We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Colonial

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Colonial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Showing 472: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2015

The Colonial is slap-bang in the middle of the buzzy colonial city of Grenada. While it lacks a nice frontage with veranda and chairs, like the Alhambra opposite, it concentrates instead on three smart interior courtyards. These are immensely attractive, festooned with both original art and bougainvillea, and two of the courtyards have small swimming pools, a blessed relief in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pausanias
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Without hotel reservations, we came into the city of Granada on Ash Wednesday during an annual International Poet gathering for the week. We found Hotel Colonial and were immediately welcomed warmly by the staff and owner of the hotel. Much to our delight, our room had a nice balcony sitting area and was overlooking one of the pools with its...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shelley0h
hotelcolonialgranada, Director de Recepción at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and for your very nice comment about us in Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the room and its amenities, our breakfast and location. You certainly have made friends here that well be glad to see you return. We hope you and friends can come and stay with us...

Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2015

This hotel is in a great location just off the main square and is a really pretty hotel set around courtyards with 2 small swimming pools. Service at reception and breakfast were really good and breakfast was huge! Only drawback is that, because it's an old building, some of the rooms are a bit dark but the charm of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katejcarr
hotelcolonialgranada, Director de Recepción at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time and writing such a great comment to us. We really feel very grateful and happy that you enjoyed our huge breakfast and service. Please return and stay with us again in the future. Thank you! Regards, Laura Acevedo Hotel Colonial Granada

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 23 February 2015

The hotel has a wonderful location, and the staff is very friendly and understand and speak English. I was very pleasantly surprised that they had both BBC World and CNN among the TV channels. The room is old-fashioned, but clean. My airconditioner did not work properly so I woke up to lots of water on the floor, and I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ingeborg56
hotelcolonialgranada, Director de Recepción at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for making a comment on Trip Advisor. We are deeply sorry that you had this unfortunate situation in the room. We certainly try to keep all our a/c well maintained and working properly. Unfortunately we couldn't anticipate this this water leakage but as soon as you let us know we immediately...

Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

-staff spoke decent English and were helpful -room #5 is right across from the bar and didn't feel private unless the curtains were drawn -AC worked well -the two swimming pools were always empty when we went out to lounge or swim, and the swim up bar was never open! :/ -awesome location, right by the central park and close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
hotelcolonialgranada, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing us a comment on trip advisor, we value very much your opinion. Its great you had the 2 pools all to yourself the times you went, all guest can visit them anytime between 8am to 8pm. The Bar and Pool Bar is open From 2pm until 10pm but in case a guest...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 21 February 2015

we came to this hotel part of a group visiting Granada that stayed elsewere and we were very surprise to get such a great room in this very good hotel. The group was jealous of our room .if you visit this hotel go past the lobby and you see a great hotel.A good thing for this hotel some costumer come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisp967
hotelcolonialgranada, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm glad you liked your room very much and our wonderful staff. We hope you return to visit us again ! Best regards, Laura Acevedo Hotel Colonial Granada

NH
Reviewed 20 February 2015

In years past, I've stayed at the Alhambra, Casa Vivaldi, Casa Barcelona and two smaller places. This year, I decided to try a new place - Hotel Colonial, and am very glad I did. The friend who was to accompany me was ill the day of travel; I'd booked a double, so emailed reception that morning to request a single...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank parrotheadnica
hotelcolonialgranada, Director de Recepción at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comment about us! So happy to hear we are your new Favorite Hotel! Very flattered and happy. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast, pool and services and the ride we got you, our guests satisfaction is our number one priority and we will help in all we can . We hope to see you...

St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 19 February 2015

The perfect location for visiting Granada. How could someplace be so quiet and tranquil but be in the hub of the activity! My husband treated me to a stay in room 37 and it delivered a perfect room for our anniversary, complete with a jucuzzi tub. Overlooking one of two pools we couldn't resist having a swim after dinner.....heaven! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nunnys_1_girl
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time and writing a comment about us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our 2 swimming pools, bar and restaurant for breakfast. Actually Room 37 is one of our favorite Jacuzzi Suites ! We are glad you had a great anniversary and we hope you return to celebrate the...

Asbury Park, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 February 2015

Our usual hotel in Granada was full so I chose Hotel Colonial. They were family friendly, had a pool and a bar. Those are our main requirements. The hotel is adjacent to the main square so the location is excellent. We had rooms 25 & 26 on the third floor. Spacious, clean and even had a balcony. This hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JeannieStu
hotelcolonialgranada, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Jeannie Thank you for your wonderfull comment about us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our rooms and facilities. To us all our guest are very special and unique, this is why we enjoy and love our jobs very much. Thank you again and i hope you can stay here again in your next visit. Regards, Laura...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Great location, accessible to restaurants, tour, shopping. Nice atmosphere, clean/comfortable rooms and friendly /knowledgeable staff. No complaints at all....... This is second time staying at the Colonial and would not stay anywhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
hotelcolonialgranada, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Dawn, Thank you very much for taking the time and writing a great comment. We are gratefull for your preference in staying here above the many hotels in the city. We hope to have you retur soon to beautifull Granada. Regards, Laura Acevedo Hotel Colonial Granada

246 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
993 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
665 reviews
0.6 km away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 43 in Granada
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
7.6 km away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
319 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#10 of 43 in Granada
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Price Range: RM399 - RM660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Colonial staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Colonial staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cannot comment as we didn't visit the other rooms but all look AOK”
 of 5 bubbles W1139NYpaulk, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 27 has a larger outdoor balcony area but is 3 flights of stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles livingtheo, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I upgraded to a king bed and got a room in the back which is quieter and on the 2nd floor. There are no elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles 808josephg, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Third floor has great views but steep stairs to climb”
 of 5 bubbles BeachFront2015, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“First floor was great for us but no views our of windows available.”
 of 5 bubbles macraw4d13, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5