We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 329: English reviews
Maryland
Reviewed 16 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P5775ERsusanl
CISNN, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Reviewed 3 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny Ic L
CISNN, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Newport News, Virginia
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I love this hotel, it's always clean, comfortable, well lit, and I love the air conditioning. The pool is always great and the fitness room as well. It has vending machines and a great breakfast in the morning. Checking in and out is easy and fast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 528keithr
CISNN, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area! Thanks again,...

Easton, Maryland
Reviewed 7 September 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samnfriends
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Fredericksburg, United States
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Not good at all. Room and bathroom was dirty, & stained, bugs in shower. Look really old, and need lots of work. Not good. Not good. Ac did not work right. not good. Hotel need to be updated. Not good at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanda L
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Wanda, I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your visit with us. We are planning on major renovations this fall, and in the mean time I have been working with the housekeeping staff to make sure that they correct the issues that we can prior to renovations. I hope that you decide to stay with us again, I...

Jacksonville,NC, United States
Reviewed 12 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lacy L
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Falls Church, United States
Reviewed 8 August 2016

The staff is awful. They did nothing to help. We had to ask for towels both days. And they were grudging given to us. The room smelled so bad we had to buy an air freshener. The room was in disarray. The phone and alarm clock did not work. I went down to complain and the desk clerk was more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth C
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Kenneth, I am very sorry about the issues you experienced during your visit with us. I will work with all the staff to ensure this never happens again. I will be reviewing our policies with the staff and working on retraining them all. Sincerely, Stephen Barger General Manager

Fruitland, Maryland
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Let me start off by saying wshoule have used this hotel several times over the past 6 years and can say it is heading in the wrong direction. Rooms smelled of smoke despite being non smoking hotel. Desk clerk just shrugged his shoulders and said hotel was sold out. Parents stayed in room across from us and had no towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Bob, I am very sorry about the issues you experienced during your visit. We are working hard to correct our issues, and are also planning major renovations this fall that will include new comforters, new mattresses, new carpets, furniture and much more. We are ordering more linens this week. Thank you for your review, I assure you that we are...

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 August 2016

My husband and I travel a lot in summer and we always try to stay at Country Inns and Suites, however this one was such a let down!!! The room was not clean, I wiped cobwebs from the walls, there were not any tissues in the room, we stayed for three nights asked for replacement, the excuse was the "truck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A8863KIpatrickt
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry about the issues that you had during your visit. I will work with the necessary departments to ensure we correct these issues immediately. Sincerely, Stephen Barger General Manager

Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Reviewed 1 August 2016

My family checked into this hotel on Friday evening July 29th for a two night stay. There were 4 towels and 2 wash cloths in the room for a family of 4. We requested additional towels and wash cloths for our stay and received them. Unfortunately while we were out at the beach for the day on Saturday, our towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glr291
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry about the issues you experienced while staying with us. I will work with the housekeeping department to ensure we are fully stocked on linens in the future. Again, my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced, and I hope that you decide to give us another chance in the future! Stephen Barger General Manager

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport News
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
4.4 km away
Courtyard Newport News Airport
Courtyard Newport News Airport
#5 of 40 in Newport News
226 reviews
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn Newport News-Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
7.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Renovated in 2010, the smoke and pet free, 64 rooms and suites provide travelers with comfortable, affordable and value rich lodging in Hampton Roads. All beds feature Serta Perfect Sleeper matresses, rooms have individually controlled thermostats, and hypoallergenic linens to provide a comfortable nights rest. As a mid scale, limited service hotel and located in the heart of Hampton Roads, the Hotel assures guests that room and suite rates remain competitive. With all of the standard amenities of the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson brand guests appreciate the features and services they come to expect such as an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, 24 hour coffee and tea, freshly baked cookies, and complimentary hot breakfast and WiFi.We look forward to hosting your future stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South

Address: 1069 J Clyde Morris Blvd, Newport News, VA 23602-7221
Region: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range: RM288 - RM408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Newport News South
Country Inn & Suites Newport News South Hotel Newport News
Country Inn Newport News
Newport News Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is not any restaurants within walking distance.”
 of 5 bubbles A8863KIpatrickt, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Look at the room before you book”
 of 5 bubbles haroldv960, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Just pick one. They are all " GOOD"”
 of 5 bubbles jamesj894, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“Nice location and friendly staff...”
 of 5 bubbles Twostay, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We had an end room, which only gave us noise from floor above.”
 of 5 bubbles 1Travelerfrom, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay