We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cliff Edge by the Sea

Save
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good10%
  • Average1%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“the owner”(13 reviews)
“other guests”(11 reviews)
“new zealand”(14 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Multilingual Staff
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
72
11
1
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
72
11
1
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerother guestsnew zealandstunning viewsexcellent chefgreat foodcourse mealculinary delightsicing on the cakeliving roommade us feellovely breakfastglass of winebeautiful areacharliewinessense
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its really a good news bad news type of review, Peter the owner is a wonderful chef and prepared 2 incredible meals for us, along with some nice New Zealand wine. Yes he has a very different personality that you have to warm up too...More

Thank Greg Y
Response from PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the SeaResponded 2 days ago

Dear Greg Y, thank you for your review. I agree with you in that Cliff Edge is not a hotel, I look at it as a guest lodge, a step up from a B&B as I offer dining in addition to the lodging. and I...More

Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed for while attending a nearby conference. Pete (the owner) was friendly and very generous. The home is perfectly positioned to make the most of the beautiful views. It’s layout works very well for both the single traveller and small groups.

Thank katiedenzin
Response from PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the SeaResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guests, thank you for your very kind words and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the views and what Cliff Edge has to offer. It really makes it all worth while please come back one day

Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

This place was advertised as a hotel. This is not a hotel. It’s a room in a creepy old mans house. Every time we opened the door to our room he was waiting. We checked out after the first night and he wouldn’t refund the...More

3  Thank shane c
Response from PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the SeaResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, my sincerest apologies for the belated reply. I agree with you in that CE is not a hotel, I call it a guest lodge, a step up from an B&B as we offer evening dining and hopefully more personable service in addition to...More

Reviewed 17 February 2018

We booked for 3 nights, could not believe the shabbiness, dirty room, dead insects, spider on pillow, never been cleaned for months. The owner accused us of wanting something for nothing! Could not believe rhe dirt, dusty bathroom filter, mound round door of the fridge....More

Thank Lindleyerdington
Response from PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the SeaResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guests, my apologies for the belated reply, no one appreciates reviews like yours. Especially if they are not true.There is nothing really I can say in response other then to say that virtually everything you mentioned is a lie. Yes, if you want to...More

Reviewed 29 January 2018

Peter was a wonderful host and excellent chef. The view from our room- the Okiata- was spectacular! We would definitely stay here again. Dining with Peter is a must - he made our visit to the Bay of Islands exceptional.More

Thank 210tmy
Response from PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the SeaResponded 2 days ago

DEar Guests, my apologies for the rather belated reply to your very kind words re my cooking , hosting skills and the amazing water views. I am delighted in that you enjoyed what Cliff Edge is all about Thank you!! and please come back one...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$181 - US$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$181 - US$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (7)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cliff Edge by the Sea staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Its really a lodge/Bed and Breakfast, its not a Hotel. No A/C in the rooms"
Read review
"Do not go here, the owner is unhelpful and rude"
Read review
"All rooms have great views with the rooms in the front having 180 degrees outlook"
Read review
"Front two rooms have much better views."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing