We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hollow Inn and Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hollow Inn and Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Carpentersville, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed here in the past and was happy to see they are finally updating a little. I stayed in the older part of the hotel and it's clean, albeit a bit musty. I am a bit of a germ freak so had a few issues with the breakfast you have to share a tub of margarine and some cheap... More 

Helpful?
Thank icupaul
barrehollow, Front Office Manager at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Hello, My apologies for all the inconvenienced you experienced on your stayed to make it to you. I personally offering you a 25% discount for the next visit of your parents and I will provide a room in the main building with everything working I would take care 206 and 202 with a new lock installment and margarine and peanut... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

While driving from Boston to Montreal, we stopped over im Barre and stayed here. The rooms were large, clean and the bed was comfortable. That's what we needed and that's what we got.... BTW...there are more TV channels than you could point a stick at.

Helpful?
Thank BryanN174
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We only stayed 1 night but were welcomed by the owner like we were his best customers. The room was very spacious and well appointed. The fridge had a small freezer which made it very nice for traveling with food items that needed blue ice packets to keep them fresh. The only complaint was the people upstairs walked across the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Another-MO-Traveler
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I was a little worried as I did not originally chose to stay here (problem with original reservation at a different place fell through), and I read other reviews. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised - you can tell they are really trying to improve the place. The room was clean and very spacious. Staff were very helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank CapeSprouts
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hollow Inn and Motel! Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read through your wonderful comments. Our team is always dedicated to provide the best hospitality we offer our guests for a comfortable and memorable stay and we will not miss to... More 

CT
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Check in was a breeze, since we pre-paid. Received the key, was told breakfast times and wi-fi information. Room had 2 queen size beds, that were comfortable, refrig, microwave, coffee maker, 2 burner stove top, kitchen sink and cabinets. Small flat screen tv hung on the wall. Rug looked clean. Bathroom had no towel rack, just a hook high up... More 

Helpful?
Thank pigismom
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hollow Inn and Motel! Thank you for giving your feedback with regards to your recent stay at Hollow Inn and Motel. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. We have noted the issues you faced. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused and it was not the one we aim to deliver and wish to thank you for... More 

Dunnville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2016

When we arrived we were on motorcycle & we wanted a room where we could park the motorcycle close. To us, the staff went out of their way to accommodate us, they were so helpful & friendly. The room was very spacious & up to date. As a bonus the breakfast was delicious the next morning. We would stay again... More 

Helpful?
Thank normagreaves
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hollow Inn and Motel! Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read through your wonderful comments. Our team is always dedicated to provide the best hospitality we offer our guests for a comfortable and memorable stay and we will not miss to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Really liked this place! Our room was nice. There was a small kitchen area with cupboards, sink, microwave and mini fridge. WiFi connection was great. The gentleman at check-in was very friendly and helpful! The Inn was quiet and clean. I would definitely stay again!

Helpful?
3 Thank Kim M
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Kim M for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays. We are humbled by your kind words. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon. - IJ Hollow Inn & Motel More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Wonderful hotel! Stayed in the main building. All updated, new, clean. Quaint. Friendly staff. Fabulous continental breakfast. Highly recommend. Will stay in this hotel again when we visit Vermont again. Lovely. Thank you for a wonderful hotel experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bambi S
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Bambi S for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays. We are humbled by your kind words. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon. - IJ Hollow Inn & Motel More 

Guilford, Vermont
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Our visit began with a friendly greeting by the gentleman at the desk. We were given a room--really a suite--in the inn section, in the same building as the reception desk. Besides a king sized bed, there was a separate sitting room with couch. The furnishings were all recently updated. For similar rooms I've often paid twice, and even thrice,... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank eastmagicmountainman
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you eastmagicmountainman for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays. We are humbled by your kind words. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon. - IJ Hollow Inn & Motel More 

East Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We stayed at the Hollow Inn and Motel for 2 nights for my daughter's graduation from Norwich University. Our other daughter and son-in-law also stayed there. There are inside rooms in the inn, as well as outside rooms at the motel. Ours was a motel room. The room was huge! There was a living room when you walked in, with... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank luvus29
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you luvus29 for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays. We are really sorry for the inconvenience while checking out. Please stay with us again and we will like to offer 15% Off. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon. - IJ Hollow Inn & Motel More 

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
6.9 km away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
454 reviews
10.8 km away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
27.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
6.9 km away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Hollow Inn Barre Montpelier Vermonts best choice for reasonably priced comfortable and clean accommodations with friendly hospitable service We have all of the amenities to make your stay in central Vermont charming relaxing and enjoyable Each room comes furnished with a TV VCR microwave refrigerator coffee maker iron ironing board and hairdryer and we also offer a nice selection of videos for your movie viewing pleasure Enjoy a fast connection with our Wireless High Speed Internet Access from your room ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hollow Inn and Motel

Address: 278 S Main St, Barre, VT 05641-4829
Region: United States > Vermont > Barre
Price Range: RM308 - RM353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollow Inn and Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hollow Inn and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Hotel Barre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hollow Inn and Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
NEW WINDSOR
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hollow Inn and Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room on the top floor if you can do stairs. There is no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles Another-MO-Traveler, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the larger rooms in the Inn proper, not the motel section. Our room was very large--really a suite--and at a bargain price.”
 of 5 bubbles eastmagicmountainman, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Verify your rate and, if you need a large bathroom, let them know.”
 of 5 bubbles luvus29, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I think the second floor is better”
 of 5 bubbles Travellingdude2, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms that are in the main building are amazing but all the rooms are good because the desk clerk showed us multiple rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles akshar7blue, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay