We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Ashland, Kentucky
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Our room was in the front and on second floor with no elevator. Thank goodness we didn't have much luggage on our 3 night stay. Staff was nice for the most part. The road noise kept me awake at night. Hair dryer in my room didn't work. We found a few rather large bugs. The beds were ok. Not great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank luvmytwiinz
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your stay with us. I apologize for the problems you had while being here. We take pride in our property and want to make sure everyone is happy. Again, I apologize you were not happy while staying here and we hope you can give us...

Lexington, VA
Reviewed 14 March 2016

I stayed here because I was attending a conference held here. I arrived the night before for 2 nights. Checkin was a breeze, no problems at all. I was on the 4th floor of the hotel section. Appears there are 2 sections, one interior rooms for hotel guests, and another area with exterior doors, more for weekly rentals. As I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gingerannlanier
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us at Point Plaza Suites. I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention. I hope that the next time you are in our area, you will stay with us again! Yours in Hospitality, Kelli L General Manager

Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Cons: This hotel was cheap in every way. The room smelled stale and weird. The drain took forever to clear in both the shower and sink. The didn't have my reservation in their computer when we checked in or out. The pool is weird and green and the whole area clearly wasn't cleaned in some time. Pros: Staff was nice....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan M
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued hotel guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us. I apologize for the issues you had during your stay and we are working on getting this fixed immediately. Thank you again for letting me know.

Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

New management isn't much better I had a house keeper walk up to me and tell me I was trying to get her fired and started arguing with me. Housekeeping was just rude I've been here a month and I'm thinking about moving

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal H
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crystal, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about our hotel. I apologize for the issues you had with housekeeping. I will definitely speak with our housekeeping department about this. We appreciate and value you and hope you will stay with us. Please let me know if there is something more I can assist you...

North Carolina
Reviewed 20 January 2016

I had read the reviews before booking this hotel. I knew some earlier reviews weren't very good, but I also knew they were under new management. We had a great stay, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The room was clean, smelled nice and very comfortable. Often when we return from a hotel stay, I have to wash all our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lpt41
Kelli L, Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for taking time out to write such a nice review of our hotel! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are working very hard at getting our hotel back to a full service hotel. Our staff is very excited about all of our changes that are happening and...

Nags Head, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 January 2016

When entering the building, you get a great feeling for this hotel, then you get to your room. It was clean, but I'm guessing they have a problem with sheets, since they do not fit the beds and the bed I slept on, the sheets were inside out. The pillows were lumpy and very uncomfortable. They have old box tvs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wyttigr
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Point Plaza Suites. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you faced while staying with us. We take pride in our property and will make sure these problems are corrected. We would like to redeem ourselves to you. The next time you are in the Newport...

Newport News, Virginia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I recently stayed at this hotel and they are making new renovations. They are upgrading their furniture and televisions. Point Plaza has also changed their whole breakfast menu to an actual full breakfast. I hated to have to leave, their beds are really comfortable. The manager also stated that they will be opening the dining area as well, which would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BLParker
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review for Point Plaza. We take pride in our property and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again! Thank you again for write a review! Yours in Hospitality, Kelli Lantz General Manager

Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

I stayed here recently and loved it. The staff is wonderful. The hotel is decorsted beautifully for the holidays. The suite I booked for the night was beyond amazing. Check in was quick and leaving the next morning included warm farewells from the hotel manager. I will most definitely stay here again and recommend family/friends to reserve accommodations when they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacci M
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacci, Thank you very much for your kind note and for highlighting our service. We spend a lot of time on special training's to optimize personalized service and selection of talents. Therefor, its a pleasure to see that you enjoyed the encounters with our team. We will certainly recognize our team for making you stay memorable. Thanks and all...

Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

Point plaza is very comfortable and accommodating. They have a huge pool and fulfilling breakfast. I've stayed in the weekly rooms and the regular rooms; they are both spacious and worth every penny. B. Parker

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryant P
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our property and our goal is to establish and maintain relationships with our guests. Please let me know when you are ready to come back and visit us and will be glad to make your...

Brockton
Reviewed 25 October 2015

This hotel is horrible! we booked 5 rooms as we were here on a church conference, I checked the pictures and the reviews, but was surprised when I entered! There are stains on the rug as you enter, stains on the carpet throughout, a musty odor in the rooms and in the hallways my niece who is asthmatic, started having...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leslie H

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport News hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
2.1 km away
Jameson Inn & Suites
Jameson Inn & Suites
#13 of 38 in Newport News
178 reviews
4.3 km away
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
#7 of 38 in Newport News
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
0.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South
1.4 km away
Newport News Marriott at City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Address: 950 J Clyde Morris Blvd, Newport News, VA 23601-1004
Region: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range: RM279 - RM452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Plaza Hotel Newport News
Point Plaza Hotel And Conference
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room that doesn't have access directly to the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles mmckee52, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any room is a very good choice”
 of 5 bubbles AllenM540, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Is there any?”
 of 5 bubbles L2212ILvaleries, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room on the 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles KatNMan223, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“4th floor is where all the king beds are”
  • Picture of the window frame broken
 of 5 bubbles gingerannlanier, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5