We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

944 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 926: English reviews
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went for Christmas Day Lunch with family and stayed over night. Lunch was good and we were shown to a two bedroom apartment which was lovely. Only problem was A/C was not working and room got up to over 40 degrees. They could not find us another apartment that size which was a shame as we had particularly wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kdm1967
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently had lunch here and were very impressed with the food. We had three courses each. I had the tasting plate, the lamb rump and berries for dessert. My wife had the calamari, snapper and for dessert she had the panna cotta. All of the food was delicious. The entrees were very generous and the mains and dessert were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Les6447
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and my wife were here on a Saturday to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed at a Deluxe Spa room with Valley views. Overall the room was nice and tidy and quite spacious.Only thing I can say is perhaps lighting might need an upgrade in the room? We had dinner and at the restaurant and were really impressed with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank E-ranger
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear E-Ranger, Thank you for taking the time to provide your lovely feedback with us at Balgownie Estate. We are so pleased that we were able to contribute to your special romantic occasion and make your stay and enjoyable time all round. We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Estate. Kind Regards, Balgownie Estate Team

Maldives
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel holds such promise. Beautifully situated and with large rooms with lovely views, and in principle the facilities are also good. Sadly they were so poorly resourced in terms of their team that there were a number of issues. The a/c didn't work, the pool was freezing and the TV stopped working, the coffee pods and water weren't replaced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaraLB70
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sara, Thank you for providing your feedback We must apologise for all the issues that you encountered that prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. We have addressed each point you raised with the relevant departments to ensure we are meeting the high standards we have in place here. It is however lovely to hear you enjoyed our accommodation...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms at Balgownie were modern, very clean,and great value.Restaurant staff and food was excellent,highly recommend.Very nice cellar door, with chutneys, spices and gift ideas !Day spa and activities available at extra cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran C
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Fran, Thank you for your kind words of feedback after your time here with us at Balgownie Estate. We are so pleased to see you were able to enjoy the resort and all it has to offer. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Balgownie Estate Team

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Started the stay at the friendly and generous cellar door for inclusive wine tasting before enjoying the quality duck dish at Rae's restaurant then retiring for wine and a spa at the spacious and clean room. Like the window beside the shower / spa to watch a movie in the spa with some quality wine.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jezzman83
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jezzman, Thank you for providing your lovely feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our cellar door and restaurant and had a comfortable getaway. We cant wait to welcome you back here to the resort. Kind Regards, Balgownie Estate Team

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The in house movie system was unavailable. We were only advised at checkin (not prior) despite it being described as a system upgrade. No alternate options were provided to manage this planned change. We were told that there may be an issue with one film stopping mid film. Our system was not working at all. When we advised the desk...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jazandsi
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jazandsi, Thank you for providing your feedback to us at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, I must apologise for the issues that you encountered that prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. We can assure you we have spoken to all of the relevant departments addressing each of the points you have raised specifically. If you would like...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been a client of Natskin Belgownie for a number of years, and each time my wife and I visit, we are both delighted with the professionalism and kindness displayed by all staff. Today, however, I would like to specifically acknowledge one particular staff member, who I not only found to be incredible at her job, but also incredibly personable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcin P
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Marcin, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with our Natskin Spa. We have passed on your wonderful feedback to the team and of course Olivia. We hope to see you back here soon. Kind Regards, Balgownie Estate Team

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival the receptionist was extremely efficient and full of information, the room was very large and modern and very comfortable with nice views. the breakfast was very good and it was nice looking at the vineyards whilst eating. there is a pool gym and tennis court on site but we didn't not use these as I am lazy. you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missingscrew
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Missingcrew, Thank you for taking the time to provide your lovely feedback with us at Balgownie Estate. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Balgownie Estate Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After booking back in September for a three night stay in January, we were very disappointed with Balgownie Estate. Our problems started on the night of our arrival, we rang ahead to let the hotel and restaurant know we would be arriving between 830 and 9pm to which they stated it was fine to still grab a bite to eat....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emilie C
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Emilie, Thank you for providing your feedback to us at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, I must apologise for the issues that you encountered that prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we will use it to continue to improve our services for future guests. We have spoken to all...

359 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (335)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (159)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
13.2 km away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
496 reviews
4.7 km away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
310 reviews
27.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
#1 of 3 in Warburton
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Yarra Glen
129 reviews
14.4 km away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
118 reviews
4.7 km away
Araluen Lodge
Araluen Lodge
#4 of 4 in Yarra Glen
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Price Range: RM541 - RM1,469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Restaurant is great”
 of 5 bubbles Les6447, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a suite overlooking the tennis court and gardens. It was a nice aspect.”
  • View from the balcony
 of 5 bubbles SaraLB70, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure the Aircon is working as rooms get stuffy”
 of 5 bubbles Bull134, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have awesome views”
 of 5 bubbles SB544544, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Privilege room is among the best.”
 of 5 bubbles 699jeanmarct, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay