We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Tides Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Tides Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 540: English reviews
Start your review of The Tides Inn
 Click to rate
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My parents have been going to the Tides Inn for years- and while my son was in school near by this was one of our favorite places to stay. Perfect place for relaxing. Beautiful view (worth it to upgrade your room). We have never had a bad meal in their restaurant. There is a nice terrace off the restaurant with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria O
Rockville, MD
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I planned a weekend getaway from N. Bethesda, MD to the Northern Neck where we had never been before. We stayed Friday and Saturday nights at the Tides Inn and enjoyed a lovely room and spectacular view of the surrounding coves and landscape. The Tides Inn was all that it promised, in the range of enjoyable activities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thirtythree
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your well considered review. we aim to exceed expectations and I can see we delivered on the promise. I always believe that if we enjoy our work it reflects on the service and experience for our guests. Come back and see us again soon. Gordon Slatford General Manager

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

As a twelfth generation Virginian, for some reason there had never been an occasion to try the Tides Inn. What on earth was I thinking? Here we go: The greeting and departure: It was pouring down rain. Parking was easy and the Valet was very helpful. On the way out, the Valet was quick and courteous (different gentlemen). The food:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ley74
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Well thank you for taking time out of your day to write such an inclusive review. It is good to have reviews from guests who are here on business as while we are a resort it is also a perfect location for business events and meetings. I think I am just going to home in on that pesky anchovy. Lets...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This place was phenomenal! We'd never been to this part of Virginia even though one of us is a Virginia native. We could not have picked a better place as our home base for exploring this part of the Northern Neck. The accommodations were superb and the staff equally so. It's a luxury establishment, but not stuffy in any way....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do not like "Stuffy" but we do like to treat you the way we would wish to be treated ourselves. I am sorry we have been in a bit of a damp spell but the weather gods are predicting we are heading for warmer dryer weather and our fleet of boats and watercraft are...

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family and I had our yearly family vacation here a few weeks ago! It was such a great experience. The sales manager, Brent Woodyard, took excellent care of us! The best that we have seen in years. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Fantastic customer service experience. The grounds were well maintained, the rooms were clean, and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisamoesha
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, The Tornado was a little more excitement than we care to experience but at least it was a few blocks away and we saw no damage. For those of you reading this and thinking "Oh My" That was the first Tornado in living memory in Irvington so do not fret and also once it...

Albany, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We needed a place to stay between Fayetteville, NC and Bowie, MD on our return drive from Florida.. The Tides was situated just where we wanted to be, in a remote part of Tidewater Virginia. The inn is an iPrefer property, which means it operates to a high standard. We were not disappointed. The room was rather small but well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SlingerlandsTraveler
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for making the detour and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Pity your stay was so brief as yes, you are right, we have a plethora of activities for our guests. Never mind I have a feeling you will be back soon. Gordon Slatford General Manager

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely time. Everyone we spoke to was great. The staff was outstanding! Our room was a little dated, but nice. We did have a small problem with some ants in our bathroom, but you are in the woods. Not sure if there is anything you can do about that. The tub/shower in the room is very high....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RomanceLives50
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I always believe my guests are also my eyes and ears and we can always learn from their experience. Tubs are funny things if you have shalloow ones you do not get a good soak and deep ones can sometimes be a bit of a step in, the other thoughts we can deal with. Glad...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Tides Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We paid a little extra to have a waterfront balcony and it was very peaceful. The Tides Inn is within walking and biking distance from Irvington shops and restaurants. We enjoyed using the free bikes and the 3 par golf course. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee Ann N
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

The waterview is spectacular and You made a wise decision in having a room overlooking the creek. Actually creek does not do Carter Creek justice as it is more of an estuary flowing into the 2 mile wide Rappahannock River. Glad you had fun, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Gordon Slatford. General manager

Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We (husband and 2 daughters) spent an weekend at the resort for a quick R&R. We had a room with a balcony. The view of water is nice and calming and the grounds are well kept although there's a bit of trash on the back sides of the rooms. Our room, though comfy, needs renovations. Parts of the banister is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jm3998VA
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The customer service is OUTSTANDING!! No matter who we interacted with~ they were friendly, courteous, caring and wanted to make us feel welcome! Kylie and Mary in the Activities Department were truly an asset! No matter the question~ they always had ideas and found ways to help!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 02BLP

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (195)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
31.2 km away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
336 reviews
31.1 km away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
98 reviews
7.8 km away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
#1 of 1 in Kilmarnock
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 km away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
12 reviews
1.1 km away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
203 reviews
23.7 km away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480
Region: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Price Range: RM866 - RM1,553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tides Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Kahala, Hawaii
7 months ago
Warrenton, Virginia
over a year ago
Kahala, Hawaii
10 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Tides Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check first to see if a wedding has booked most of the rooms- this effected 2 of our stays.”
mariao335, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Spectacular water views from 2nd-3rd floors of Main Buildings higher number rooms”
thirtythree, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would stay in the main hotel next time. I put beachfront - but it really is a bay/inlet.”
RomanceLives50, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was located in the Garden Place with a spacious, private balcony and beautiful view of Carter's Creek!”
456LaurenR, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the main building.More modern. I would imagine there is no musty odor in thee rooms.”
, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5