We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 462: English reviews
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 14 November 2014

Okay, this is the fifth or sixth time I have stayed in this hotel. My experience has not been great from the first one so this stay should not have shocked me. When we walked into the room the temperature was 99.9 so I called the front desk, their solution to the problem was to cut the thermostat in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaNeen R
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello I am sorry that your stay with us was not to your expectations, I apologize for the heat controls, but some people like to disturb the settings or units, we are always happy to help guests that are not familiar with the cooling and heating control unit in our guest rooms.

Reviewed 4 November 2014 via mobile

The actual building and room were fine. The staff was friendly and as helpful as they could be. But....the building is heated and cooled with a boiler system. In essence you are at the mercy of whatever the boiler is set at.... Our room was humid and had no air flow, and it was made worse when we all got...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David W
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, I apologize about the noise, we have asked our neighbors to have their trash dumpster emptied at a more reasonable hour, we have ours done at mid day and certainly not in the morning hours, thank you for letting us know we will approach them again.

Aldie, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 21 October 2014

It's right on campus, within walking distance of John Paul Jones Arena. That's a big plus. The room is decent, although the sink console in my room was made for someone about 4'6- Perfect height for children. I heard several people complaining to the front desk of noise as I was passing through the lobby, but my 5th floor room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neva S
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello Neva S. We are happy to see that you were satisfied with your stay, we also appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We hope to have you stay again in the future.

Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 20 October 2014

When we arrived, after bouts of laughter, due to the sight of the classic motel exterior, we were pleasantly surprised by the interior of the lobby. Although the receptionists were less than professional (friendly, but rather rough), our check-in was easy, as was parking. Getting to the room wasn't a lot of fun, given the narrow elevators and the old,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen R
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello Jen R. from Chesapeake We appreciate all the comments and suggestions that guest leave for us, I apologize about our neighbors next door, they have their dumpster emptied early, I have asked many times and will do so again, we have our service done during mid day hours. We are in the process of putting in new granite counters,...

Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 October 2014

I stayed there on a college visit with my daughter. Wish I had researched a little better. It was a great location, charming ( kind of ) lobby, convient parking, friendly helpful staff and fair/easy breakfast BUT the room...YUK! The beds crunched like the mattress pad was old plastic. The pillows were hard and lumpy and the sheets were thin....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holly A
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello Holly A. I am sorry that you felt your stay was not up to your expectations, Our beds in the rooms are brand new put in as of October 2014, along with all new furniture, We do have new mattress covers but had not received any complaints about them making noise, so your comments about that is most helpful....

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 18 October 2014

In town for a wedding on campus at the chapel. Staff very friendly, property dated, rooms small but clean. No question a great value for the location. We were able to walk into town and take the shuttle back. Hotel was crowded for a football weekend but staff was always pleasant, friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hurry back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello Roger S. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your business and hope that you would stay with us again on your next trip to Charlottesville. Again thank you and we wish you the best in your future travels.

New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 October 2014

There weren't a lot of options right by the college. I got there before check in time so knew I would have to wait. No problem. But the first person behind the desk was rude. Basically she told me in no uncertain terms that I would have to wait until at least 3:30pm. When a second lady came on duty,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 93KB
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello Claire K. I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations, your review was shared with the staff and with the housekeeping supervisors, Our bedding and furniture in our guest rooms was just put in as of the first week of October, and I again apologize for my housekeepers mistakes and I assure you it was addressed and the...

Yateley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We stayed with our two children as part of our driving tour around Virginia last July. We got a fantastic price for our stay, and although the decor was a little dated and a bit shabby in places, everything worked OK, breakfast was fine, and the location is brilliant.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Quartermen
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello United Kingdom Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review, We wish you the best in your future travels.

Sumter, South Carolina
Reviewed 24 September 2014

My friend got what she thought was a great deal for a hotel right by the hospital at UVA. Not so much. The room was small, the beds were hard. The hair dryer was broken. There was a full size ironing board but trying to find a place to set it up and plug in the iron was difficult. When...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carolynne F
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello Carolynne F. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations, We have had some staffing changes and we try to give all of our staff members a chance at working the front desk, it is unfortunate that you dealt with a new staff member and I do apologize...

Reviewed 23 September 2014 via mobile

I think this hotel may be midway through a renovation. The lobby is lovely, and the breakfast is decent. The location is perfect. Our room had new drapes, sheets and furniture, but the rest of it was reminiscent of a days inn circa 1985. There was a gap in the wall by the bathroom that had carpet stapled over it,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Senefeld
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review

Hello Senefeld We take all of the comments and suggestions we receive from our guest very seriously, they let us know when we are doing right and where we need to improve, I am truly sorry that my housekeeping staff failed to clean and inspect the room properly, we have since hired new room inspectors so that this embarrassing incident...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 km away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
146 reviews
1.0 km away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
259 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
153 reviews
1.6 km away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
282 reviews
2.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Address: 105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Price Range: RM279 - RM798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites are very large, good for 2-4 people, families.”
 of 5 bubbles S3052KPscottf, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are hot and AC is shut off in the winter. Dress lightly. :)”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms facing the campus have a glass covered walkway that reduced traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles corkym707, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the west side of the building (opposite Emmet St) open to the outdoors, like a motel.”
 of 5 bubbles traveler1991751, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the second floor right above the pool so it was pretty quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 938amberg, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5