We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Treehouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Treehouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Treehouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 147: English reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

Definitely recommended despite old (poor) reviews -- the hostel is under new management with a new owner and all the new staff seem really inspired to make positive changes! My boyfriend and I arrived the morning after the staff had hosted 50+ people for their full-moon-party and it was STILL clean and fully functioning, even though we were the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
Siona S, Manager at The Treehouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Alison, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We have not owned Poste Rojo for very long but are working very hard to ensure that we bring it back to its full potential.

Reviewed 15 April 2015

We spent a night in the hammocks here and it delivered everything promised. After arriving we grabbed a cold drink and chilled in the hammocks for a while before we were intrerupted by a passing group of monkeys. We were then treated to a beautiful sunset before a beer in the bar/restaurant/chilling area. One of the volunteers whipped up an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Siona S, Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your great review Andrew, it means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! :-)

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Poste Roje is an awesome place to get away from the main travel route and enjoy nature. The staff is very nice and there is a relax atmosphere. We first booked a private room but because of some nightly visitors like a huge spider we decided to move to the hammock area which is way nicer anyway! You actually stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
Siona S, Manager at The Treehouse, responded to this review

Hi Linda, Thanks for the lovely review - so glad you enjoyed your stay. We have very recently taken ownership of Poste Rojo so it's great to see that we are doing a good job! If you're ever in the area please come back for a visit :-) P.S. We are currently giving the private rooms a refresh - it...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Poste Rojo is under new management and I think the new direction is a good one. The treehouse is beautiful and fun, but may be a little too rugged for those who need prefer air conditioning and 5 star amenities. but if you are looking for an unforgettable experience of the Nicaraguan cloud forest, don't hesitate! My fellow guests and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucas K
Siona-Poste_Rojo, Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

Hi Lucas, stoked you had a good time and that our efforts as new owners so far are not going unnoticed! Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 31 March 2015 via mobile

My favorite secret hidden spot in Nicaragua. We all fell in love in and with this tree house and it was thee best night I've had ever! Such a great experience in the coolest place! Just imagine literally a tree house, then chuck some monkeys in there, a hanging bridge, the most incredible private (open) room ever, complete isolation and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chelsman
Siona-Poste_Rojo, Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

You're right, Poste Rojo is such a special place, glad you could be a part of it and that you made some happy memories. :-)

British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 27 March 2015

I hate to give this place such a bad review because it has so much potential, and I've heard from past guests that is was amazing. My rating is just based on my experience though. I enjoy the outdoors and I didnt expect this place to be the comfiest or cleanest because of its location. You don't go to a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank markfromcanadaeh
Siona-Poste_Rojo, Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

Hello Mark, First, let me start by saying I'm so sorry you had a bad experience. You are right, Poste Rojo has a lot of potential. The first thing you need to know is that Poste Rojo has very recently changed ownership (mid-March) and we are working very hard to make the most of that potential you so rightly saw....

Reviewed 25 March 2015 via mobile

The treehouse is just an amazing place! If you are in Granada you should definetely stay at least one night in this awesome hostel. It's very familiar, the staff is always there for you and John the owner will even give you a little private concert as he is a singer :-) we actually wanted to stay only one night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helena R
Siona-Poste_Rojo, Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

Helena! So glad you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 March 2015 via mobile

We loved the treehouses. It's a short hike when you get there but it's definitely worth it. The views are beautiful and the environment is super relaxed and friendly. The kitchen is also very well equipped and they have produce you can buy. Advice is to bring lots of groceries as it's a hassle to leave and go into town....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank v j
Siona-Poste_Rojo, Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your review v j, we're glad you had a good time with us! :-)

Reviewed 4 February 2015

Beer is more here than anywhere else in the country. For dinner we were given a typical nica breakfast: eggs plantains and Gallo pinto for 120c Lastly the monkeys howl all night long. Don't stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank James O
PosteRojoMan, Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

I am actually laughing. THIS IS THE BEST REVIEW EVER. I wish Trip Advisor would let me call guests morons but unfortunately we don't live in a perfect world. In a perfect world someone would read the word Treehouse, see the ads with pictures of monkeys and jungle, then maybe realize there might be animals around. I'm really sorry the...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Staying in the "jungle" and sleeping on a hammock is a pretty cool experience! This place is cool, but some few things need to be improved. First with the positives points: - Relatively close to Granada (20 mins with the shuttle), so it's not totally out of the way and doesn't take 4 hours to get there - Also very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cynthia T
PosteRojoMan, Owner at The Treehouse, responded to this review

Ok I can see your complaints as valid. Our family meals are generally great. Sometimes it is hard to judge how much to cook when people show up very late. The hammock deck will never be closed. We don't provide heated rooms. It is Central America. We left everything open because people enjoy nature not because it is incomplete. For...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
10.3 km away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
10.1 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#5 of 42 in Granada
944 reviews
12.1 km away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 3 in Isletas de Granada
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#11 of 42 in Granada
171 reviews
9.9 km away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#12 of 42 in Granada
395 reviews
10.7 km away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 42 in Granada
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come find, us hidden in the trees in the Nicaraguan jungle... The Treehouse is a hostel located just 10 km. (15 Minutes) from Granada, Nicaragua and only 2 km. From the trail to the Volcano Mombacho. Expect rustic natural surroundings, an amazing place with wonder views, comfortable habitation and excellent food and drink. There are incredible opportunities to view unique wildlife, enjoy an upbeat atmosphere and affordable prices. Located on the road to Naindaime it is a "must see" stop on the way to Rivas, San Juan del Sur or Ometepe. There is a 150 meter climb to reach our secret spot. So bring some suitable footwear & if you are not fit for hiking, stay at home ;) ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Treehouse

Address: KM 57.5 Carrera Granada Nandaime | Comarca Poste Rojo, Granada 44300, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Price Range: RM71 - RM71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Treehouse Poste Rojo Hotel Granada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Treehouse staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Treehouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The private treehouse bunk!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles dharmas_12, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs and a facemask; keep your valuable belongings close”
 of 5 bubbles jbak_worldtrvlr, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Hammocks should really be the only option..”
 of 5 bubbles 167kimp, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Sleep in the hammocks, especially the two private ones in the treehouse.”
 of 5 bubbles derekm536, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Stay for only $5 a night if you sleep in a hammock or in a tent and they might even give you a private room to store your stuff in for free!”
 of 5 bubbles LaurenLeilani, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5