We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

991 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 973: English reviews
Start your review of Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed over Easter long weekend with my husband and had a wonderful time. Beautiful venue with friendly staff. Next time will know to prebook appointments at Natskin as they book up quickly. We will definitely be back with the family for another longer stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FaithinTyler
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Not our first time @ Balgownie, and this time was no different: lovely room, super clean & comfy. Staff are helpful & professional, very friendly. Enjoyed our spa & massages, left relaxed & rejuvenated. Will be back soon, I hope!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria P
Melbourne
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 4 days in early January. We have a family of five and the family suite we had was huge, clean and well equipped. Staff were helpful and nice, pool was clean (and the kids loved it) and the location was great - a good area to explore for families. Breakfast was overly expensive but nice enough....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Themelbournefalcon
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort for one night after Easter. The resort was very quiet which I was happy about as I was able to have the amenities to myself. The indoor pool and steam room were enjoyable but would feel crowded if other guests were also using it. Balgownie is situated in a lovely location and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EmilyHeath
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Emily, Thank you for your lovely feedback after your time here with us at Balgownie Estate. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and were able to indulge in all the facilities we offer here at the resort. You are certainly correct in recommending a walk up the hill, the view is spectacular from above the property,...

Millgrove, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed over the Easter weekend with my family. The room was beautiful and clean. Check in was easy. They were very friendly and explained all about what they offer. Had a lovely walk around the area. Couldn't of asked for a more relaxing and enjoyable time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank binalewis1977
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Binalewis1977, Thank you for your kind words of feedback after your Easter getaway with us at Balgownie Estate. It is always lovely to see that we were able to give you a fantastic experience at the Resort in all of our facilities and services. We hope to welcome you back to the Estate soon Kind Regards, Balgownie Estate Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a wonderful holidays in Melbourne ... until Balgownie. We had booked a queen room, were one of the first guests to check in. They then gave us a room with no view, by the side of the road. See the picture for yourself. It is a motel grade room. When we rejected the room, Rachel the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelAllDay2011
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear TravelAllDay2011, Please see below the response we have sent to your partners review below as we believe this is also relevant to your feedback here. We do appreciate all feedback provided to the resort as we strive for perfection each time, on this occasion however, I can confirm the room that was booked via your booking method was noted...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Worst experience ever! The room was of terrible state. We believe we were given the worst room in the entire property simply because we are Asians. Both the general manager and operating manager were extremely arrogant and rude. This is not even worth a one star rating.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J0e12345
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear J0e12345, We do appreciate all feedback provided to the resort as we strive for perfection each time, on this occasion however, I can confirm the room that was booked via your booking method was noted on our room description that it does not host a view or balcony. Upon your demand to our management team that you require these...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hi A friend and I stayed for two nights at the Balgownie Estate in April. Location was great, everything seemed to be no more than 20 minutes away. Balgownie has so many features on site. It's own restaurant, own cellar and day spa. We had lunch and dinner at the restaurant and it was really great! The woman at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren C
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort and had a wonderful wine tasting in our cellar door. We would like to apologise for the issues you encountered that prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. We do hope to welcome you back to the resort to...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked in for 3 nights. Room and view was superb-staff very pleasant,very clean as you would expect. Dining was a little disappointing, never mind, there are plenty of restaurants in, an around the area. Well worth the stay though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john m
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to provide your lovely feedback with us at Balgownie Estate. However we are disappointed to hear you did enjoy your dining experience and would like to welcome the opportunity to contact us directly to discuss further. Please feel to email us at enquiry@balgownieestate.com.au Kind regards, Balgownie Estate Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed at Balgownie as part of a wedding for 3 nights. Sadly, is did not live up to expectation. Things took a turn for the worse from the moment I paid, the charge was taken out of my account twice (about $1200) and when I called the hotel I received a curt "we are aware, its been fixed"...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia W
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Julia, Thank you for providing your feedback to us at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, we apologise for the issues that you encountered that prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we will use it to continue to improve our services for future guests. We have spoken to all of...

383 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (359)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (168)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
13.2 km away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
517 reviews
4.7 km away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
319 reviews
27.0 km away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
135 reviews
14.4 km away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
129 reviews
2.5 km away
De'Vine Escape
De'Vine Escape
#1 of 2 in Dixons Creek
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Price Range: RM607 - RM1,384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hong Kong, China
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request top floor rooms”
FaithinTyler, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“High level for better views”
406johnm406, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First floor for lovely views over the valley.”
gregcI1227WT, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“try to get a room you can park near!”
  • Kitchen
  • View from room 207
  • Bed
  • Living room
retired_backpacker, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check with reception if the construction works have finished before you book”
jennycS9087DW, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5