Save
Parque Central, 20 Meters Al Sur, Calle Guzman, Granada 40003 Nicaragua
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (130)
Pool & Beach (29)
Room & Suite (19)

About

#4 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome Casa Del Agua. An historic colonial house, located just off central park in Granada, Nicaragua. Each accommodation is uniquely and individually designed to suit all our guests requirements, (individual, family, triple, single, twin and double rooms,) which are all spacious and ensuite, All guests have full access to an open kitchen, dining and lounge and porch areas where you can enjoy the camaraderie and great advice of other guests. Also included is a continental breakfast, free coffee, tea, filtered water and bike rental all day! Exploring Granada's beautiful colonial city is easy to do since our location is right in the heart of town. Explore the many great restaurants and eateries that has made Granada the food capital of Nicaragua. And when the sun is at it's highest, the feet are tired, escape by dipping into our 2 crystal clear pools. Our motto: Casa del Agua is just like home, only better.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Mosquito net
Laundry service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Clothes rack
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
479Reviews5Q+A84Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 404
  • 65
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Esteban M wrote a review Jan 2020
Monteverde, Costa Rica86 contributions25 helpful votes
My family and I stayed in Hotel Casa de agua en Granada.
I have to say that the place is in a very good location, just one block from the main plaza, city park and la calzada.
The rooms are very spacious, confortable and the AC works very well.
Its very quite at night, our room was in the back so we did not hear any kind of street noise.
Gerry is a great host, he gave us recommendations of where to eat and what to do.
The breakfast was very good, had tons of fruit, good coffee and homemade pancakes.
If you are driving you can park your car in front of the hotel, or if you prefer they can take you to a private parking just a couple of blocks away, you only pay 3 dollars for parking.
Overall, great place to stay where you are in Granada
Thanks so much Gerry for taking care of my family.
Esteban
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from casadel, Owner at Casa Del Agua
Responded 1 Feb 2020
It was a pleasure to be part of your Nicaraguan experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed both your stay with us and had a great Granada adventure. We look forward to you returning again shortly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
josephinerourke wrote a review Mar 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom57 contributions25 helpful votes
Everything about our stay here was perfect.

The hotel is right in the centre of Granada, about 2 minutes walk from where our bus (from Leon) dropped us. Restaurants, bars, cathedrals and the market were all so close by, yet despite staying over a weekend there was no noise to disturb our sleep.

The owner, Gerry, gave us many amazing recommendations, as well as directions around the city, and helped us book trips.

Compared to every other pace we have stayed in our month in Nica the hotel is the most western friendly, with hot water, toilets that you can flush paper and air conditioning.

Breakfast was beautiful, each morning Gerry made pancakes and we were also given fresh fruit and toast.

Use of the communicable kitchen along with fridge for drinks was available, and there was a water filter machine to fill bottles also free.

Nice modern TV in the room with ability to log into Netflix.

Can’t believe the value for money this hotel offers!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try the restaurants suggested by Gerry, you won’t be disappointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from gerald webb, Owner at Casa Del Agua
Responded 24 Nov 2022
We really appreciate your kind words. Hope you recommend Nicaragua to others. Safe travels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leen M wrote a review Aug 2022
Turnhout, Belgium281 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
We stayed one night, but we could have stayed many more. Our boys especially loved the 2 (fairly small) pools. We had a very nice, big room with airco and fans, a warm shower, tv and everything we needed. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast. Very friendly and helpful owner and staff. We would stayed here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from gerald webb, Owner at Casa Del Agua
Responded 24 Nov 2022
Thank you for choosing us. Safe travels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kendall c wrote a review Jun 2020
Lauderdale Lakes, Florida1 contribution
I showed up without booking a room at 3am & they were the only hotel open. The owner was great and very informative. He broke down the history of Nicaragua and the USA. He makes an amazing breakfast as well. You won’t be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from gerald webb, Owner at Casa Del Agua
Responded 20 Sept 2021
Thank for taking the time to write. We appreciate your contribution.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dcsv2018 wrote a review Jan 2023
Pretoria, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful colonial house ideally located at the very center of Granada. Irish owner and local staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you for the interesting chats, Jerry. Keep going with the good job, and hopefully see you again. Special mention to "Taxi Pedro" who made our trip to Ometepe possible.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
grahame M wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
Thanks for a great visit. Always a treat !!! I have stayed there about 20 times in the last 10 years. Super handy location. Always clean and secure. Owner & Staff are friendly, courteous and keen to help out.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunny P wrote a review Aug 2014
Los Angeles, California17 contributions27 helpful votes
I'm quite confused about all these positive reviews of Casa del Agua. My boyfriend and I stopped by on our vacation through Nicaragua and found the rooms to be filthy and the swimming pool to be the size of a bathtub. This place also smelled of chemicals while the noise from the traffic outside was astounding. We had one quick look at our room and decided to stay somewhere more comfortable and clean, and quiet.

