We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Resurgence

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Resurgence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 169: English reviews
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Claire and Peter and their team have created a truly 5-star lodge in one of the most beautiful valleys near Abel Tasman. We stayed in one of the bush chalets, a one-room cabin on their property. The room was perfect in every way. We also had two wonderful four-course dinners cooked by Claire and served family-style - a great way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Fabulous food! Our Chef, Clare, co-owner with her husband, Peter, prepared one of the best meals we had in New Zealand . You must not miss a chance to dine with your fellow guests at communal tables. And, of course, the local wines are a must. All this and minutes from Nelson and Kahurangi. Another highlight of our trip was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kbartur
Minneapolis
Reviewed 19 April 2016

The Resurgence was a big disappointment. The room we paid extra to "upgrade" was tired, hot and uncomfortable. Furnishings and art work were charmless. The ceiling fan in the living area was noisy, wobbly and did little to move the air. Bath tub was in a crawl space away from the main bathroom. Breakfast was us stumbling around in an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lemondbikegirl
Clare d, Owner at The Resurgence, responded to this review

We were genuinely bemused when John & Lisa checked out, we asked if we had done anything wrong and they assured us we had not, John just wanted to go fishing and an opening had arisen at a local fishing lodge. We immediately contacted their agents and asked if they had said something to them, they had not. On check-in...

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Stayed in one of the four bush chalets, which was well equipped, very well presented and afforded lovely views of the native bush. A BBQ is also available for use. Breakfast can be taken in the chalet (self catered) or the main house where you can also have evening meals preceded by drinks and nibbles on the terrace, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

At first sight my husband and I were quite disappointed with The Resurgence, as we stayed in 2 really great and luxurious lodge before going there, but it end up being a really nice experience. The lodge doesn't has a big staff but they seem to be doing ok, the only problem was the food that we didn't appreciate at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thanagumo
Clare d, Owner at The Resurgence, responded to this review

Hi Thiase I am glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay. Please note that the other 2 lodges you are comparing us with cost $1900 rather than $695! It is not surprising then, that they have a serious chef and a more formal style. We are a friendly team of 3. We serve a farm-to-table 4-course dinner, where guests from...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We stayed at the Resurgence for 2 nights. We had a wonderful welcome by the owners into the hotel and into our chalet that was well equipped and comfortable. We had our first dinner in their restaurant. The meal was good but not exceptional and quite expensive in our opinion. The owners were very warm and welcoming and had good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chadiekarbaschian
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Stayed in the Lonely Lake Bush Lodge for 3 nights. Absolutely private with fantastic views. Very well kitted out. Also had dinner in the main house on the first night - which was a great international dinner party hosted by Peter, Clare and Sam - well worth doing. There cannot be a better place to BBQ if you like Bush...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan043
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We wanted a one night stay at the Resurgence, advertised at NZ$199 pppn, including dinner but were told by the owner they had only a 2 night vacancy. I expressed my regret as we only wanted one night. They came back to me saying they could now offer one night. However I was charged NZ $725 for both of us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MariaP176
Clare d, Owner at The Resurgence, responded to this review

We recommend a 2-night minimum stay to enjoy our 50-acre property and Abel Tasman activities. Our one-night product is $775 for a run of house room with full breakfast, aperitifs and dinner. Wine with dinner is an extra and guests are shown a wine list with prices during pre-dinner drinks. Only our packages are priced "pppn" and I think this...

Sussex
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Lovely secluded accommodation with very attentive owners. Rooms of good standard and meals enjoyable. Pre dinner drinks and canapés with other guests a nice way to start the evening. 20 mins drive from the main centre for Able Tasman Activities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alastair T
Boston MA
Reviewed 13 March 2016

We stayed 3 nights in one of the bush lodges and we couldn’t have been happier. It was our own private cabin with beautiful views off the deck and a full kitchen stocked with breakfast items and coffee, tea and snacks. Every detail for comfort and convenience was considered, from good storage for clothing and luggage, to inside and outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WBird66

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riwaka
22.7 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
237 reviews
22.4 km away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
260 reviews
9.6 km away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 km away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
164 reviews
8.3 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
311 reviews
8.4 km away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Voted one of the world's 25 best luxury eco-lodges (National Geographic Traveler 2013), The Resurgence is set in 50 acres of tranquil wilderness with 5km of bush tracks. Surrounded by birds, this relaxed and friendly Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Nelson Region. Select Boutique Lodge Rooms or self-contained Bush Suites on Dinner B&B or self-contained basis. Dinner is a highlight with 4-course gourmet farm-to-table dining showcasing Nelson wine and produce. The Resurgence is the closest 5-star lodge to the Abel Tasman National Park and also offers easy day trips to Golden Bay, Kahurangi National Park or Nelson art studios and wineries. Let your well-travelled hosts help you plan activities such as kayaking, hikes and birding trips to winery and art tours. This child-free, smoke free resort with pool, spa and massage therapies is accessible by road, 45 minutes from Nelson airport. Ideal for honeymoons and for active couples who enjoy good food and nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Resurgence

Address: 574 Riwaka Valley Road | RD3 Motueka, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Riwaka
Price Range: RM1,778 - RM2,403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resurgence 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Resurgence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resurgence Hotel Kairuru
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Resurgence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bush chalets, larger bush lodges and rooms in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles X5707EDbrians, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you check what they will charge”
 of 5 bubbles MariaP176, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you need good wifi connectivity, you won't get it here. It' very intermittent.”
 of 5 bubbles 36jeannem, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“A few of the cabin rooms offer outdoor private bathtubs.”
 of 5 bubbles 118rayg, 18 Dec 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the bush chalet and it was like our own private treehouse.”
 of 5 bubbles JShambora, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay