We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Albatros 1, 29630, Benalmadena Spain
E-mail hotel
11 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$166
TravelocityUS$166
ZenHotels.comUS$184
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (449)
Room & Suite (174)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 19/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Updated 19/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 46 hotels in Benalmadena
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hotel Balmoral is located in Benalmadena on the Costa del Sol, just 50 metres from the beach and a short distance away from the Port of Benalmadena , which is a fantastic complex of bars, shops and restaurants surrounding the marina . Nearby is also the Paloma Park which is a wonderful green large park ideal for strolling through or relaxing in the lovely climate of the Costa del Sol. The hotel is ideal for both families , friends and couples, and has 210 rooms distributed over 7 floors , with the vast majority of the rooms having excellent views of the Mediterranean sea. The Hotel Balmoral has two swimming pools, one for children and the other for adults. The attractive swimming pool area has sun beds for guests along with tables with umbrellas for relaxing by the pool and enjoying the bar service available. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas of the hotel. The hotel's restaurant offers buffet style dining with a wide range of regional, Spanish and international dishes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Parking
Paid internet
Internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Massage
Baggage storage
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock loyalty benefits
1191Reviews265Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 393
  • 410
  • 250
  • 78
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kenny ford wrote a review Today
1 contribution
The best entertainment I’ve ever had rooms are brilliant staff is very helpful food is brilliant service is second to none pool facilities are awesome bar staff excellent but most of all the entertainment by pool is absolutely brilliant thanks to you all for a great stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stuart G wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
We stayed with a family of 5, 2 adults and 3 children from the UK and had a fantastic time, the facilities were good, we had breakfast and dinner most days and the selection was great, always something to suit our tastes including a child vegetarian. Room were clean and air condition very welcome in the August heat. The hotel put on entertainment through the day by the pool and at night, although it was more suited to Spanish guests we still had a fantastic time getting involved. The singers at night sang in Spanish and English and were all very good The Medfest party hosted by Anna Manu Ruiz on the Friday was fantastic, with a foam party and entertainment all day Would highly recommend for families
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ailsaramsay-king wrote a review 10 Aug
Perth, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
Firstly like to say that for a 2.5 star hotel I was expecting just that! Infact what we got was 3-3.5 stars! I always find it funny that people infact pay for a 2.5 star but expect 4star! This hotel certainly surprised us, we normally stay in 4 star hotels so we were expecting basic. We chose this hotel for the location which was spot on! The hotel was very clean, pool area was clean and enough seats and beds. Pool was as warm as a bath which was fantastic. Lifeguard on hand and best part the pool is open until 8pm and gets the sun all day! Restaurant was modern bright and staff very efficient and all with smiles. The restaurant manager ran things very well, he also mucked in with his staff and always there to make sure you had everything. The food was decent, okay not 4 star but we were able to eat every day with a wide variety. Fantastic that you can use either luch or dinner for your half board, this was a nice touch. It meant if we had a pool day we could nip in then eat out in the evening! Rooms were clean, we asked for a sea view and they kindly arranged this for us, on the top floor. Fantastic views. Air conditioning was fab and needed! 2 sets of lifts in hotel which was also great. Pool bar was brill, great selection of drinks, you can get a large wine for 2 euros 30! Wow! The position of the hotel is amazing, 2 minute walk from the beach, 5 minutes to the fountains/market and a further 5 mins from the promenade. Try “las Brisas” restaurant! We had 4 excellent meals. Staff are lovely 😊 Overall I would definitely go back. As a travel agent we tend to send people to 3 star and above but would hve no problem recommending this hotel. Hop on hop off bus, dolphin park, marina and cables cars were all worth a go!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MrsSJC2014 wrote a review 2 Aug
98 contributions111 helpful votes
We changed our holiday from Greece to Benalmadena due to circumstances so booked something quick after reading some of the reviews and knowing Balmoral is 2 star plus I started to think uh oh. I wish I hadn’t read the bad reviews as we have had a great time and really impressed with the hotel. The rooms are cleaned daily to a high standard and one of our rooms was upgraded (thank you to the reception team). There’s ample sunbeds round the pool and the animation team work hard aqua aerobics was fun. The bar staff all great a special thanks to Francisco who makes the best pina colada lovely chap and Leticia who makes a fabulous mojito lovely friendly girl. The food gets negative comments on some reviews but I honestly didn’t think there was anything wrong with it we enjoyed it there was plenty of choice for even the fussiest eaters. Breakfast was delicious with juices, tea coffee etc. When half board you can have lunch or dinner which we found great as meant we could go out each evening when we fancied it. We never struggled for something to eat and a large bottle of water between the 5 of us was 2 euros. You can even buy a bottle of wine and leave it in the restaurant fridge. Best day was the Medplaya party day there was a foam party the children loved (and me). I am really surprised the hotel isn’t 3 star and although we prefer the Torremolinos end of the resort I would rebook this hotel if we got another good deal as it was a perfect base. Thank you Balmoral for a great holiday xx
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Carole L wrote a review Jul 2022
Reading, United Kingdom34 contributions17 helpful votes
This is a 2 star hotel which caters well for families. The rooms are fairly small however but are very well looked after by the cleaning staff, which is a big plus. For a hotel of this rating the food is excellent with a good range of choices which the children in our group thoroughly enjoyed. My big gripe was the drinks - none are provided with your meal. Tea/coffee/fruit juice/water etc is available from a machine at breakfast time. These machines are closed off during lunch/dinner. All drinks, including water, have to be purchased at the bar where a bottle of water is currently 2 euros - one evening after a trip we purchased a larger bottle of water at a local supermarket for 1 Euro to take in with us and were very firmly told not to do it again! I read that Benalmedina has the best quality tap water in Spain but this is not made available to guests. Tea/coffee are not even available during those meal times.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sophie wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
We are currently spending 10 days at balmoral and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would add that the entertainers were very welcoming in particular Manu. The only downside I would say is that most of the entertainment was Spanish which of course is understandable but would have been nice for the entertainers to engage with the British more for games etc. entertainment in the evening is not on long enough and a suggestion of a karaoke evening would be very good. Spanish guests very rude which can be off putting but the bar staff were amazing very welcoming would talk to us in English as well as Spanish to make us feel welcome and very quick service. Big thanks to Leticia in particular very lovely lady who made us feel welcome. Food was not all that but must say much better than previous years we have attended. We would definitely come again but hope by next year entertainment has improved in regards to longer and a bit more for the British to participate in. Rooms are very clean and tidy cleaners do a wonderful job and the aqua aerobics is our absolute favourite of the whole holiday. Thank you for a lovely time!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Loyalty Community Manager , Marketing at MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Sophie, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Balmoral for your recent holiday and for taking the time to comment. Your suggestions are very much taken into account and we will do our best to improve our services. Best regards, MP hotels
Read more
amanda G wrote a review Jul 2022
Towcester, United Kingdom31 contributions17 helpful votes
Great holiday as usual at the Balmoral, our 3rd visit! Entertainment staff were really fun, big shout out to Manu, Anna & Ruiz. Loved the aqua aerobics. These guys work really hard but are always cheerful. Benalmadena is a really lovely place to stay , especially the Marina. We will be back 😊😊
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Loyalty Community Manager , Marketing at MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Amanda, It's amazing to read this is your third visit to our hotel and that you will come back :) We are pleased to read that all aspects of the hotel ticked the boxes for you and we hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, MedPlaya hotels
Read more
gangad09 wrote a review Jul 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom30 contributions13 helpful votes
