We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay

Booking.comUS$38*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Norfolk\/Chesapeake Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 318: English reviews
Start your review of Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay
 Click to rate
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The whole room smelled of nasty smoke asked the front desk to fix but never showed up. Cleaners didn't make our beds or leave towels will never stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 273timothyp
Powhatan, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was not clean at all. There was a lipstick drawing on the mirror in the bedroom, there was mold in shower tile grout, the bathroom mirror still had someone else toothbrush splatter on it. The tub looked as if it had never been cleaned. There was no cord for the phone. The door to go into room has...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffreys937
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a good location and price was not bad but the hotel older could use some updating and the house keeping could of at least checked if we needed anything I stayed 5 days no house keeper check on me at all luckily I had my own towels and toilet paper and they need to learn to clean under...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K822SUmariad
Rick P, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience you had during your stay and had talk to housekeeping about the thing you pointed out. hope to see you again.

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 940rosav
Rick P, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review

Norfolk
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Terrible dirty place had to change my room twice decided to leave and they over charged my card $700

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H7921YBthomasc
Rick P, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review

Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. As for the your 3 rooms for 2 nights that was the total and your bank told that they had issue with it and we had call them on the speaker phone in the lobby.

Ocean view, VA.
Reviewed 17 March 2017

It was over all good for me .It was horrible at the motel 6. I just need a bed and bath. Bang for your buck.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patriciacG207ZK
Rick P, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review

Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. Our super 8 is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. Hope to see you again when in the area.

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthewwK3875MG
Rick P, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review

Norfolk
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We stayed in a King suite with separate living area/bedroom and spa bath. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, there were just a few issues-the ceiling was crumbling above the spa tub, the speakers on the tv in the living room did not work, (no volume) and we had to move lamps around due to non working electric...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A874QPnicolew
Rick P, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review

Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated. Our super 8 is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services...

Pensacola, Florida
Reviewed 11 February 2017

I recommend this place to everyone. I made reservations on the 8th to stay four days. I was In Town cause my brother a retired Navy vet was in stage 5 pancreatic cancer. On the second day visiting I got viciously ill. My time with my brother had to abruptly come to an end. I had another family member in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmchampagne8
Rick P, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to put down the review. Hope to see you again in future whenever you are in the area.

Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 27 January 2017

I was not happy when reached the outside building was outdated and they were fixing it, thought to just leave but my friend told me lets try it and if not we will leave but I was happy with the rooms and service my phone was not working they came and fix in like 5min of time and also there...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D5843GDvictoriam
Rick P, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review

Thank you considering the hotel and enjoying your stay, we have updated the front area. Hope to see you again.

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
7.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#23 of 37 in Norfolk
41 reviews
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
5.4 km away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
12.7 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
12.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay

Address: 1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-1316 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: RM211 - RM374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake
Super Eight Norfolk
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I preferred the 2nd floor rooms”
tiandraw, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go any where else”
728maryz, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There aren't any”
  • Dusty, rusty vent
  • More mold in shower
  • Broken lock on dorr
  • Hole in bathroom wall
  • Mold in shower
nancyann0463, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“do not choose this hotel”
pamelalQ8726BS, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side are quieter”
Blondie1313, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$38* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$38
HotelQuicklyUS$51
TravelocityUS$38
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates