We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Margrain Vineyard Villas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Margrain Vineyard Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Waikanae, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Everything was great. Helpful & informative service & the room fit our needs perfectly. Our tasting at the cellar door was generous & delicious. Super close to everything. Will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarrieEde
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice setting. Good continental breakfast. Be prepared to be disturbed by early morning vineyard tractor etc. did not like te wet room shower, despite trying hard still endd up with very wet floor of wider bathroom. Walkable to town and handy to their own vineyward wine tasting and restaurant. Though summer days, very cold wind and very cold early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alikr2015
Summerland Key, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here two nights in the garden room, and it was nice. The porch area, with the view of the garden and vineyards was beautiful. Inside the room itself, you could here just about everything your neighbor was doing. It also got fairly hot inside the room, and we didn't see any AC available. It's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah f
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good value for money we have spent the last three Christmas holidays here, central to martinborough wine country so if you like your vino this is a great place to come. Rooms are small but come with everything you need, the bed this time however made us consider sleeping on the floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mdggnz
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Stayed here for a weekend to attend a wedding in the area. We booked two units for 2 adults and 3 children, and got the ones right at the end (near the road). They were beautifully furnished and we got breakfast provided. They had a lovely indoor outdoor flow when the weather was fine and we enjoyed our stay immensely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank br0wnkat
Brisbane
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Very pleasant visit. Vicky was very accommodating and helpful. Room was nice and cosy. Wholesome breakfast. Only downside was shower water wasn't hot enough. Free visit to Margrain vineyard was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller146
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your reveiw. It's great that you found our rooms nice and cosy, and were able to enjoy our complimentary wine tasting at our Cellar Door. We hope to see you here again. Thanks, Michelle

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Great comforstable, spacious and well appointed rooms rooms have nice decks with a view over the farm next door very comfortable Very handy to Martinborough walking distance to vineyards we will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, thanks so much for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed our accommodation, and Martinborough. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Thanks, Michelle

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the Verandah Room, not what we expected as viewed pictures of the villas. Disappointing when you drive into the accommodation to find an envelope with your key in it and then have to drive to another place with a printed out map. The fact no one was there on arrival really set the standards as we didn't know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissJones26
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm sorry that you were under the impression that the Gatehouse Verandah Room that you booked was one of our Studio Villas. We have a range of room-types, to suit varied budgets and requirements. I do believe our own website, and other third party booking sites, clearly state...

Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We booked the Garden Room at the Gatehouse, near the cafe and the tasting room and we were not disappointed. We were greeted by a very friendly woman who gave us a map of the area and some information. The room was lovely and warm when we arrived and it had lovely view of the garden and a nice little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your great review! It's wonderful to hear you had such a lovely relaxing stay in our Gatehouse Garden Room. They certainly are popular for their great value and great location right on the vineyard. I'm glad you had the chance to enjoy your complimentary wine tasting at our Cellar Door, and hopefully you'll be able to come...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Sadly we picked what turned out to be a miserably wet and cold weekend to visit Margrain. the manager was welcoming and helpful and the room toasty and warm. As it was one of the higher numbered chalets it was very close to the road and the road noise and lights where noticeable through the night. Light sleepers would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IndyG66
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm so glad you had a cosy and warm stay, despite a wet winter weekend! It's great that you were still able to walk into the Village Square, and that you enjoyed our complimentary in-room continental breakfast. We hope to see you here again soon, and we'll try...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.2 km away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
121 reviews
1.0 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
167 reviews
14.3 km away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Claremont Martinborough
The Claremont Martinborough
#1 of 4 in Martinborough
164 reviews
0.8 km away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
425 reviews
1.2 km away
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Margrain Vineyard Villas

Address: Cnr Ponatahi & Huangarua Rds | PO Box 97, Martinborough, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Price Range: RM369 - RM1,099 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Margrain Vineyard Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Margrain Vineyard Villas staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Margrain Vineyard Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“light sleepers should ask for rooms away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles IndyG66, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Villas, but a free standing villa would be better”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccad989, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The Gatehouses are a better room than the Villas but not as private”
 of 5 bubbles randl24, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room at a different venue”
 of 5 bubbles L33-bee, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Take ear plugs and eye masks! Villas with lower numbers are further away from the road, so it could be worth asking for Villa 1 or 2 when making your booking if road noise is something that keeps you awake.”
  • View of deck, featuring table and chairs
  • Sunset view from deck
  • View across bed, looking towards deck from front door
  • View over fields from deck
  • View from deck
  • Living area
  • Sunlight coming in curtainless windows at 6am
 of 5 bubbles SLKrivan, 21 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay