We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

993 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
See the most recent reviews
Showing 962: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Very tired and warn out hotel. Paint chipping off walls. Old shower over bath with stains. The ceiling fan does not work and is rusty. Tiles dirty, carpet still the original. So old and tired it looks dirty. Good location of the weather is good. Overall very overpriced. First time booking a Copthorne hotel and will never book a Copthorne...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SunshineFundays
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently undertaking a preventative maintenance program to help assist us in bringing our rooms up to standard. I am sorry that the standards of the rooms allocated were not up to expectations and that we did not have the opportunity to offer an alternative to you...

Quincy, IL
Reviewed 19 February 2016

We stayed here for two nights while on a tour of New Zealand. The views form our room were overlooking the pool and the beach. It was so relaxing to sit out on the balcony and watch the sun go down. It is not what I would classify as a fancy hotel but it is clean and the beds were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GramyB
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Udaipur, India
Reviewed 18 February 2016

This is the worst hotel i got in new zealand. The manager at reception was very rude to talk. When we checked in, we got keys in an envelope. We checked in the room with the keys inside the envelope and there were some letters in it. The bed was such that you could feel the springs inside it when...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank pavanmehta
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. In response and to clarify the hotels position in this matter. The hotel has a number of groups over the year from Indian. We find that these groups are prone on repeated occasion to flooding the bathrooms in the hotel due to the choice that is made by...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 February 2016

This must be one of the nicest locations in New Zealand. We bought a deal to spend two nights there and were lucky to get a sea view room. The room was lovely, clean and airy. Check-in was a bit slower than was necessary even taking into consideration that the young lady was seemingly new to the role. She didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that the experience that you had relating to our food and beverage outlets was not up to our normal standards and for the issues encountered during check in. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to welcome you...

Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016

This hotel is beautifully located and with luck you will enjoy wonderful sunrises but that is all I enjoyed about this hotel. The bathroom floor tiles were filthy, the paintwork was chipped and scratched and the mat in the bath was green with age. There was no air-conditioning in the room. The food in the restaurant was very poor and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Madeleine K
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions that we have ceiling fans only and not air conditioning so that to advise guests that when they choose to stay at our hotel what to expect when it comes to room cooling. We are currently undertaking a preventative...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Brought an overseas visitor. Beautiful setting, spoilt by the lack of amenities. Having travelled would rate this hotel 2 star. Restaurant extremely disappointing, very poor buffet and no a la carte which is something we would expect from a hotel that claims to be 4 star. During our visit it was very hot and humid and with no air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1963Catherine
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions that we have ceiling fans only and not air conditioning so that to advise guests that when they choose to stay at our hotel what to expect when it comes to room cooling. The hotels rating is awarded by...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Stayed here for four nights,it was ok not the standard I was expecting from a copthorne hotel.The room was very spacious,however no air con just a ceiling fan which was ok but noisey so had to be switched off at night.The place was looking a little tired the shower rail in the bathroom was very rusty and for some reason...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lin F
Matthew_Hambly, Owner at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions that we have ceiling fans only and not air conditioning so that to advise guests that when they choose to stay at our hotel what to expect when it comes to room cooling. Just to clarify, the hotel has...

Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We stayed at the resort as it is close to all we wanted to see and do , very nice check in experience. The only little gripe was no air conditioning in the room we had and it was a particularly hot night . the beds were comfy and the room clean. the breakfast , I cannot say enough good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions that we have ceiling fans only and not air conditioning so that to advise guests that when they choose to stay at our hotel what to expect when it comes to room cooling. I hope that you enjoyed the...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Our second stop during the New Zealand Tour was the historic bay of island region. It was only after reaching here we realized how important this place was in the formation of New Zealand. We stayed at Copthorne Hotel, which was right next to the historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds. Copthorne is couple of kms away from the main town centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pratiks14
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 February 2016

I was on this complex for two nights and the horrific experience started from check out when the booking did not register the full extent of my organisation's expense limit - (which was unlimited with no restrictions) apparently the website Booking.com didn't register those kind of details on the booking so I had to contact home office to send them...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tarina M
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I spoke with you personally on arrival regarding the only way us as a hotel can receive alternative billing arrangement for company who choose to book through a 3rd party portal is direct with the hotel. On this occasion we received no such correspondence. Regrettably for one reason...

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (281)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
1.0 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.4 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.3 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
3.7 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
1.3 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Price Range: RM357 - RM687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Javea, Spain
Javea, Spain
Auckland Region, New Zealand
7 months ago
Quincy, IL
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view of the bay”
jbakker, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great place if you are stuck in the middle of the night.”
TKAA1234, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms having view of the sea”
nidtravel, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to hibiscus wing sea view, wake up to great views :)”
charlenecave, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request ocean view”
JamesF806, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5