back and visit again soon. Cheers, Manly Backpackers Family

Reviewed 1 February 2017

Manly backpackers was my home from February 2016 - June 2016 and I've meet some of my closest friends from the hostel. The people, the staff, the location of the hostel is amazing. Only a 2 minute walk to manly beach and only a 5 minute walk to the wharf to catch the ferry to the city. They hostel has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James G
Manly_Backpackers, Manager at Manly Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. It's the people that make the vibe so great here, so thank you for making our hostel one of the best. Come back soon! Manly Backpackers Family

Reviewed 31 January 2017

I stayed long term here whilst I was on my working holiday visa and I loved it, great location, friendly staff and a friendly atmosphere between everyone who was staying there. Free pool table, hostel was cleaned everyday and my room had a balcony which was perfect. They also found me work to help me with my stay. Such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will C
Manly_Backpackers, Manager at Manly Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are so lucky to meet so many amazing travelers. Thanks for making our days brighter. Come back soon! Manly Backpackers Family

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Not too many options here. Unless you're really keen to stay in Manly, better to sleep in Sydney and do it as a day trip. Hefty deposit required for cheap keycard and still credit card number needed for security. Rooms were small and airless. Kitchen was a state and the bathrooms were not much better. No toilet on ground floor,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigOrangeApe
Manly_Backpackers, Manager at Manly Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback, I'm sorry to hear the key deposit was unexpected. We do charge $30 for the key, bedding and a kitchen set, which is refunded upon checkout. I'm also sorry to hear the hostel did not feel clean, it is cleaned daily, however, it is a process we constantly review due to the number of...

Reviewed 8 January 2017

We booked two beds in a 4 bed dorm. When we arrived, the lady at the reception told us that we have one bed in a 6 bed dorm and one bed in a 4 bed dorm. We were really confused, since we booked something else and asked why we did not get what we booked. Her response was "I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tamara L
Manly_Backpackers, Guest Relations Manager at Manly Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your honest review. It sounds like a lot of things went wrong during your stay with us. I understand your booking was altered from a 4 person dorm to a 6, due to an issue with the door, I'm so sorry this wasn't communicated properly to you and I can understand your frustration. All of...

Reviewed 12 December 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights in early December 2016. It was about $40 per night, which is pretty expensive for a hostel. The rooms aren't clean, but by no means a hostel from hell. The cleaners do the bare minimum. The atmosphere here is great. All the people I met and spoke to were really friendly and there's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James T
Manly_Backpackers, Guest Relations Manager at Manly Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback. Our prices are competitive and December is our peak season so they do go up around that time of year. We do regularly review our cleaning process, so thanks for letting us know there is room for improvement here. It's great to hear you enjoyed the vibe at the hostel, we feel lucky to...

Reviewed 14 October 2016

I've spend lot of time in this hostel and I've absolutely recomend it. the location is perfect, near the beach, bus stop and the shops. It's very friendly and the attention is perfect, when you need something there is always a member of the staff who help us, even during the night when reception is close. There are activities every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rochi M
Manly_Backpackers, Guest Relations Manager at Manly Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks so much for sharing the love! It's great to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. Come back soon. Manly Backpackers

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manly hotels
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
608 reviews
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Manly
Manly Guest House
Manly Guest House
#3 of 12 in Manly
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Manly

Neighbourhood Profile
Manly
A 40-minute ferry ride from Circular Quay will take you to the famous northern beach of Manly. The beaches here are perfect for learning to surf or spending the day sun-tanning. The walk from Spit Bridge to Manly is a great way to experience Sydney Harbour Bay and the Australian bush land. Along the foreshore, there are plenty of watering holes and wine bars with excellent cuisine. There are plenty of kid-friendly restaurants as well, especially along the family-oriented areas like Shelly Beach. An excellent way to experience Manly is to rent a bike and explore the dedicated bike paths and off road trails. The North Head National Park is another must-see. Located on the southern tip of Manly, North Head National Park offers great bushwalks and panoramic views of the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manly Backpackers is one of the larger and more comfortable backpacker hostels in Sydney, located right in the heart of famous Manly beach!We have 36 rooms available: mixed or girls only 4 bed dorms or double rooms with queen beds. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities. Common areas are spacious and comfy including BBQ area, pool table games room, huge TV room and 3 large balconies that adjoin some of our rooms. You can also book parking spot in our secured garage. Reception desk is opened 9am till 7pm, but you can check in 24/7! Check out is at 10am. We are looking forward to having you in Manly Backpackers soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manly Backpackers

Address: 24 - 28 Raglan St, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Price Range: RM105 - RM665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Manly Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manly Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Backpackers Hotel Manly
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manly Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i wouldnt bother staying here. bring earplugs and your own sheets”
amandabA1645MY, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“room 17 with a balcony”
jamesgP5899MZ, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the top floor are bigger”
tamaral469, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“connect to the surf city wifi from the third floor balcony;) however the hostels got wifi already so theres no need.”
joshuaausten, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I don't know all the rooms, but i slept in a 4 persons dorm and was good, the room was clean, tidy and the beds were comfortable. I had enough space to store all my stuff and the room was ventilated and clear, room next to the reception.”
DiPara, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5