We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cliff Cottage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Cliff Cottage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 193: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Spent 4 nights in tent on the cliff at the tip of the island falling asleep watching the fishing boats on the horizon and waking up to monkeys around the tent Perfect spot great staff free kayaks borrow ( if stay 3 nights) decent restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patsylo
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Close to the pier, nice calm area and friendly straff! A lot of wild monkeys wich was a nice bonus. Thanks for making our stay at koh Chang very pleasant! Go dive with scuba dawgs as well, especially to the wreck. So cool!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stenisen
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for a week, had booked a room with a extra bed which was not in the room, almost had to pay for it again. The extra bed was a very hard bed base on the floor, very uncomfortable and not worth $80- We had expected a higher standard room, the bathroom was dreadful and only just acceptable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank martinrawlings
Cliff C, Owner at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You are right about the views, location and restaurant, but your calculation is way off: You booked on Agoda in the peak season 21/12 to 28/12, 7 nights + extra bed. You paid 8715 baht: 7 = 1245 baht per night. The room is 995 baht, the extra bed 250 Baht ($ 7.14) total price...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We, a group of three, went to this place for spending a quiet weekend away from the hustle and bustle of the city. And this place was everything we could ask for. We had decided to stay in the mongolian tents on top of the cliff. I must say this - THE BEST LOCATION, till date, for me! You can...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Aishwarya M
Cliff C, Owner at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. Our location on Koh Chang is unique. Not even the very expensive 5* hotels offer a private cove and private cliff when one can feel one with nature without being disturbed by unnatural sounds.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here 1 night before continuing to Koh Mak. It was a great location close to the harbor (like a 10-15min walk). We stayed in one of the tents and the view was amazing and the tent was spacious. The hang-out area was nice and cozy aswell with hammocks hanging with view over the ocean. The staff didn't talk that...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Frederik S
Cliff C, Owner at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our location is unique. Far from the noise of the main beaches, but within reach of everything one needs

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night in the tent and one night in a private room. Pros: - Good location - Nice hangout area - No charge for inedible meal Cons: - Was served (very) raw chicken. When we pointed this out they brought it back, having chopped out the raw part (most of the dish), now cold - Lemon ice drink...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank papi55uu
Cliff C, Owner at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and very happy to read that you won't return! You ordered a Club Sandwich with chicken which in your opinion wasn't cooked enough. Without hesitation you were served a complimentary new Club Sandwich, it's impossible to pry to chicken out of the first Club Sandwich. Lemon ice drink comes from a can. All we do...

Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

My stay here in a Mongolian tent was very good. Sunset everyday! The tent is very big and spacious inside. It has a fan and a good mattress. The staff was good. Toilets and shower were cleaned everyday! So no complaints here. Please visit if you are on Koh Chang!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kong77
Cliff C, Owner at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are the only resort on Koh Chang where one can see the sunrise and sunset without leaving the resort

Reviewed 17 November 2016

Great location and a lovely place to relax! Stunning views! My only complaint was the price and quality of the food. Because it is in a more secluded area there is less choice of where to eat and also because the resort is so beautiful it is so nice to just stay and lounge there. However, the menu was nearly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barwich K
Cliff C, Owner at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. There are plenty of cheap food stalls and street restaurants in Bang Bao village, 10 minutes walk from out resort. True, you pay half price for basic Thai food, but you sit near a very noisy and busy road in the exhaust fumes instead of enjoying the stunning views from our restaurant. We ask a...

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

My bf and I were booked for one week but extended. Partly due to diving in the area but we loved the resort. Yes a few updates needed but for the money what you get as far as view and tranquility is worth so much more. The food was ok. The Tom Kha Gal and Pas Thai was great. Wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kerry J
Cliff C, Owner at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Kerry, thank you for your review. It's guests like you and Mark that help create the atmosphere that so many people appreciate.

Oslo
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed there 4 nights and enjoyed it even the weather was not so good. This is a very quiet place. To quiet if you like to go around in the evenings. But if you are two and do have a motorbike, it's excellent. The hut is nice, but basic. The mattress is hard as it often is in Thailand....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tabitha56
René M, Owner at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your company. It was a pleasure meeting you and talking with you.

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.9 km away
Elephant Bay Resort
Elephant Bay Resort
#5 of 96 in Ko Chang
121 reviews
3.9 km away
Paradise Cottage
Paradise Cottage
#11 of 96 in Ko Chang
178 reviews
0.4 km away
Buddha View
Buddha View
#18 of 71 in Ko Chang
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#1 of 96 in Ko Chang
237 reviews
2.5 km away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
7.9 km away
Koh Chang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The way Thailand used to be. Serenity, tranquility and peace. Cliff Cottage is a secluded and quiet resort. No noisy bars or discos. The wooden bar and restaurant is built over the sea in a private cove. There are very few places so picturesque. It's a great place to relax. The bar area and the cliff top tents offer a great place to relax and watch the sunset. Close to the village and the Bang Bao pier. Perfectly located for people seeking to travel to the other islands, take boat trips. Try snorkeling and diving with our sister company ScubaDawgs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage

Address: 108 Moo 1 | Bang Bao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Price Range: RM71 - RM129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliff Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cliff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Cottage Hotel Koh Chang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliff Cottage staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cliff Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 4 rooms on top of the cliff are much newer than the 15 lower ones facing the harbor.”
 of 5 bubbles martinrawlings, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Houses at the cliff - WiFi works here and in the restaurant only. Houses in the lower part - bigger, some noise from the road, have fridge.”
 of 5 bubbles myrthm2016, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“bungalow on the cliff is very beatiful”
 of 5 bubbles 353nitayac, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I had a room with AC and a terrace facing the beach. Very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles badem2016, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Tent no 26 is my fav. It has the best view for me and perfect placement!”
  • view from nearby beach when kayaking
  • view from nearby beach when kayaking
  • view from nearby beach when kayaking
  • view from nearby beach when kayaking
  • view form a anther cliff near lonely beach
  • view form a anther cliff near lonely beach
  • view from some other rooms
 of 5 bubbles Dayantha86, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay