We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center
 Click to rate
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is obviously mis managed and awful. I've stayed at this hotel two times, once in December 2016 and again in March 2017...and both times it was due to an emergency and no other rooms were available in the city.. Next time I will keep driving. Let me preface this by saying I'm in real estate and our company...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlaponcejackson
Ithaca, Michigan
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We booked this Hotel knowing it wasn't a 5 star location but liking it's proximity to the airport. We were nevertheless disappointed. Good points first. *The calzone from the on site restaurant was wonderful!!! *The bed was real comfortable. *It was very quiet! *Airport shuttle was right on time with a very courteous careful driver!!! Disappointments; *Room was not very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mukoy
Marc R, Manager at Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello, I am so sorry you were not satisfied. We try our best to accommodate each and everyone of our guests. I would like to get some more information from you regarding your stay. If you could please give me a call at the hotel 432-618-9000, it will greatly be appreciated. Thank you for your feedback. ~Marc

Odessa, Texas
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I have frequented this hotel for MANY years and it has GREAT potential to be a pretty awesome place however it apparently is under new management or ownership as of January 2017 and they are definitely NOT CUSTOMER oriented!! Worst experience EVER. Booked 4 rooms so that my 4 year old niece and 9 other children could all celebrate my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tmblee
Marc R, Manager at Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello, Sorry for the inconvenience, we have to follow the rules and regulations set in place by the fire marshal on the capacity of guests per room. We do have banquet rooms available for parties and much more. Once again I do apologize for the big inconvenience you had. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate you in that matter. If there are...

Wichita Falls, Texas
Reviewed 20 February 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Texan Hotel this weekend for one night. The hotel is poorly maintained. They had a pipe burst and you could not flush the toilet. We had a leak in the bathroom and during the night, the bathroom floor was wet. The room smelled musty and the air conditioner did not work. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine2020
Marc R, Manager at Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

I'm so sorry for the inconvenience. If you can please give me a call at 432-618-9000 I would greatly appreciate to speak with you. Once again I am so sorry for the inconvenience. We strive to accommodate our guests as much as possible. Thank You, Marc

Texas
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

The parking lot, rooms, and edges all need to be cleaned, repaired, and fixed. The indoor pool is always cold because heater is never repaired. Mattresses feel like they should have been replaced 20 years prior. Tooooooooooo many kids running around unsupervised in the pool and fitness area....which happens to also be right by the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diaperchanger01
Management response:

I'm so sorry for the inconvenience, I do apologize. If there is anything I can do to accommodate your stay next time please feel free to contact me.

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

This is the old Holiday Inn and it's prices are to pricy for a family..They refuse American cash and show disrespectful actions after check in..They failed to provide services to common people and families. That oil field trash is their goal..I recommend cash motels they seem to be more adapted to serve..At all cost stay away from Midland Texas...The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dwan M
New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

This was my first hotel in the Midland Area in which I stayed to see which would be the best for my company to stay at while visiting. I can honestly say that I was upon first arriving there, expected for the hotel to be in a run down state. Fortunately it wasn't. Here are my findings. Parking Lot/Main Entrance:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nyctravels16
San Angelo, Texas
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here as it was the host hotel for a convention I was attending at the location. The property was an older property that had belonged to Holiday Inn. However, they had been doing some renovations, but probably could use some more as their funding allows. I had an issue with the first room that had an exposed electrical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wtxvolunteer41
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

First impression the clerk was arguing then saying she was going to shut off the pool since other guest were misbehaving. The bed were uncomfortable, the bed smell like pee, my allergy were acting up, the place is filthy I'm sure they haven't wash them sheet and clean the room since the air vent is dirty. As soon you open...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank yoldine B
Casa Grande, Arizona
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The Grand Texan lives up to its name. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised with the HOT breakfast buffet - the sausage and biscuits were very good. An Indian cuisine buffet is available in the evenings that the locals find very enjoyable. The indoor pool is inviting although I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe T

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midland hotels
2.4 km away
Wyndham Garden Midland
Wyndham Garden Midland
#30 of 45 in Midland
238 reviews
6.4 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#17 of 45 in Midland
15 reviews
4.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Midland
4.1 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Midland
2.3 km away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly renovated Grand Texan Hotel and Convention Center is the largest hotel in Midland, Texas. With the Midland International Airport less than 6 miles from the hotel, and a free hotel Airport Shuttle, the Grand Texan Hotel makes it easy for you to get around. The Grand Texan Hotel in Midland offers leisure and business travelers a wide variety of guestroom and hotel amenities. During your stay, take advantage of the following amenities: Newly Renovated Rooms with 40-inch Flat Screen TVs On-Site Restaurant and Bar Free Hot Breakfast Indoor Pool & Hot Tub Complimentary Airport Shuttle Service Over 40,000 sq. ft. Meeting and Banquet Space Business Center with Free Fax and Copy Free Wi-Fi Internet Mini Golf, Table Tennis, and Billiards Free Wall Street Journal Pet-Friendly Fitness Room Truck and Bus Parking Available ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 4300 West Wall Street, Midland, TX 79703
Region: United States > Texas > Midland
Price Range: RM374 - RM483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center Midland
Clarion Midland
Midland Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a different hotel- there are no good rooms here”
carlaponcejackson, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with indoor entrance. The outside areas are well light but are old, dirty and could be creepy.”
Mukoy, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in the rooms in the back part of the hotel. Not updated. Stay in the main area around the pool.”
tmblee, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They have great rooms with hot tubs and living areas.”
890jefff, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get an inside room away from stairs and pool.”
grandadtexas, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5