We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Front desk staff was great. Housekeeping need to learn how to clean. Bathroom floors were dirty and need to use a mop. Had to request new linen because it looks like the just made the bed and did not put on clean sheets. Toilet did not work properly and sink was very slow to drain. Keep in mind we paid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dfost88
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us. Thank you for bringing the issues you had to my attention. We take pride in our property and want our guest happy while being here. We are under new ownership and are working really hard with upgrading our property. .I am...

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Very old and run down. TV's were 20+ years old. The rooms smelled musty and old. There were holes in the blankets. Staff was very friendly and nice. They were helpful and this is no reflection on them. Just poor management. There were also a lot of seedy people staying at this place, so it didn't feel very safe either,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hrdorfm
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us at Point Plaza Suites. We appreciate any feed back we receive from our guest. I apologize for the problems you had with your blankets and the smell of your room. We in the planning process of upgrades to our property. We...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 June 2016

When we arrived to our room, it was so outdated. The tub was dingy and we had a fat-back TV! What year is this place stuck in! The pool was always crowded with a bunch of kids. The cable went out late saturday, thankfully we were checking out sunday but it was frustrating. Breakfast was delicious: Eggs, sausage and CHEESE...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatNMan223
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us. We apologize for the issues with the cable while you stayed with us. The pool is always a favorite at Point Plaza Suites because its so large and the guest are always enjoying it! I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast!...

Nags Head, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We gave them a 2nd chance since we needed somewhere to stay on a Saturday night. I would have rated them Good, if it was an option. The entrance, as always, is impressive and the clerks were very friendly. Our room was on the 4th floor and unfortunately, upon exiting the elevators, we were hit with 92 degrees of blowing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wyttigr
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Cheap hotel. Nasty, moldy smell in lobby. Rooms stale smelling. Room A/C didn't work in 70 degree humid Newport News, simply because the cord couldn't reach the wall outlet and front desk could not provide a surge protector to extend cord to wall. There are no nice hotels in NN besides Residence Inn....spend the extra $$ and enjoy a pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary C
chesapeake, United States
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I had scheduled a stay at this hotel for Friday 04082016, but had to cancel . i completed my cancellation on 04/07/2016 a day before the cancellation deadline. Imagine my suprise when I noted having my credit card charged 04/11/2016 for a one night stay. All attempts at this point have not resulted in me getting my money back. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn J
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. I apologize for the issues you had with your credit card and cancellation. I will look into this immediately for you, if you can call me directly, I can look your information up in our system and correct this. Again, I apologize for this issue.

Cheshire, Connecticut
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

I drove up a bit skeptical. It does look a little run down on the outside. However, I went inside and the gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant! By accident, I was placed in a smoking room (incredibly smokey) and I had to call to request a change. He informed me there were no king beds available (which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kemorrissey
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your upgraded suite. Thank you for bring the other items to my attention. We hope when you are back in the Newport News area, you will stay with us again.

Ashland, Kentucky
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Our room was in the front and on second floor with no elevator. Thank goodness we didn't have much luggage on our 3 night stay. Staff was nice for the most part. The road noise kept me awake at night. Hair dryer in my room didn't work. We found a few rather large bugs. The beds were ok. Not great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank luvmytwiinz
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your stay with us. I apologize for the problems you had while being here. We take pride in our property and want to make sure everyone is happy. Again, I apologize you were not happy while staying here and we hope you can give us...

Lexington, VA
Reviewed 14 March 2016

I stayed here because I was attending a conference held here. I arrived the night before for 2 nights. Checkin was a breeze, no problems at all. I was on the 4th floor of the hotel section. Appears there are 2 sections, one interior rooms for hotel guests, and another area with exterior doors, more for weekly rentals. As I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gingerannlanier
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us at Point Plaza Suites. I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention. I hope that the next time you are in our area, you will stay with us again! Yours in Hospitality, Kelli L General Manager

Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Cons: This hotel was cheap in every way. The room smelled stale and weird. The drain took forever to clear in both the shower and sink. The didn't have my reservation in their computer when we checked in or out. The pool is weird and green and the whole area clearly wasn't cleaned in some time. Pros: Staff was nice....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan M
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued hotel guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us. I apologize for the issues you had during your stay and we are working on getting this fixed immediately. Thank you again for letting me know.

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport News hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
2.1 km away
Jameson Inn & Suites
Jameson Inn & Suites
#13 of 40 in Newport News
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Mulberry Inn and Plaza at Fort Eustis
4.8 km away
Courtyard Newport News Airport
Courtyard Newport News Airport
#5 of 40 in Newport News
224 reviews
4.3 km away
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
#7 of 40 in Newport News
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Address: 950 J. Clyde Morris Boulevard, Newport News, VA 23601
Region: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range: RM228 - RM330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Plaza Hotel Newport News
Point Plaza Hotel And Conference
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room is a very good choice”
 of 5 bubbles AllenM540, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Is there any?”
 of 5 bubbles L2212ILvaleries, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room on the 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles KatNMan223, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“4th floor is where all the king beds are”
  • Picture of the window frame broken
 of 5 bubbles gingerannlanier, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“1st floor pool, exercise room, and laundry.”
 of 5 bubbles BLParker, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay