We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Austrian Haus Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Austrian Haus Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Austrian Haus Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Its not a high-end, expensive, state-of-art lodge (which comes with a price), but a cozy place to unwind after a hard day on the ski slopes. Rooms are bit smaller, but good enough for a family with small kids, clean and odor free. Large break room, dinning room to sit back and relax, indoor warm swimming pool which the kids...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank virish
maine
Reviewed 12 January 2015 via mobile

Truly the dirtiest motel I have ever had the misfortune to stay at. Dark, tiny room with lumpy mattresses. Tiny outdated bathroom, had someones dirty washcloth still hanging on the shower curtain rod, dirt or something resembling feeces on the wall over the back of the toilet. Residue of a former residents drinks on top of the dresser. The heat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katagious
ahaus, Manager at Austrian Haus Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry that you had a bad experience, however, when you stay somewhere for a couple nights and not say anything to us about any problems, until the morning that you are leaving and demanding a reduction in rates, I tend to not listen as well about the problems you had. Even though I did give you a break in the...

Reviewed 11 January 2015

I stayed here over the weekend for a ski trip. As I walked in my room, I immediately noted the stained carpets. I travel a lot and have never seen anything like this. The mattress was very old and sunken in the middle with no one laying in it. It was a non-smoking room but still stunk of smoke. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spiro S
Reviewed 2 January 2015

I would not stay here again. Rooms were small and dark. No remote for tube TV. I was disappointed. No wifi in rooms. No cell signal with Verizon or sprint. I've bucket was gross. Location was okay. Game room was a joke. There were only board games.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siemensracing
ahaus, Manager at Austrian Haus Lodge, responded to this review

We do have a game room with a couple of video games and a pool table, if you couldn't find the remote in the room ask me at the desk and I would have given you one. The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor have a sliding glass door and outside access to the pool the 1st floor has...

Bethesda
Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

One of the worthwhile quests in the U.S.A.(and anywhere else for that matter) is that for something that tastes/looks/feels different from the usual and thus is more real. There's is always a high risk of uniformity, of finding always the same aseptic atmospheres, the same smiles of plastic, the same cardboard tastes. Luckily Austrian Haus has none of that. From...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank legallyalien
Reviewed 11 September 2014

This lodge is great value for anyone looking for a place to stay while on the road. I would love to see this lodge in the winter. I would imagine this is a perfect location for those on a weekend ski getaway. Thanks for the great stay,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carson S
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I just stayed here for the Tough Mudder New England event. The managers/owners were extremely nice, the hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable and the convenience to Mt. Snow and the restaurants was perfect!! And what make this place extra nice was the fact that there was a lovely continental breakfast (free of charge) every morning. And plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryan k
Trumbull, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Do not expect much. For the money (<$100) this was a decent bed to sleep on, and clean bathroom. Nice hot shower (sometimes too hot, it was a bit quirky). Very simple, different types of pillows to choose from in the room. You have to get the TV remote from the front desk. Walls are very thin, but we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trvvlngkim
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were very disappointed by the poor condition of our room and what we got for our $150 per night. You don't always get what you pay for, and this was one of those cases. My brother was so embarrassed that he was the one who chose these accommodations for us. The entire hotel is tired. It has carpets that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie T
ahaus, Owner at Austrian Haus Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was not a positive one, no one mentioned anything to us while you were here that you had issues. The continental breakfast we have has many choices and most people seemed happy with it. We offer coffee, tea , juices, bagels, muffins, cereals (hot and cold), danishes, croissants, etc. A simple but varied offering...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I spent three nights at the Austrian Haus while skiing at Mount Snow recently. The proprietor is extremely friendly and available, the rooms are modest with a quaint charm (nothing remotely fancy), and the pool and sauna had a legit retro vibe (mainly due to being dated, but there's a charm to that). If you are renting equipment, DO NOT...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dredgedtravel

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
5.2 km away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
165 reviews
3.7 km away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
115 reviews
4.4 km away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
5.3 km away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#10 of 13 in Dover
269 reviews
4.2 km away
Kitzhof Inn
Kitzhof Inn
#6 of 13 in Dover
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 3 miles from Mt. Snow, we have an indoor heated pool, sauna, gameroom, cctv in all rooms and wifi access in our BYOB Lounge area that also has a fireplace. We are a family run and operated and welcome other families here. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Austrian Haus Lodge

Address: 6 Abroad Rd, Route 100 N, West Dover, PO Box #335, Dover, VT 05356
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Price Range: RM421 - RM713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austrian Haus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Austrian Haus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrian Haus Hotel Dover
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Austrian Haus Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms closest to the lobby might get some weak wifi from the main lobby, if needed.”
 of 5 bubbles DetJohnTravis, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wifi is only available in the lounge area near reception.”
 of 5 bubbles carsons718, 10 Sep 2014 | Read review
“We had room 105, heard very little noise. Has 2 beds.”
 of 5 bubbles trvvlngkim, 1 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Look at all the reviews on TripAdvisor and yelp prior to booking. Pay for your room after you have seen it, not before.”
 of 5 bubbles 277lauriet, 4 Mar 2014 | Read review
“If possible, ask for a room on the 300 level. There will be nobody above you.”
 of 5 bubbles 181theg, 22 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5