We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brackenridge Country Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Brackenridge Country Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Brackenridge Country Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Brackenridge is on the outskirts of Martinborough. Separate cottages well spaced apart . fully maintained and equipped. Warm open fire with lots firewood supplied. Quiet and can have pets by arrangement. Has a Spa and a large indoor lap pool. Also gym and on a par with other major hotel chains, gym is bigger and better equipped. A lovely place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Garry L
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Set in the unmistakably beautiful Wairarapa landscape , surrounded by vineyards. Perfect short trip destination to celebrate the day my gorgeous girl came into existence. Accommodation is good. Could have been a more intimate bathroom and perhaps modesty screening as the market for studio rooms is going to be those getting away for a celebration / stoking the fires. Decided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Morningside4170
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Very impressed with the accommodation and accommodating staff. Made our short stay very enjoyable and relaxing. Lovely for a getaway. Would also recommend for a longer stay. Great spa and treatments, especially the special offers!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FranR14
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Friends took us to Martinborough during our first ever visit to Wellington. Such a great part of the world. Brackenridge has some really cozy cottages with everything you need for a relaxing stay in the countryside. Comfy king beds and the convenience a full kitchen allowed us to cook breakfast ourselves. There is a spa on site now too, which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter D
Pokolbin, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2016

I love Brackenridge Country Retreat!!! Have stayed here lots in the past. This was going to be our last time for quite some time as were relocating overseas so wanted a fix before we departed!! I find the cottages luxurious, cozy, comfy and relaxing. The beds are king size and very comfy. There is everything you need. Its wonderful that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SuzieLock
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2016

We stayed here for some friends' wedding, which was also at this hotel. Our suite was really nice, a cottage with a small kitchen. It was clean and modern and had a really nice sunny patio. We used the gym, pool and spa, which were also very good. The wedding was lovely, the place is an ideal set up for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Woodenowl
BrackenridgeM, Front Office Manager at Brackenridge Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Brackenridge. We are in the process of reviewing our Continental breakfast supplies. Your feedback is most appreciated.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Looking for somewhere peaceful to stay ,accommodation is well equipt for self catering,5 mins from town ,many good wineries in area & attraction handy. Vey well appointed comfortable units of different sizes.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard G
BrackenridgeM, Front Office Manager at Brackenridge Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Brackenridge.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

We headed to the wine festival and stayed for three nights. The location is a good change of head space from Sydney with the cottages providing space and privacy. Recommended for a taste of the country. We had a problem with the stove not working but the issue was quickly resolved

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex C
BrackenridgeM, Front Office Manager at Brackenridge Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the space and privacy that the cottages offer. The stove problem was most unexpected, and we were happy we could resolve the problem as fast as we did. Your feedback is most appreciated.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

I've been to brackenridge around 4 times now and each time the cottages are in a worse state and the service at reception is extremely poor. When you pay over $700 for a weekend I expect the cottage to have a good standard of chattels and be cleaned to a very high standard. Not only were there around 20 dead...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbryan2015
BrackenridgeM, Front Office Manager at Brackenridge Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry your visit was not up to the standard we expect to provide for our guests. Since your visit we have renewed all of the curtains in the cottages and studios. We have also dealt with the insect problem in the cottage you stayed in. We hope you do return to Brackenridge another...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Stayed here over the weekend and the staff were absolutely lovely and definitely the highlight of the accommodation. The setting of the retreat is incredible and the layout and decor of the rooms were very nice. Visited the spa for a facial on the stay and the lady was lovely! Highly recommend this accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 102madison

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
2.0 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
196 reviews
2.9 km away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
124 reviews
32.0 km away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
2.8 km away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
457 reviews
1.6 km away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Brackenridge Country Retreat

Address: White Rock Road RD2, Martinborough 5782, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Price Range: RM461 - RM731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brackenridge Country Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brackenridge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brackenridge Country Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a two bedroom villa. Two bathrooms, very spacious, cool and airy. A great spot.”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The set up is rural, so any of the cottages are great as they are separated by open spaces.”
 of 5 bubbles markshepherd2014, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Each is individual so just depends on the beds needed”
 of 5 bubbles Flyingdoc56, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“the 4 bedroom cottage is great for extended family or a group of friends.”
 of 5 bubbles gerry19592016, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If choosing a studio, try to get one on the end”
 of 5 bubbles 866brigidf, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5