I found the hotel okay. The room was cleaned everyday plus clean towels and bed linen changed three time in 11 days so no complaints. No problem at all with the staff friendly enough and very nice reception staff. The pool opens extremely late 11am by which time people have decided to do other things for the day. Disappointing. The food was really really poor absolutely the worst Medplaya hotel food I have ever seen. The breakfast was okay now the lunch and dinner,out of the 11 nights we stayed I only enjoyed the food twice and we had to eat out 6 nights as the food was that poor having to eat buttered bread rolls for your evening meal is no fun considering you’ve already paid for the food as we were half board. The entertainment pretty poor however I do understand that they are staff and not professionals. I found the Spanish guests very rude particularly the elderly ones. The resort as a whole was poor and we found ourselves getting a bus to Torremolinos or Feungirola as both are miles better. Would I return? 100% no.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Loyalty Community Manager , Marketing at MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your recent stay with us. We are very sorry indeed to read that you were disappointed with various aspects of our hotel and service, and that we were unable to resolve this to your satisfaction during your holiday. We sincerely hope that in spite of your disappointment you enjoyed your stay. MedPlaya hotels
Read more
Janice S wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Definitely needs to be upgraded to 3 star plus. Everywhere is spotless. Clean white bedding and nice white towels. Food was good always something to suit me and I'm a fussy eater. Staff are very friendly and always ready to help. Will definitely use again. Doing a good job to make your holiday as welcoming as possible. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Loyalty Community Manager , Marketing at MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Hello Janice, Thanks very much for your amazing review about the Hotel Balmoral!. We are happy to hear that you found us to be a good hotel with good services. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Kind Regards, MedPlaya hotels
Read more
41mjb wrote a review Jul 2022
Potterspury, United Kingdom58 contributions30 helpful votes
On arrival with jet2 coach you get dropped off at the pharmacy and its a short walk round the corner to the hotel. Which on first impression looks yuk, with bins from Mcdonalds and a dirty uneven path. Once at reception a very handsome man checked us in and asked us if we wanted a low or high room which I was pleased about as I like high up for a good view. There are two sides to hotel pool side and Car park, we had had car park which I liked as quite not so hot and sunny and part sea view. The rooms are very clean the whole hotel is. The bathroom is extremely small a large person would struggle as the bidet it behind door stopping it opening fully. The pool area is nice but getting a sunbed can be difficult. And the sunbeds are basic and not very comfortable. Plenty of chairs though. nice bar in the middle on a grass area. Pool don't open till 11am. And sometimes life guard was late. The food was plentiful. Being a vegetarian I did struggle as all dishes was meat. So I had to be inventive with the vegetables and pasta. Warming it up in the microwave. There was one thing that upset us at the hotel. The large groups of students that came one after another so that's why I don't recommend June. The football group of students. Had no respect. Bombing in pool , playing loud music. There was to many of them and the teachers just let them run riot. They was also in the room next to us for 3 nights. And disturbed our sleep. We did complain. We was happy when they left. I do think there should be a warning from jet 2 at time of booking that this is a student large group hotel. But on the whole the hotel was good for 2 stars. Good location. And plenty of excursions you can book shop next door. we did Gibraltar and caminito Del ray. We walked to a lovely park near by, with rabbits, birds, parakeets, goat. And walked to a large fair and a cable car and the marina. So plenty to do in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Loyalty Community Manager , Marketing at MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Dear Mandy B, We are delighted to hear that overall you were pleased during your stay at the Hotel Balmoral. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and we do hope that we will see you back again in the future. Kind Regards, MedPlaya hotels
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Balmoral
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of MalagaCosta del SolBenalmadena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
210
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Which popular attractions are close to MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral?
Nearby attractions include Black Jacks Sports & Family Bar (0.3 km), Castillo de Bil Bil (0.2 km), and Selwo Marina (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asador Malbec Wine Club by Gastrogaucho, Pirañaconda Restaurante, and Da Checco & Paola.
Are there opportunities to exercise at MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Plaza de Toros de Torremolinos (3.9 km), Pimentel Tower (4.7 km), and Freetour Mijas Pueblo (2.4 km).
Does MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.