We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Colonial House Motel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Colonial House Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Colonial House Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We had two nights at this small complex in quiet location near the picturesque Stone Store. Light bright units nicely decorated , owners very easy to deal with ,complimentary beer or wine on arrival nice touch would recommend and stay again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Thank you for the warm welcome. Especially liked the glass of wine and cookies on arrival. Lovely unit with great amenities. Will try the spa bath when I return in the cooler months. Best night's sleep I've had in ages

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 735jenny
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi 735jenny, Thank you for your great review. So glad you slept well - our wonderful new top-of-the-range beds are sooooo comfy. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Take care, Andrea & Alan.

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Very nice motel to stay. Nice friendly service. Rooms tidy and clean and friendly. Andrea and Alan are doing a superb job making you feel at ease. The pool is a good way to refresh after a busy day. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holidaysorwork
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi Holidaysorwork, Your kind review is very much appreciated. We love our workers and really do try to make you feel relaxed and at home at the end of your day. Hope you can visit us again, Andrea & Alan.

Cardiff, UK
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Andrea and Alan were great hosts, nothing too much trouble, the chalet/cabin was spotless, well equipped and very comfortable. The motel is located handily for all the local attractions and the hosts were always available to offer advice on what to see. WiFi was consistent and fast, highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kevin L
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi Kevin L, We are very grateful for your lovely review. We thank you for taking the time and trouble to post about us. We hope you can revisit New Zealand and of course most especially the gorgeous Bay of Islands. Thanks so much for staying with us, Alan & Andrea.

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Lovely warm welcome including cookies and wine was offered too! Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who took the time to talk us through the local area & make suggestions for dinner. Really genuinely lovely people! Rooms are spacious and clean there is a nice relaxed atmosphere, we felt at home instantly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria G
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi Victoria G, Thank you so much for you very kind words and wonderful review. It was our privilege to have you to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the beautiful Bay of Islands. Best always, Andrea & Alan.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Wonderful welcome, helpful hosts!! Nice bathroom, everything we needed. Nice to have plenty of room when staying away from home. Pool was very nice on a hot day. Good location to all Kerikeri has to offer. Would recommend to anyone looking for good value for money in this area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cleo393
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi Cleo393, Thank you so much for the wonderful review but also thank you so much for staying with us at Colonial House! We would love to welcome you back again, Andrea & Alan.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 February 2016

It was best hospitality that we have seen - great stay, helpful owners, a refreshing pool and overall a good value for money. Our family stayed here and loved the place. It had all the things that you need in a room includes a small kitchenette with essential cutlery. The location is easy to find - very quiet and private....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GauravGrover
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi Gaurav, Thank you so much for sharing with us and writing such a super review. We really do try to make your stay a happy one and it is wonderful when this is appreciated. We hope that you and your family will come to visit us again soon. With many thanks and kindest regards, Alan & Andrea.

Antequera, Spain
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights but wouldn't do again. On arrival all seemed ok and the hosts Alan and Andrea are very nice. I got a welcoming glass of wine and a couple of mini bits of shortbread. However upon inspection the carpet hadn't been hoovered, there were ants in the kitchen but most worryingly around the bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tutupointe
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi tutupointe, Where to start? Ants in summer are always a problem, they mostly come looking for water - it's just natural - and they can appear in a flash; that's why we provide a very effective insect spray. On the first day you said you had a problem with WhatsApp– we fixed the problem and left a note for...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 January 2016

I went with my wife and our 3 kids and all the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Everything was so easy. A home away from home, the pool was perfect for doing my laps and for the kids who are still learning to swim. And we could even play backyard cricket, and so close to shops and cafes ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveSheehan69
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi Dave, Your review is very very much appreciated. It is great to see a family laughing, playing and having fun together, especially enjoying our super salt-water pool. Looking forward to your next trip, hopefully in April. With many thanks and very best regards, Alan & Andrea.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 January 2016

The motel is an older style but very comfortable and with a recently renovated bathroom that includes high quality fixtures and a spa bath. Insect screens are fitted on doors and windows, and the location is quiet and secure so everything could be left open on warm evenings. The setting is delightful with mature gardens and a very peaceful feeling....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 405Sally
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi 405Sally, Thank you so much for your lovely review; so informative and insightful. We really love our location - the motel itself having a very special ambiance. Our tagline is "Your Quiet Place" in Kerikeri. We hope that you can visit us again soon. Best always, Alan & Andrea.

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
1.8 km away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
0.5 km away
Stay Kerikeri
Stay Kerikeri
#7 of 16 in Kerikeri
26 reviews
3.6 km away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
1.2 km away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
7.3 km away
Bay of Islands Country Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free WiFi. 50+Digital channels. Cosy & quiet cottages & cabins with comfortable beds and own sundecks in subtropical gardens. Saltwater pool, hot tub spa, and new friendly hosts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colonial House Motel

Address: 178 Kerikeri Road | Cnr Peacock Garden Drive, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Price Range: RM410 - RM547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Colonial House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial House Motel New Zealand/Kerikeri, Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kerikeri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kerikeri
#5 Family Hotel in Kerikeri
#5 Business Hotel in Kerikeri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colonial House Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Contact the motel ahead of time”
 of 5 bubbles 158iaing, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a chalet that had a small deck just by the pool, was lovely sitting there in the evening with a glass of wine.”
 of 5 bubbles aisajane, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just say what you are looking for.”
 of 5 bubbles WyeValleyHavana1, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed to be in a quiet zone.”
 of 5 bubbles 857vall, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“ask for recently renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles GauravGrover, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5