We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 446: English reviews
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

External entrances, old, refurb'd hotel. Check in was smooth and the people nice, and the location is good for access to all areas of UVA. Decent breakfast place next door, breakfast at the hotel was OK. On the level of a Ramada/Comfort Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jsantivanez
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three friends and I visited Charlottesville for one night for a short birthday weekend/getaway trip. We stayed in one room with two double beds which was a little tight for four, but great for one night. The beds and sheets were comfortable, the room was quiet, and we had no complaints or issues with the shower/bathroom. The location was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene K
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I never ever recommended this hotel because they stolen money from my friend and cloths form another friend and the were a lot of flying with bad smell. I am sorry but this is the truth what I saw there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed W
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I missed some of my stuff during my staying there for a month! I was checking my money every time when I was back. the food was not good, they have the same breakfast everyday! the cleaning services was not on daily bases and not at the expected quality! I don't recommend it to anybody!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rorrosh
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The worst experience I have ever had.. We stayed in the hotel for a month (as a group), we all got stolen by the cleaning ladies or maybe another staff member. My friend got stolen $1000, I left my silver bracelet in the hotel for few hours and it disappeared. Moreover, the rooms are super NOT clean, actually dirty, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karramyara
Richmond, VA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I traveled to Charlottesville for a wine tasting weekend and due to the home football game, this was one of the only hotels with enough rooms for a party of 9. While it is conveniently located to walk to UVA's campus and the amenities on the Corner, that is about all that the hotel has going for it. The beds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meghan C
CavalierInn, Front Office Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

We reviewed the video of your review and are very aware of what actually happened, I am sorry you felt the need to post events that were opposite to what actually happened, we had some of the other guests that were in the lobby leave notes and email us to let us know what they saw. We might suggest you...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Charlottesville VA is my hometown and I decided to pay a visit to friends family and memories for about a week. I spent 5 of my nights there at The Cavalier Hotel and was very pleased with the hotel and the service. Rooms are very comfortable, quiet and spotless. I had a nice view of part of the UVA campus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corky M
CavalierInn, Front Office Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for choosing to stay with us we truly apprecaite you taking the time to let us know about your stay. we hope that you will choose us again the next time you come to charlottesville.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at The Cavalier Inn this past weekend and I was incredibly disappointed with the quality of our stay. Not only were the rooms very run down, the bed was INCREDIBLY uncomfortable, the air unit sounds like an 18-wheeler starting in your bedroom and the walls are paper thin. We chose this hotel mainly because it was pet-friendly -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie S
CavalierInn, Front Office Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, I apologize that your pet did not recieve what was conveyed to you, the dog walking area is across our parking lot with a small grassy area with a conservation area that is native to our area, the natural sping there surround by all of the...

Suffolk, Virginia
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

I got a bargain price on this room thru another hotel website. It is a 60s-70s style motel with some upgrades to make it more esthetically appealing in the 21st century. Check in was efficient but rather impersonal and curt. The rooms on the west side open onto an open air balcony while the rooms on the east open onto...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DocChesapeake
CavalierInn, Front Office Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Dear DocChesapeake Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, I apologize that you were unhappy with your stay, we serve many guest each day and strive to make all of our guests stay a pleasant one, it is unfortunate that you were not happy and we apologize to you and will take your comments...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I made reservations at this hotel for a family event based on them blocking out rooms. This hotel is very outdated and had rooms that open to the outside balconies. So safety can be a big concern. Our reservation was messed up but after 30 minutes was corrected. ( I had no other options due to a UVA football game...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2012dae
CavalierInn, Front Office Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay, I assure you we addressed the issues you mentioned with the staff memebrs that serviced your room and can assure you that they will never do that in the future at this hotel. Again we sincerely...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 km away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
142 reviews
1.0 km away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
215 reviews
2.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
144 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
631 reviews
1.6 km away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Address: 105 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1728
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Price Range: RM382 - RM947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms facing the campus have a glass covered walkway that reduced traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles corkym707, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the west side of the building (opposite Emmet St) open to the outdoors, like a motel.”
 of 5 bubbles traveler1991751, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the second floor right above the pool so it was pretty quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 938amberg, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the pool side if it's hot outside; the sun shining on the street side can be brutal”
 of 5 bubbles kbrownlee, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Not sure about the other floors, but my room on the 5th floor was just fine.”
 of 5 bubbles andreaw53, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay