We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront\/Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 324: English reviews
Start your review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
 Click to rate
Conway, Arkansas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I came here to stay before our honeymoon cruise. We actually booked through Hotwire and it chose this one for our stay. It may seem scary at first, the reviews I mean, but the stay here has been great. Toby Price, the manager, has some of the best customer service I have ever experienced. He alone made...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jadesmash666
Perkins, Oklahoma
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were worried to stay here after reading reviews but there were no other rooms available. The staff was super friendly! Breakfast was great! Room was clean but could have been cleaner. This is a great hotel for the price. It's right across from the beach so that a huge plus for us. The pool is heated and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mamabun
Brentwood, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

What to say? We were greeted by Toby Price who was very nice. He was the only thing positive about this hotel. He offered us some coupons for some nice restaurants nearby and a point of contact for a ride to the Cruise terminals. The lobby was dirty and not well kept. It needed some serious vacuuming and dusting. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zampy2017
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. I have shared it with ALL of the staff. I apologize that there were so many issues during your stay. We will work to do better in the future. Sincerely, Kathleen Trindade

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Almost chickened out of staying here due to some sketchy reviews that had me spooked, but I'm glad I didn't or my 14-yo son & I would have missed out on a fabulous, albeit last minute, trip to the coast for a few days over Spring Break! If you calibrate/prepare yourself going in, you might be pleasantly surprised like I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing good at all. First we had to wait until 6:00 to get a room and then we're shocked at the rooms condition. NOT clean and no towels. No chairs in the room. We're lucky to have a bed. True that the ocean and beach are right across the street but I would rather have stayed at a cleaner place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KathyEP
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review

My apologies for the wait to get into your room and then the feeling that the room was not worth the wait once you arrived. While it is problematic keeping towels in stock during spring break, we still should have been able to provide you with extra towels. I will continue to bring more towels into our stock. I hope...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent spring break here and was worried after seeing some of the bad reviews after my hubby booked it. However, the stay was good and the staff was friendly. This is a typical older hotel that is across the sea wall so there is some wear and tear to some things. But they do a great job of keeping the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sb0217
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There should be a negative star rating then this place would be a negative 10. Read the reviews there all true this place is horrible, we had one towel for three people someone walked in our room while were there yes we thought the door had a security lock too. the door between the rooms is flimsy and if someone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TripCritik
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review

My apologies for any shortfall on the towel stock. We are always purchasing dozens of towels prior to spring break, and always find that we are short. Excellent comment about the connecting door. While a fabulous convenience to parties traveling together, rooms with connecting doors in any hotel are noisier than rooms that do not connect. I hope you will...

Pensacola, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

from the live roaches (German) to the pipe coming out of the wall with no shower head, to exposed electrical outlets Don't stay here! No smoke detector, lock on the room door was broken, see pictures below

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Edie S
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review

My apologies for the horrible stay. I would hope that we moved you immediately when you told us that somehow you were in a room that was under maintenance. This was obviously an error, and I am so sorry that you experienced this. Sincerely, Kathleen Trindade

Groves, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is worse than terrible. I'm understanding, I'm willing to be flexible but we will never stay here again. We live in Texas, I review for several companies and I'm here to tell you other than a place in Anacortes this is the most file disgusting place I've ever stayed and if it hadn't been Mardi Gras weekend we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DebiJPeck
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review

My apologies for the lack of towels. While we do overstock as much as possible on towels, too many guests will take towels to the beach or not give us back their dirty towels until they check out. We will continue with our efforts to control the towel inventory. Sincerely, Kathleen Trindade

Canton, Tx
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were told (and signs were posted everywhere) that ALL rooms were smoke free. In fact, we were told by the front desk that the entire facility was smoke free! Who are they fooling? We opened the door to our room - 222 - and the stench of smoke almost knocked us down. The paint was chipping off the walls,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank TexasAnna
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review

My apologies for any odor in your room. We are 100% smoke free. Thank you for your detail. We have taken care of the mildew in the corner of the bathroom in 222. Sincerely, Kathleen Trindade

205 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (63)
Viewed
Accessible King Room (18)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
2.4 km away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#26 of 52 in Galveston
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Ctr. is conveniently located within walking distance of the Convention Center, restaurants and the Texas Gulf Coast. Many of the area's most popular attractions like Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Waterpark, the Elissa sailing ship and the Strand National Historic Landmark District are quickly accessible. Whether for meetings, weddings, a Galveston vacation with the family or a romantic getaway weekend for two, the Red Roof Inn Galveston-Beachfront/Convention Ctr. will accommodate your needs efficiently, graciously and completely. Our hotel offers business services and conference center that will make it easy to hold a meeting or a memorable social event. All rooms are non-smoking and offer free WiFi, microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and flat screen TV. Enjoy our continental breakfast in the lobby or relax in the sun by our outdoor pool. One well behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Address: 5914 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5888 (Formerly Beachfront Palms Hotel)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Price Range: RM221 - RM1,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachfront Hotel Galveston
Best Western Galveston
Galveston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Independence, Missouri
over a year ago
Austin
elgin il

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles KathyEP, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't do it!”
  • nice shower head!!
  • Nasty, had not been cleaned in a looong time
  • I'm sure this meets code!
  • I feel safe now!! Also the lock on the door was broken
 of 5 bubbles 312edies, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if you want a good room and this hotel is your only choice get a tent and stay on the beach”
 of 5 bubbles DebiJPeck, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are a smoker - you'll feel at home! Otherwise - pay a little more and get quality!”
 of 5 bubbles TexasAnna, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Even though we were right by the elevator, our room was quiet. We were located far away from the front.”
 of 5 bubbles Deannadurbin, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5