We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I just spent the weekend with my family at the BMGR, and I was very impressed. For starters, if you're looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle this is it. Beautiful scenery and quiet, relaxing atmosphere. The lodge is comfortable and spacious enough for large groups. The staff were friendly, and helpful. The owners obviously...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lukewinters
BMGR2015, Manager at Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review

Luke, Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to hosting you and your family in the future. -Bmgr team

Huntington, Indiana
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This place would define remoteness with the chance to stay somewhat comfortably in it. My check-in person was a gracious person who now finds herself living a great adventure herself working on a ranch/resort 3.3 miles off what many would think is the most dangerous but beautiful state highway in America, Scenic Byway Route 12, in Utah. I stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James O
BMGR2015, Manager at Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review

Jim, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was such a pleasure to share this place we call home with extended visitors/tourists who appreciate the natural beauty this world holds. Thank you for recognizing all of the hard work that goes into making this establishment happen. Our staff will be thrilled to read your sweet words. I...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Lovely building in remote location with walks available from the hotel. Stayed in the main building. Quiet clean spacious accommodation. Pity we were only staying one night. Great food in the restaurant too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david54196
BMGR2015, Manager at Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review

David, Thank you for your kind review. We hope to host you on your next trip through Utah. Cheers, Bmgr staff

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stayed in the cabin that has a king size bed, and multiple twin beds in a loft. This layout was not the best for us, but that is not the fault of management. This is a great place for people who only want a lot of beds. There are some kitchen-y sorts of things in a corner, but no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edgewood_Ave
BMGR2015, Manager at Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Since we are located in such a remote area and are a fairly small establishment we do not have an ice machine on property. Therefore someone is sent daily to get ice in town and yes, we do have to charge for it. Our Cabins will be remodeled this fall and the layouts can be...

Reviewed 20 September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in the Tipi. The sky at night was incredible. A PERFECT PLACE TO STAY. Unfortunately we stayed there from Sunday until Monday - and at 8 a.m. on Monday there was NO ONE to make us breakfast, even though it was in the price included. After having waited half an hour we took off -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
BMGR2015, Manager at Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review

Kristina, Thank you for such a kind, sweet review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved the ranch. Breakfast Baskets are served daily, but must be ordered in advance the night prior. The Sweetwater Kitchen had to close for breakfast due to the lack of guests showing up in the mornings- however, next time let us know you're interested...

eastern Washington
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Rereading my first review of BMGR from 8 years ago (posted under Pedio) The guest ranch is not for anyone that must have TV, phone, carpeted hallways, ice machines, and other city “comforts”. If you enjoy the outdoors, are not afraid to walk 200’ on a dirt trail to the main lodge, and enjoy friendly staff and good food you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YutahtheWolamute
BMGR2015, Manager at Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review

Dixie, As always, thank you for such a lovely review. We have been thrilled to host your stay with us since you began 8 years ago and hope to continue hosting for you and Yutah! We look forward to seeing you next season. -Bmgr Staff

United States
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I stayed in the lodge at the Guest Ranch, although there are cabins, tipis and camping options also available on the property. This is an isolated location on a gravel road that is not accessible to the faint-hearted. However, once there, you are treated to healthy, home-made food, comfortable beds, wifi, and plenty of options for horse-back riding and hiking....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sophia713
Southern Finland, Finland
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We were quite excited to go, even after all the trouble it took us to get the booking: We booked through booking.com first, and they never received our reservation. Then i booked directly, and got confirmation for 3 nights when i booked for two. Checked in and they again thought it was for 3 nights. We got that sorted, again,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirva A
BMGR2015, Manager at Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review

Mirva, Thank you for your honest review of your stay. We sincerely apologize that your stay was not what you had expected. The breakfast baskets are something that we offer to our guests and they are not for everyone. Since your stay we have opened up the Sweetwater Kitchen for breakfast Saturday-Monday, and offer the baskets on the days the...

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

What an experience sleeping in a tipi! The ranch is away from town nestled in Boulder Mountain in Dixie National Forest, back to nature country , away from it all- outdoor shower , outback toilet with a modern touch, farm and livestock. Enjoyed the hike!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Estverg
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Ths feels like I've just decided to visit my Uncle's country property. Fire on the hearth, hearty country food, simple room with shared facilities. There was not much in the way of internet (the signal wasn't that good). When I was there, it snowed, so we were snowed in for most of the day I was there, which was unseasonal....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jen F

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder
0.0 km away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
157 reviews
17.4 km away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
17.4 km away
Wild West Retreat
Wild West Retreat
#4 of 10 in Escalante
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Escalante
210 reviews
17.3 km away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#6 of 10 in Escalante
99 reviews
17.4 km away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch is located off the famous Highway 12 on Hell's Backbone Road between Capitol Reef and Bryce Canyon. We are a rustic and quaint lodge with cabins and luxury camping available as well. We have an onsite restaurant called the Sweetwater Kitchen, named after the lovely creek that runs through our property. Hell's Last Outpost is our general store where you can enjoy a cold beverage, trail maps, and art from local artists. We have an onsite hike to a beautiful waterfall where you can enjoy a nice picnic lunch from the Sweetwater Kitchen. All of our rooms are unique to themselves, displaying art of the local canyon country. Take a walk through our garden where you will see your dinner growing for that evening and enjoy a nice hot shower in our living solar shower made from growing willows. Don't forget to call ahead for guide outfitting and horseback riding! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch

Address: 3621 Hells Backbone Road, P.O. Box 1373, Boulder, UT 84716
Region: United States > Utah > Boulder
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch Hotel Boulder
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Michigan
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Talk to the young woman who manages the facility. She's a nice soul.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesoP6259TO, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Read description carefully.”
 of 5 bubbles Edgewood_Ave, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Take the Tipi! It had a Queensizebed and was really comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles kristinasL2201VT, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have shared bath; be sure your request what you need.”
 of 5 bubbles sophia713, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The glamping tent is awesome!!”
 of 5 bubbles 3trvlrs, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay