We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hollow Inn and Motel

Hotwire.comUS$63*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$65*
US$63*
Great Deal
US$65*
US$65*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hollow Inn and Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 129: English reviews
Start your review of Hollow Inn and Motel
 Click to rate
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This location includes beautiful views and friendly staff but....,the physical plant is a little weary. The room we had was pleasant enough and we did sleep well but....the room could use a few repairs and updates. How much could a coat of paint cost, really!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patiocpl
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Hollow Inn is a hotel/motel combo. We stayed two nights and on the first night had the misfortune of being given a motel room. Upon entering our accommodations, we were assaulted by the smell of stale cigarette smoke. We were exhausted and needed to get to bed for an early morning the next day and so we passed out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maineiak07
Westfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 11 April 2017

I read the other reviews, but frankly; I had a very decent stay here. We came for an event at the Opera House nearby. The check in went quickly and without issue, the room was spacious and recently upgraded. The beds were comfortable, the staff friendly. The breakfast offered was standard fare, waffles to make yourself, cereals, pastries, bread for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seaelp2016
barrehollow, Manager at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hollow Inn and Motel! Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read through your wonderful comments. Our team is always dedicated to provide the best hospitality we offer our guests for a comfortable and memorable stay and we will not miss to...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I just booked a room at the Hollow Inn as a place to sleep, as I was going to be arriving in the area around 1am and leaving by 8am. It was cheap and close to the highway. But I was pleasantly surprised by this place! The room was large and clean. We stayed in the back building (separate from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nick C
barrehollow, Manager at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hollow Inn and Motel! Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read through your wonderful comments. Our team is always dedicated to provide the best hospitality we offer our guests for a comfortable and memorable stay and we will not miss to...

Tupper Lake, New York
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

I'm not 1 to write a review but my stay was horrible! The first room that we went to had black mold in the bathroom and the manager(or owner)wanted us to stay in that room and he would get workers to go there in the morning. As if it were no big deal. So we went to the second room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kay55627
barrehollow, Manager at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced...

Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Hollow Inn is a budget hotel in Barre. We had friendly greeting and were checked in quickly. The room which said it was a "non smoking room" had a strong stale oder of smoke. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean. The box springs on the bed were filthy with stains and the bedding had a few visible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glennrr
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hollow Inn and Motel! Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read through your wonderful comments. Our team is always dedicated to provide the best hospitality we offer our guests for a comfortable and memorable stay and we will not miss to...

Carpentersville, Illinois
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Have stayed here in the past and was happy to see they are finally updating a little. I stayed in the older part of the hotel and it's clean, albeit a bit musty. I am a bit of a germ freak so had a few issues with the breakfast you have to share a tub of margarine and some cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank icupaul
barrehollow, Front Office Manager at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Hello, My apologies for all the inconvenienced you experienced on your stayed to make it to you. I personally offering you a 25% discount for the next visit of your parents and I will provide a room in the main building with everything working I would take care 206 and 202 with a new lock installment and margarine and peanut...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

While driving from Boston to Montreal, we stopped over im Barre and stayed here. The rooms were large, clean and the bed was comfortable. That's what we needed and that's what we got.... BTW...there are more TV channels than you could point a stick at.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BryanN174
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hollow Inn and Motel! Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read through your wonderful comments. Our team is always dedicated to provide the best hospitality we offer our guests for a comfortable and memorable stay and we will not miss to...

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We only stayed 1 night but were welcomed by the owner like we were his best customers. The room was very spacious and well appointed. The fridge had a small freezer which made it very nice for traveling with food items that needed blue ice packets to keep them fresh. The only complaint was the people upstairs walked across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Another-MO-Traveler
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hollow Inn and Motel! Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read through your wonderful comments. Our team is always dedicated to provide the best hospitality we offer our guests for a comfortable and memorable stay and we will not miss to...

Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I was a little worried as I did not originally chose to stay here (problem with original reservation at a different place fell through), and I read other reviews. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised - you can tell they are really trying to improve the place. The room was clean and very spacious. Staff were very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CapeSprouts
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hollow Inn and Motel! Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read through your wonderful comments. Our team is always dedicated to provide the best hospitality we offer our guests for a comfortable and memorable stay and we will not miss to...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
0.5 km away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
7.0 km away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
477 reviews
10.8 km away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
26.9 km away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
6.9 km away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Hollow Inn Barre Montpelier Vermonts best choice for reasonably priced comfortable and clean accommodations with friendly hospitable service We have all of the amenities to make your stay in central Vermont charming relaxing and enjoyable Each room comes furnished with a TV VCR microwave refrigerator coffee maker iron ironing board and hairdryer and we also offer a nice selection of videos for your movie viewing pleasure Enjoy a fast connection with our Wireless High Speed Internet Access from your room ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hollow Inn and Motel

Address: 278 S Main St, Barre, VT 05641-4829
Region: United States > Vermont > Barre
Price Range: RM288 - RM1,397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollow Inn and Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollow Inn and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Hotel Barre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hollow Inn and Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
NEW WINDSOR
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hollow Inn and Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i stayed in the rear (Separate) building”
NickC969, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room in the renovated part of the property.”
glennrr, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the top floor if you can do stairs. There is no elevator”
Another-MO-Traveler, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the larger rooms in the Inn proper, not the motel section. Our room was very large--really a suite--and at a bargain price.”
eastmagicmountainman, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Verify your rate and, if you need a large bathroom, let them know.”
luvus29, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$63* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$65
Orbitz.comUS$65
Booking.comUS$65
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates