We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 138: English reviews
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed a night here the room seam comfortable, mostly clean. clean except for the crud circulating through the jets of the in room Jacuzzi whirlpool tub. I guess that it is so-so cleaned. we have ran into this before a hotels. the tub base is only thing cleaned. on a plus side the bed was comfortable, slept good. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doug c
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

I apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. The issue with the jacuzzi has been discussed with housekeeping and improvements made to their cleaning process. The pool temperature is checked daily. The temperature is always a constant 83 degrees. I appreciate your comments, and they will be taken into consideration during future improvements.

Newmarket, New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here for one night while passing through Tennessee. We received an upgrade to a queen suite since we are IHG reward members without even having to ask which was nice. The young man working the front desk was efficient but not very warm or friendly. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was standard holiday inn express offerings. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryo498
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I am happy to hear that you received your upgrade and that you enjoyed your stay. Our Rewards Members are a vital part of our hotel. Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to serving you again.

West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I stayed here for one night for work. The rooms are clean and large. Overall the room was comfortable for most of the day. The breakfast was actually very good and had a good selection. I got there early so had no problems with the food being cold or the room being crowded. I had a room at the back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meowy
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

I am sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. I have asked maintenance to check for a solution with the curtains. Our housekeeping department does start work at 9:00, and they start cleaning the rooms as soon as they see the guest has left the room. There is only a short amount of time to have...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Pros: The staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful. When we checked in, we asked if we could have a top floor room. She did some rearranging and even upgraded us to a suite! How nice! We loved our room! It was very clean and welcoming. Cons: It was a little irritating to be questioned the following...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leigh2020EZ
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced from our housekeeping staff and the breakfast seating. I will definitely be speaking with our housekeeping department about this issue. It is our goal for the comfort of our guests to be our main priority. Your comments will assist us in keeping that goal. Our front desk will be happy to hear that...

Blackshear, Georgia
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Beautiful new hotel but. The hotel was very busy but the check in was very slow. Internet was not working properly and desk clerks were not sure how to reset it. Breakfast was super busy there was not enough room to accommodate everyone. I'm sure this will be a great hotel once they work out all the kinks that comes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jilleanag
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Dear jilleanag, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to see the excellent rating you gave to our rooms and to your sleep quality. However, I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with our staff service and internet connectivity. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience these...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Whilst travelling north on I - 40 we decided to stay at this hotel at exit 435. It turned out to be a very good choice as the hotel is nearly new and everything was clean and tidy. We arrived about 3.30 pm on a Saturday and unfortunately the guy in front of us couldn't get the room he had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OldBill2
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

I am very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your comments will be discussed with the appropriate staff. I appreciate the kind comments and am happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. A guest's recommendation is a valuable treasure. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South.

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Staff was friendly, breakfast was standard HIE but good. Pool was nice as well. They allowed us a late checkout as well which was very much appreciated. Hotel is easy to get to off of the interstate and plenty of food options nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5 star review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that we were able to accommodate your late checkout. It is always nice to have those couple extra hours. Thank you for allowing us to assist you and we hope to see you again soon.

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Decided to find the nearest hotel on a late night drive and this seemed like the best option at that exit. Very clean hotel and the staff was all very friendly. Check-in and check-out was very easy and I didn't even have to ask for the wi-fi password. My only complaint is that the promised "hot breakfast" was almost non-edible....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am sorry to hear that breakfast was not up to our normal standards. Breakfast is a very important part of the day and should be something that our guests enjoy. I am happy to hear that the rest of your stay was enjoyable. I hope that...

Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This is your standard holiday inn. The breakfast is very subpar, the rooms are clean, the location is right in the middle of a bunch of lower quality hotels. It's in a safe area. The flaws: The pool is horrendous: They actually crank the heat in the room up to attempt to override the fact that either the pool isn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MatthewRix
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that your room was clean and that you were in a safe location. I apologize that our pool was not to your satisfaction. The water temperature is always at 83 degrees. I would also appreciate further information about our staff as none of our male employees smoke. Thank you for taking the...

Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Reserved on line. Upon arrival, the room was ready and check in was quick. The room linens were fresh but the room was not adequately cleaned. The tops of the furniture had not been wiped down as there were water marks from previous guest. The carpet was dirty however the carpet in the hall had been replaced so perhaps the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renea J
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I apologize that your stay was not up to our normal standards. We will be using the information you provided to make decisions in different programs we will put in place. I hope the next time you are in the area you will allow us to better serve you.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
5.0 km away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#3 of 10 in Newport
159 reviews
0.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 10 in Newport
141 reviews
23.7 km away
Hampton Inn Dandridge
Hampton Inn Dandridge
#1 of 8 in Dandridge
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 8 in Dandridge
213 reviews
31.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites College Square
22.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Morristown Conference Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newest addition to the Foothills of Smoky Mountains, is the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport, Tennessee! We are conveniently located to I-40 at exit 435, just a short drive to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Smoky Mountains National Park, Knoxville and The University of Tennessee. With our world class service and many restaurants within walking distance, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Newport! This state-of-the-art 100% smoke-free hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our indoor heated swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests: Companies:, Bush Brothers Newport, Con-agra Newport, Tennessee Valley Authority, and AeroPro LLC. Hospitals: Baptist Hospital of Cocke County, Cherokee Health Systems, and Mariner Health of Newport. Universities: University of Tennessee, Walter State Community College, & Pellissippi State. Local Attractions:Smoky Mountains National Park, Ripley s Aquarium of the Smokies, Cherokee Casino, White Water Rafting, Bristol Motor Speedway, and Ober Gatlinburg. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Newport, TN. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South

Address: 1022 Cosby Hwy, Newport, TN 37821-7321
Region: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Price Range: RM427 - RM583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport South
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All of the rooms are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Leigh2020EZ, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You may need to ask for more wash clothes, check it out. Fourth floor was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Moberglake, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Front of building away from interstate may be a need for some travelers.”
 of 5 bubbles TNstrouds, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The same throughout”
 of 5 bubbles Robertmsnz, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Back side, 4th floor has best view. Get a suite if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles RhondaK_12, 23 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay