We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Cape Charles

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Cape Charles
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cape Charles
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We had been driving all day and didn't get into Cape Charles until later in the evening. Almost all restaurants were closed that we could find and not many places to stay. We decided to book a room here although it was a little higher priced that we wanted for a quick stay. It's very nice and worth the cost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon I
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It's true that most restaurants' kitchens here close down around 9:00 p.m. in summer, which makes late arrivals in search of a meal challenging. We hope you can come back and spend more time next time!

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Can't speak for the hotel itself because we didn't get to stay there. Had reservations, but a tropical storm hit the same weekend. Besides not being enjoyable to go there in the rain, it wasn't safe with the flooding and the high winds meant travel across the Bay Bridge-Tunnel was restricted. All the manager would say was "oh well, try...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Speedysprocket
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review

We take deeply negative reviews very seriously here at Hotel Cape Charles. As a result, we have gone over our bookings very carefully, and no reservation corresponds to this review. We must conclude that the review pertains to another property altogether. We have asked TripAdvisor to authenticate this review, but we were unsuccessful. The claimed conversation is also not one...

Virginia Beach, VA
Reviewed 3 September 2016

It is a nice hotel, very chic. No elevator so if you can't take your luggage up stairs be warned. The staff is friendly. Pam , the night person, who works 7 to 7, is a real gem. The courtyard room with private balcony overlooks air conditioning and roof top equipment. I would get a room that looks out to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Golfsunnut
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! The elevator (lift) is located in the rear of the property. We would love to offer fresh fruit each morning, and we have done so in the past. The problem with fruit is that it has a short shelf life and is often difficult to procure - at least of high quality - on a consistent...

Reviewed 31 August 2016

I hadn't been to Cape Charles in many years, and had no idea that the town had turned into such a destination. This hotel has a chic feeling without the upscale pretension. Rooms are nice and airy, the balcony looking out onto the main drag is a nice touch, and it's just a short walk to the beautiful beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TatooshRange
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review

We're very grateful to have a review from someone who remembers Cape Charles in the old days! We remember when much of the town was boarded up, too. In the past 20 years, much has been accomplished, and especially in the past 5 years, but there is much more to do, and we at the hotel are delighted to be...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 23 August 2016

After considering some of the B&Bs in town I eventually settled on the Hotel Cape Charles. While the B&Bs looked a little stuffy to me, the hotel looked modern and spacious, and it turned out to be exactly that. The lobby was open and airy and beautifully decorated while the room itself was perhaps the largest hotel room I've ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your generous review. We all read it and thought the hotel sounded like a great place for a staff retreat! These kind reviews, coming near the end of our high season, are especially appreciated, as our minds start to wander a bit, thinking about our own vacation plans. Your words remind us what is valuable...

Keswick, Va
Reviewed 23 August 2016

New looking Clean and comfortable We stayed on the room with front glass balcony Very small but comfortable Bathroom pretty comfortable and clean with plenty of soft towels, washcloths Close to beach, restaurants and activities in town Pleasant front desk staff, very accommodating. The have beach chair, towels and umbrellas free of charged for guess. Also outdoor shower for after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank idcs
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review

We were craving grits after reading that detailed review (many thanks!) - but we should point out that we don't offer grits at breakfast, alas. And we do have beach chairs but unfortunately not umbrellas. Maybe in the future! Very glad you had a nice stay and that air conditioning, beds, and staff all met with approval. Please do come...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This hotel is lovely. The room we stayed in had wooden floors and was kept very clean and very nice. Continental breakfast is included, which was adequate and delicious, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only negatives I'll give here are administrative: that they were very strict on the 3 pm check-in time, and their cancellation policy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 100_NicS_
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your nice review! Very glad that you approved of the excellent work of our housekeeping group and of the light breakfast fare. We are indeed full almost all nights in summer, and so, like all other properties in Cape Charles, we need adequate time to clean, very thoroughly, all rooms before check-in. Some establishments launder only...

Middletown, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Pros: Great location walking distance to shops and restaurants. Great shallow beach nearby. Cons: Room 8 has extensive water damage. Unfortunately tv didn't work during our stay. We were told the town was out but this was untrue because lobby tv was fine. Cannot get triple a discount upon check in only through internet booking. Breakfast was minimal. In a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We were not able to honor your request for refund for the television issue at checkout, as we had not inspected the television set, which was functioning normally during quality control just before your check-in. On inspection that morning, the television set had been disabled, perhaps accidentally, but is functioning...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting for a quiet little mini-vacation. If you want an alternative to the beach crowds and traffic, this is the perfect coastal retreat. Very comfortable with quality amenities. Walkable "downtown" with shops, pub, and ice cream and only 2 short blocks to the beach. Would love to see them offer an evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review

We love your adjectives! Walkable, quiet, coastal, and perfect (twice!). Those of us on staff who grew up here, and those who moved here, sometimes forget to treasure all of these aspects of Cape Charles. We do regularly gather at the beach, and in the evenings at Brown Dog Ice Cream and local watering holes, and we agree that those...

Reviewed 28 July 2016

This hotel was so nice! With it's central location it was easy to walk to just about anything. The staff was super nice and extremely accommodating! Free parking was located across the street and a security system was used at night so only guests could get in the building.The view was great and the balcony was a nice ending to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IshBoutique
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review

We thank you indeed for your kind review, and we look forward to seeing you next year!

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
7.2 km away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
157 reviews
15.1 km away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Cape Charles
34 reviews
32.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
35.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
144 reviews
39.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Cape Charles is a boutique hotel on Virginia's Eastern Shore. We are the region's only full service hotel, with concierge services, conference facilities, and access to a wide range of amenities with nearby Bay Creek Resort, including access to golf courses and marina. Hotel Cape Charles is a beautiful and unique property; our rooms are light-filled, with private glass balconies, modern decor, and organic mattresses and linens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Cape Charles

Address: 235 Mason Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310-3253
Region: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Price Range: RM669 - RM1,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Cape Charles staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Cape Charles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the king loft upstairs and it was really cool.”
 of 5 bubbles jonasp304, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get the loft, if you have more than two travelling”
 of 5 bubbles M1narco, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Views are best from street side rooms and there is no traffic at night--it is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles TXDavid937, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room facing the street.. It's a quaint town and you can walk to wonderful shops.”
 of 5 bubbles Golfsunnut, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I was on room 15. It was great. I like the view from the glass balcony”
 of 5 bubbles idcs, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5