Gerry was a little bristly with us when we wanted to leave but became nicer once we paid him for our committed stay. We're not precious travelers but this place was too dirty, loud and uncomfortable for us when all we wanted was some peace and comfort. Also, the staff here seemed unhappy and unwelcoming.

It's too bad because a lot could be done to make this property nicer since it's in the center of Granada but I understand that Casa del Agua is a place for budget travelers, like us, but we also value peace, comfort and cleanliness.

We certainly wish we had a better experience like the rest of the reviewers here. We only chose to stay at Case del Agua based on the great reviews and photos on TripAdvisor, but unfortunately we didn't have the same amazing time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This place is pretty noisy due to direct outside traffic, and inside as well.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from casadel, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Del Agua
Responded 14 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review. We do hope this response will be helpful in clearing up your confusion. Your boyfriend & you didn't "stop by" as you had a reservation or "committed stay", with us for 2 nights. We note from reading your profile that your favorite place to stay was at Tribal. Please note that their pool was constructed by our pool company and our bathtub is of the same dimensions. These dimensions are the norm for traditional colonial houses. We read that your 2 hotel stays in Granada were at Tribal & Plaza Colon, which are very fine establishments and that you consider them, at a rate over $100 per night, as budget travel. This is an OK budget for you,and people like Paris Hilton and the Kardashins. However, we at Casa del Agua have proudly served "our" people which come from all walks of life in the USA incl, Politicians, military & emergency service personnel, sports stars, farmers, construction, vet & medical students as well as hard working volunteers.People that give their lives effortlessly to reshape your wonderful country, & have also, contributed in building ours. We also see that this is your first visit out of your country. Here's a tip: official information of our guesthouse is displayed on our official website. All other social media such as facebook, yelp & trip Advisor may contain inaccuracies as it is based on the opinions of others & not written by us. As regards to both the noise inside and outside of the house, you are the 1st person in over 200 reviews to remark on this. What is even more remarkable is that you never actually stayed with us to have this experience! (This was confusing to us to, but we cleared it up with our CCTV coverage of you entering and leaving with your luggage on the same day & we can clarify that you did not stay). To clear up your confusion and to get to the core of what this review is, is as follows: You ordered a taxi collection from the airport & you were a no show, you reserved a room for the same night and you were a no show, when you dropped by the following day you cancelled your reservation for that day. These are a breach contract of the terms & conditions which you received on your reservation email from us. Under the heading "All reservations are subject to the same terms & conditions as of our reservation site at Hostelworld." The truth is you became disgruntled and refused to pay your no show and cancellation fees. Eventually, we offered you a lawyer to represent you as we had decided that our only remaining course of action was to call the police. We do thank you for your payment to us & our independent taxi service also convey their thanks for your eventual payment.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edward d wrote a review Sept 2019
16 contributions12 helpful votes
I booked a room through Booking.com. It was advertised that it had parking. I have a very special and expensive motorcycle that I will not park on the street. When I arrived a young girl answered the door. When I inquired about the parking I was told it was only on the street and that they had a guard. Period. Having lived in Central America 16 years I know how useless those guards are so I decided not to stay there. I had paid in advance. The hotel proceeded to enter into prolonged arguments with me and with the clear intention of keeping my payment. She explained that they had off street parking that I would have to pay for but this was hours after I had already checked in to a different hotel with free secured parking so it was a pointless argument. I was very disappointed with this experience and would advise caution when dealing with them.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from casadel, Owner at Casa Del Agua
Responded 25 Sept 2019
You haven't paid in advance of your stay with us. However, now we will charge you for your no stay with us. Secondly, our night time security is safe and secure, and with over 10 years of reviews, not 1 review has claimed any damage to their vehicles! (not all Latin American countries are unsafe). Booking, make it clear that we offer both on street car park or a private car park near by, which we offer our guests either options.This was also, mentioned to you in a confirmation email sent to you in advance by us. (we are not responsible for your illiteracy problem). Thanks for the money!! Good luck!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miki L wrote a review May 2017
London, United Kingdom28 contributions35 helpful votes
Great location, great pool, very comfortable, quiet, oh did I say great pancakes, excellent coffee, cheap, good info and altogether really decent place. Stayed for a few days with family and loved itS. As others have said found it v hard to get the kids away from the pancakes and our of the pool!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from gerald w, Owner at Casa Del Agua
Responded 3 May 2018
Thanks for letting everyone know about the pancakes..the new vain of my life!! It was our pleasure to have you and thanks for your kind comments
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
coolerchick wrote a review Feb 2015
Vancouver, Canada41 contributions17 helpful votes
This small hotel with a pool is in a great location, close to everything. Has kitchen, coffee in the morning, cold beer available. Jerry is quite helpful with arranging taxis and restaurant suggestions. The only drawback is it could use a really good cleaning!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from gerald w
Granada, Nicaragua45 contributions3 helpful votes
Life's normal, despite main stream news reports. Travel warnings have left the country bereft of tourism, which has being a downer on the people as many jobs depend on the tourist industry. And an estimated 60k plus peo ppl le have been forced by these policies to seek jobs in neighbouring countries. Regards Nicaragua, it's as safe and secure as it always was. We yes, we would DC love to welcome you back..especially with delicious real Canadian maple syrup!
ChristyInFortWorth asked a question Oct 2017
Fort Worth, Texas9 contributions8 helpful votes
How much is the shuttle from the airport?
Answer from gerald w
Granada, Nicaragua45 contributions3 helpful votes
$40
Show all answers
Answer from Zach B
Michigan7 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed in the balcony room above the pool it has two beds in it. We paid 60 bucks for the night. I believe it is 50 without air conditioning. We booked it through hostelworld website
Show all answers
Answer from gerald w
Granada, Nicaragua45 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes, we try to help all our customers & we can move your luggage for where ever you require. All our rooms come with a/c as optional. If you contact us via our website, there are other rooms that might be more comfortable without requiring you to climb stairs. Gracias
Show all answers
Answer from gerald w
Granada, Nicaragua45 contributions3 helpful votes
Lamentamos que estamos completamente reservado para las fechas que ha solicitado. un cordial saludo
john s wrote a tip Jan 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
"All rooms appear to be great. The place is quiet at night, too."
Read full review
josephinerourke wrote a tip Mar 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom57 contributions25 helpful votes
"Try the restaurants suggested by Gerry, you won’t be disappointed."
Read full review
Asia P wrote a tip Apr 2018
9 contributions
"We stayed in the "triple room" which has the best view and only balcony!"
Read full review
ciaran77 wrote a tip Mar 2018
Galway, Ireland30 contributions11 helpful votes
"The rooms at the front are gorgeous, but have a lot of early morning street noise with the traders making their way to Parque Central."
Read full review
pennykg wrote a tip Feb 2018
Managua, Nicaragua23 contributions6 helpful votes
"Balcony room is the best!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Granada area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 188 - RM 207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
casa del agua hotel granada
LOCATION
NicaraguaGranada DepartmentGranada
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Casa Del Agua Guesthouse Reviews, Granada

Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Del Agua
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Del Agua?
Nearby attractions include Catedral de Granada (0.1 km), ChocoMuseo Granada (0.4 km), and Parque Colón de Granada (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Del Agua?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Casa Del Agua?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Del Agua?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tostometro Granada Nicaragua, Pan De Vida - Granada, and Bocadillos - Tapas Kitchen & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa Del Agua?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Casa Del Agua located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Granada.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casa Del Agua?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Casa Del Agua?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Railway Station (0.3 km) and Fortaleza La Polvora (0.6 km).