We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Millstone at Mellor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Millstone at Mellor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Millstone at Mellor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 415: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Spent a lovely two nights here last weekend with my husband and my parents. A perfect country pub feel with amazing food (at a good price) in a cosy and friendly dining room. There's plenty parking available, although the pub does get really busy and the car park fills up quickly. However, there's plenty on-street parking close by. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PandDW
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your amazing review, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the very near future. Kindest Regards Anson & All at Team Millstone

Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

The breakfast was top class! There is obviously someone with real flair in the kitchen. The room was good- shower didn't get hot and and there was no milk but totally fine apart from that. The bar is great and staff are very friendly. I'll stay again if I'm back this way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calumnies
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your great review, Apologies for the lack of hot water unfortunately we had an issue with one of our boilers which has thankfully been rectified. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone next time your in Sunny Lancashire. Kindest Regards Anson & all at Team Millstone

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015

I stayed here for three nights on business and was very impressed by the professionalism of the staff and the quality of the food and service. The staff to a person were all polite, courteous, attentive and helpful, and they all gave the impression that they wanted to work at the Mellor and help customers. This in my experience is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your great review, we really are fortunate to have such a happy bunch on Local staff on board which make the Millstone tick. If your looking at a return visit please call us direct for the best available rates. Hope to see you soon. Kindest Regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron

Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on dinner bed and breakfast basis on Saturday night. Excellent food, nice room and very professional yet friendly service from booking in to checking out. Few little things make all the difference, like the ground coffee and flask of cold fresh milk in the hotel rooms, decent ales and wines, country house atmosphere, and a top class chef...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colortone
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your Top Class review, we're really glad to be of service and hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kindest Regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015

My husband and I recently stayed at The Millstone for a four night break. We had been once before in 2010 and always meant to go back. It is such a lovely relaxed place to spend a few days. The staff are delightful, the food is delicious and the rooms clean and have everything you need. Nothing is too much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda T
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your 5* review, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope we don't have to wait another 5 years till we welcome you back. Have a great summer Kindest regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Wanted a night away to relax and this was a good choice. The check in was very positive, the room was clean and tidy. The fresh milk and upmarket coffee were a nice touch. The food was first class, much better than normal pub grub and the freshly cooked breakfast was much better than the normal hot pre cooked offerings....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cookiecrew5
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your great review, We're really proud of our Lancastrian hospitality & its really pleasing to see you enjoyed your stay with. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kindest regards Anson & All At Team Millstone

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

we required bed and breakfast,as we had a wedding nearby.I phoned a well known hotel group,but decided to get a price from the millstone......I was instilled with a very positive vibe and confidence from the lady who took my booking!!!! Needless to say we were not disappointed with the room the staff and would love to come back and explore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon c
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your great review, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Have a great summer Kindest Regards Anson & all at Team Millstone

Irvine
Reviewed 19 May 2015

We had intended to stay two nights but due to illness in the family we had to leave at 7 PM on the second day. The service from the friendly staff was excellent, the room was clean and comfortable with everything you would need, we stayed in a ground floor room and slept well in a comfortable bed without any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dominictroon
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for you great review, most unfortunate that you had to leave early but we hope they made a speedy recovery. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone next time your in the area. Kindest regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron

Singapore
Reviewed 11 May 2015

We were almost entirely satisfied by our stay at the Millhouse. We had a family room on the ground floor, not a lot more expensive than the smaller ones upstairs and (judging from less favourable feedback from my cousin, who stayed in one) far nicer and quieter. It was spacious, well decorated with stylish (though not OTT) décor and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoamingNick
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your great review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone next time you're over. Kindest Regards Anson & All at Team Millstone

Fife, Scotland
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed overnight for business and enjoyed my stay. Meal was very good and room comfortable. Room perhaps a on the small side but as stated comfortable and nice large bathroom. Very clean and staff superb, very friendly and approachable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveDastardly
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your great review, we're really enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kindest Regards Anson & All at Team Millstone

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
1.2 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
3.3 km away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
6.8 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
8.9 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
10.6 km away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Price Range: RM411 - RM592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Millstone at Mellor staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Millstone at Mellor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Elma Suite is a treat”
TheresaH33, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues ask for a ground floor room as there is no lift.”
JulieMIreland, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms were lovely,we had three between us, we were there when we had storm Doris but you wouldn't have known it.”
BrownEssexUK, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If stairs present a difficulty ask for a room on the lowest floor”
Davidcollinsheywood, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose another professionally run hotel”
popelli69, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5