We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 146: English reviews
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon check in we were told they didn't have the room ( a suite w/kitchen non-smoking) was not available. We accepted the same type smoking room. Did not smell smoke, but the had a "horrible smell" , wall paper peeling in every room, closet door fell off when we tried to open it, the kitchen was gross. We went back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mel55138
Cobbs Creek, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family stayed here Christmas eve to have a place where everybody could get to from out of state and although the room was clean and in good shape, the fact that there were numerus people hanging around this place that were in the lobby, and walk way between the buildings up to no good. My daughter saw various drug...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mmckee52
Chesterfield, South Carolina
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I just checked out this morning and this was the worst hotel I've stayed in! My family was the only one staying in the construction side of the hotel. The TV was broken, the wallpaper was peeling, and I was bitten by ticks multiple nights! This was my first and last time at this hotel! On a lighter note the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robertpitts90
Salisbury, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I don't know how the health department hasn't shut this place down yet! We were in our room for 10 min before going downstairs to immediately check out. The lobby is pretty but DECEIVING! Upon walking in, it smells damp and dirty. As we walked the hall toward our room, we noticed that EVERY SINGLE door plate lock was broken...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bcsinger25
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 26 September 2016

My family and I have stayed at this hotel several times---so, while it certainly is not the newest or best hotel in town, it definitely serves its purpose at an outstanding price...clearly, we've like it enough to returned here on multiple occasions. The hotel has been around for quite some time (it was once a very fancy Ramada back in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMB1209
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

On Behalf of the entire staff here at Point Plaza I would like to that you for that awesome review. As the hotel is an older property we do take pride in keeping rooms and walk ways clean and safe for all guest. This help the staff feel as if their hard work is noticed and this will be a...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I arrived with a party of 5 and was downgraded to a double due to a water leak. We were never notified prior to arrival about the issue. There was no space for a roll out bed so we just made do for 4 nights. The hotel was dirty and rundown. It resembled more of a motel. They have roaches...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabeth A
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Newport News as we brought a student back to CNU late at night. When we arrived we were given vague directions on how to get to our room. The lighting is so poor on the outside we had to go back to front desk to find our room. The outside rooms are for long staying customers. This...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I booked a suite for my family of 5. Got there to be assigned a double room on the first floor near the lobby. I was told that the hotel had a flooding that resulted in a low number of suites available and that someone was suppose to contact me prior to my arrival, but they never did. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maddy D
Reviewed 8 August 2016

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend as we were in the area for a large Softball tournament. We arrived late Friday evening and when we got to our room it was not the cleanest and smelled. The cabinet that held the TV was broken so the TV kept sliding out in the middle of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leslie M
Waldorf, Maryland
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Very nice hotel with a very customer service staff that will accommodate the guest in a very professional manner. I enjoyed the first floor room with easy access to the front lobby and the side door to enter my room. Free breakfast is always good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allen M

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport News hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
2.1 km away
Jameson Inn & Suites
Jameson Inn & Suites
#13 of 38 in Newport News
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Mulberry Inn and Plaza at Fort Eustis
4.8 km away
Courtyard Newport News Airport
Courtyard Newport News Airport
#5 of 38 in Newport News
229 reviews
4.3 km away
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
#7 of 38 in Newport News
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Address: 950 J. Clyde Morris Boulevard, Newport News, VA 23601
Region: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range: RM245 - RM334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Plaza Hotel Newport News
Point Plaza Hotel And Conference
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room that doesn't have access directly to the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles mmckee52, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any room is a very good choice”
 of 5 bubbles AllenM540, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Is there any?”
 of 5 bubbles L2212ILvaleries, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room on the 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles KatNMan223, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“4th floor is where all the king beds are”
  • Picture of the window frame broken
 of 5 bubbles gingerannlanier, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay