We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peninsula Island Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 215: English reviews
Start your review of Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
 Click to rate
Tahlequah, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this has become our winter home and we will be going back in 2018, for year eight. I think this speaks for how we feel. great place, great owners, great staff and great friends. they are always making improvements and we cannot wait to see what new things will be added next winter.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arlan H
WesleyAbbott, Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thankyou Mr Hanson, for your post. We will be waiting for you next winter. Enjoy it :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I really think it's a 1 1/2 star, but they don't have it. For the price we paid I would have expected a LOT more. Our door to our place needed to be slammed shut to close it. We had an incredible view of the roof of the restaurant/bar. The place has a smell to it (and it's not from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan R
WesleyAbbott, Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were not satisfy with your stay. We do thank you for your review, these help us to work on the main issues that you were concerned about. We do hope you give us another opportunity to come and see our improvements. Have a great day, see you soon.

Allen, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If I could give zero stars, I most definitely would have. This place poses as if it's a high end establishment. Not at all. We're treated like absolute trash while trying to check in. The check in lady was so rude and incredibly inhospitable. Then she wrote down our credit card information to be saved! Who does that? Then when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brownie B
WesleyAbbott, Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We apologize for this incident, we do have the option of leaving a deposit in cash instead of using the credit card. Hope you give us the opportunity and come back and enjoy the resort. Have a great day.

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Clean facility. The employees are extremely attentive & nice. Will definitely consider staying again! The jacuzzi was perfect. Pool was clean. Easy access to the beach. They have rental umbrella and seats/ lounge chair.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claudia G
WesleyAbbott, Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you soon enjoying the resort. Have a great day :)

Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful week of rest and relaxation spent with Family and Friends! The entire staff is so pleasant and friendly! We choose to spend time here every year because we are always treated like Family by everyone! The Resort is within walking distance of some great shopping areas and the Resorts Restaurant is top notch! Great food and really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ConnieDianne
WesleyAbbott, Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you soon enjoying the resort. Have a great day :)

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

How can Interval International have this place on their getaway list. So substandard. Many features not working! Old, damaged furniture! Way past it's prime. One hot tub not working, the other one barely warm. Not enough towels and housekeeping did not bring extras. Washer only has hot water! On a positive note there were no creepy crawlers in the rooms!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda M
WesleyAbbott, Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Mrs Linda, Sorry to hear that your stay wasn't what you were looking for. Thankyou for your time to write about our hotel and service. We are working to improve all things, and reviews like yours are the ones that help us improve. Hope to see you back. Have a great day. :)

Reviewed 7 January 2017

Peninsula Island Resort and Spa was wonderful. Staff was friendly and always willing to help in any way they could. The manager was outstanding and was ever present around the resort. Our room was spacious and the bed was wonderful - nice and firm with plenty of pillows. We had breakfast in the restaurant and the food was very good....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Abbott5925
Management response:

Thankyou for your review, we appreciate your time for letting us know about your experience with us. Hope to see you soon with us again. Great day :)

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I ignored the negative reviews and gave it a chance. Thank God we did because we had an incredible time. The pool was incredible the rooms were clean and the bartender was great. The front desk was excellent and a lot of help. We will be staying at this facility again very soon. Thank you very much for having us....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank shawngales
Management response:

Thankyou for taking tha time to give us a review. For us, the guest's reviews are very important because you are the ones that help us to know where we need to improve and what we are doing good. We hope to see you soon. Have a great day :) Wesley Abbott Manager

Reviewed 14 November 2016

Stayed several nights at the end of October. Very quiet this time of year which was what we wanted. First time to SPI and would go back this time of year. Our room needed a bit of updating but was just fine. The door frame into our room was not in the best shape and didn't seal the best, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
Management response:

Thank you for your time on writing a review on our service, we will look in to improve those points you described. We look toward your next visit, so you can see our work in making this resort, a great place to spend time with your love ones. Have a great day. Wesley Abbott :)

Reviewed 20 October 2016

My new wife and i stayed here for our honey moon. We didnt have any major concerns. One time the key cards didnt work, but the staff solved that issue pretty quick. The only issue i had was that there was not much to do on the island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrey k

388 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (263)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (111)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Studio Suite (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.3 km away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,522 reviews
5.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,432 reviews
5.3 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,224 reviews
0.4 km away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
457 reviews
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled among the sea oats and sand dunes, and highlighted by the blue of the Gulf of Mexico, The Peninsula Island Resort and Spa South Padre Island, Texas is the perfect venue for a relaxing island escape. Located directly on the beach in the heart of South Padre Island's "hotel row", our upscale property opened in 2006, and combines the highest standards in construction with contemporary, tasteful design. The units are all well-appointed, and range in size from our very popular studio kitchenette units to our 3 bedroom/3 bath condominiums. With concrete walls, porcelain tile flooring, and leather furniture, our resort was designed to resist to mold, humidity and allergens all-too-often common near the sea. Our swimming pool is the largest infinity pool in South Texas, and features a convenient swim up bar. Each offers either a full kitchen or kitchenette, and everything else necessary to cook and serve a gourmet meal. If cooking is not your thing, Las Olas Restaurant Grill and Bar, located onsite, is considered by many to be one of the best restaurants on South Padre Island, and offers a variety of delicious homemade dishes available for in-room dining. All-in-all, the Peninsula is in a league of its own--offering the spacious luxury of a condominium, coupled with the service and appointments of an upper-tier resort hotel.In July 2016, we added 27 deluxe rooms, each room has high speed internet, two full size beds, sofabed, 42" TV with cable, and a minibar fridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peninsula Island Resort & Spa

Address: 340 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Price Range: RM451 - RM2,320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Island Hotel South Padre Island
Peninsula Island Resort And Spa
Peninsula South Padre Island
South Padre Island Peninsula
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peninsula Island Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Peninsula Island Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“any room is within the best beach access on the island”
ArlanH_13, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The higher the quieter the pool noise.”
toolman9, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“3 bed condos”
207jesusz, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Presidential room is the best!!”
Ruga44535, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“View in remodeled section is limited”
  • Beautiful views
  • Beautiful view
  • Too hairy
  • Old bandaid in shower
nicolebI1401SH, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5