We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glaramara

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glaramara
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Glaramara
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Oslo
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Accommodation was simple and quite basic (no tv for example) but exceptionally clean and really friendly staff. Hotel is perfectly suited for exploring Borrowdale with lots of fantastic walks in the area. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and the food was excellent and pretty good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonandVib
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

Than you very much for the review. Its always good to hear from a new guest as quite a big portion of our guest come regularly. We have been upgrading our guest rooms and public areas over a long program and introducing tv's in the rooms will hopefully come within the next year so hopefully this will entice you back...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here one night because we were walking the Coast-to-Coast. This facility could not have been any better. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was spotless and modern. The hotel staff was super friendly and helpful. On a moments notice they did a load of laundry for us and had it ready the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James K
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

Thank you every so much for taking the time to write such a great review after your stay here during your coast to coast walking holiday last year. A big portion of our guests come to the area for walking and outdoor adventure holidays so its great to know that our new facilities are functional for everyone. Happy Walking!

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

I have just arrived home after a delightful, 5 day stay at Glaramara. I am one of the ladies on the Spinner's Masterclass, organised by Wingham Wools of Wentworth, in Yorkshire. I understood Glaramara to be a 'Retreat' and thought the accomodation would be on a par with a bunkhouse... How wrong I was! The room was really clean, my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review after your stay here last August. Its nice to hear from someone who has come for a course and to know that your long stay was good throughout. We hope to either see you back again in August for the next wool course or another time that suits...

Manchester
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at Glaramara with a group of friends for several years now. Stunning location and views at the end of the Borrowdale valley just before the Honister pass. Caters for all abilities. High level and low level walking right from the door. For those less energetically inclined, the open top bus stops just outside and runs along the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KardrewKardrew
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the greatly detailed review and tourist information you have outlined here for future guest will no doubt be useful. It is always great to hear how well we are doing from our loyal guests and we love to see you all year in and year out to show off all the changes. Its all about...

Whitecourt
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed one night during our Coast to Coast hike, arrived soaking wet after a day of rain and barely received a greeting as we were late for dinner. When I asked if we could have soup, I was advised that the chef does not reheat items. This was leek and potato soup, clearly it can be reheated. As the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Persa K
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

I am sorry that you found your stay with us pretentious. We follow policies on food hygiene for the benefit of our guests and customers and we can only apoligise that this was not explained properly or that other options for your meals were not explained entirely during your stay. I am sorry that you feel you can not return...

Houston
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We had two half-day walks with our guide Rachel last week, and we were absolutely thrilled with our experience. Rachel came to our hostel to pick us up (we weren't staying at Glaramara), then drove us to the start point for each of our walks. She hiked with our family and educated us about the fells and their flora and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review after your activities last summer with us. Our Outdoor Adventure Instructors always love showing off our beautiful surroundings and educate the younger generations. Maybe next time you are in the area you can stay in our Hotel too!

South Tyneside
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I would describe this as a hotel with the facility to book activities. It's in a perfect location for lots of fell walks like Glaramara, Scarfell and the Borrowdale fells. It has a small bar and small TV room. The larger lounge hasn't been updated yet but the new owner is still progressing turning this into a lovely hotel. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lakes tarns n f... m
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your thorough review you have written after your stay with us in the summer. It sounds like you made the most of your stay with us and the surrounding area. We are glad that you liked the facilities and the work we have done so far. We are blessed with our location and love sharing...

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel and grounds was very nice, very clean hotel and room, very friendly helpful staff. down side was no tv in room, shower door fell off when closing it, and not very dog friendly when the only place we could eat was in the small reception area with people coming and going all the time and breakfast was cold

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 26oscar
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

I am sorry that there were a few issues during your stay and we have since repaired the shower door. We do allow dogs in guests private bedrooms and certain public areas but unfortunately our dining room is not suitable for dogs. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very after you stayed with us earlier...

Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

I had started here many years ago before the current owner had taken over. Back then it was more of a hostel compared to the hotel it is now. I had opted for a simple single room as I was staying on my own and would only be sleeping there. I had been running in the Langdales so a quick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C16VEH
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you loved the changes to the hotel when you returned after several years. We now also have single en suite rooms with a view to making them all en suite over the next 18 months so I am sure if you return you will see even more improvements during your stay. If you are running...

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night in room 202 in the Glaramara hotel. Was a smooth check in and we were shocked by the size of our room! Lovely big bay windows looking right out to the countryside, immaculate bathroom and in general could not fault it one bit. Breakfast in the morning was lovely- came down to a table reserved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beki A
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your short stay with us earlier this year. We are delighted when a new guest feels inclined to recommend us especially after just one night. That room in particular does have a great view and is highly sought after we are glad you enjoyed it and the...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
3:59
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seatoller
0.0 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,991 reviews
0.0 km away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
743 reviews
0.0 km away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
897 reviews
0.0 km away
The Leathes Head
The Leathes Head
#2 of 5 in Borrowdale
256 reviews
0.0 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Accommodation, bed and breakfast (with option of 3 course evening meal and lunch) for groups, families and individuals. Schools, business, clubs, social groups welcome. Log fires, cosy bar, sun terrace, magnificent setting and views of Scafell range. Outdoor activities/Mountain Qualifications and skills courses available. Exclusive use as a venue hire for parties and special occasion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glaramara

Address: Glaramara Seatoller, Seatoller, Borrowdale CA12 5XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Seatoller
Price Range: RM604 - RM626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Glaramara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glaramara staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Norwich
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Glaramara staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ours was great. Some of the singles are still to be updated”
 of 5 bubbles minesapintthanks, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“With it's location, all rooms have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles ali444211, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms from about 101 to 108 are probably the best for views and peace.”
 of 5 bubbles 120isabellab, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There were a few families with young children but we were tucked away to the rear and heard nothing at night.”
 of 5 bubbles achatter53, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have great views! Rooms in the new part are quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles Majorchez, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5