We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 11 July 2016

The hospitality here was wonderful. They were redoing some things on the outside and in the office, but it was no inconvenience to us. The room was comfortable, not overly large, but certainly plenty of room for an overnight stay. There was a refrigerator (there may have been a microwave, too, but I don't remember). The room faced on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank azkfwecho
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This is a nice place for a single night stay. The room was comfortable, the staff was very nice. There was free wifi that worked reasonably well. Even though it is on the main highway and the rooms all face on the highway, it is relatively quiet because there is just not that much traffic through Monticello in the middle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tina W
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

This was interesting. It looked ok, very small room. The bathroom was tiny but clean. You would think they would put a hook on the back of the bathroom door so you could hang up your wet towel but I guess that was too much trouble. The a/c to me did not cool well no matter what setting I put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank serendipitiously
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

It was late when we decided we needed to stay in Monticello, UT. We made the reservation by phone, which took 4 tries because our route was so remote. The owner was kind enough to keep the room, and even wait up for us to make sure we found adequate parking for our large rig. Not much from the outside,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connjohns
Euclid, Ohio
Reviewed 24 June 2016

We had a "deluxe pet room" in the back section. It was very nice - large enough, clean & comfy, with fridge, microwave and small table to eat at. Big field behind building to walk our small dogs. Owners were very pleasant. We enjoyed our stay there. No guest laundry on site but one in town. Need to install a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen S F
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Clean comfortable quiet room. Like the good old days when a "Mom and Pop" motel meant quality and excellent service. Today, it usually means lower quality, poor maintenance and out dated, uncomfortable rooms. The Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn is everything I used to enjoy about summer trips. Drive til you are tired, stop, and get a good nights rest, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keyapaha1
Show Low, Arizona
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Arrived. No reservation. Gave us a kitchenette in the noisy front. One plug in kitchen and no utensils plates and on and on. Had my trip advisor magnet on. Didn't mean a thing. Complained and no results. Don't stay here. Trip advisor is really good but not with this one

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lccampground
kandycane01, Owner at Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to respond to this because as we are an older motel, we certainly are not irresponsible with reservations. My front desk notified me immediately of the issue of your "reservation" even though at the time we were off property. In the first place, you told my front desk staff that you made the reservation a month...

Layton, Utah
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

We paid $100 for an 80's looking room with the ugly old floral beadspreads, cheap furniture, dirty tub bottom, and curtains that had to be folded up on the window sill so that the air conditioner could be used. The room did seem clean (except tub). Memorial day rip off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SDIHH
kandycane01, Owner at Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn, responded to this review

We do appreciate your feedback. We are trying to renovate our rooms, and we understand that the older rooms need a facelift and the curtains we are getting tailored room by room, we have a local seamstress that is working hard on those to refit the bottoms so they do not touch the air-conditioning units. We always appreciate being told...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 18 May 2016

This room and this hotel is so nostalgic. It is truly a western style hotel. Our room was clean and well arranged since the rooms in older properties tend to be smaller than the newer ones. The beds, great, the room comfortable. I would stay there again for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marsha W
Fort Collins
Reviewed 13 May 2016

We waited until the last minute to book lodging to explore the National Parks. Lodging was more expensive in Moab so we chose to stay here since we were traveling this direction anyway. The motel was adequate but old and not a lot of choices for lodging in town. The small bathroom had been remodeled and there were some nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank great2bretired

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
0.5 km away
Inn at the Canyons
Inn at the Canyons
#1 of 7 in Monticello
436 reviews
3.2 km away
Canyonlands Lodging
Canyonlands Lodging
#2 of 7 in Monticello
75 reviews
0.7 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Monticello
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Monticello Inn
The Monticello Inn
#3 of 7 in Monticello
281 reviews
0.5 km away
Wayside Motor Inn
Wayside Motor Inn
#7 of 7 in Monticello
122 reviews
30.3 km away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn

Address: 248 North Main Street, Monticello, UT 84535 (Formerly National 9 Inn)
Region: United States > Utah > Monticello
Price Range: RM192 - RM397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Blue Mountain Horsehead Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms on the north side of the lobby that are set back from the road”
 of 5 bubbles rgeneral, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try not to get room on front of motel, facing the road. Too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles JillS46, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't think the placement of the room matters much.”
 of 5 bubbles azkfwecho, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are basically in the same area, so none of them would be better than others, I don't believe.”
 of 5 bubbles tinaw552, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are right next to the road but since this is a remote town, there wasn't any traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles great2bretired, 13 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5