We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pearisburg
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Start your review of Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat
 Click to rate
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Michael and Neville are outstanding hosts and their hostel is a 1/2 mile off the AT or off a gravel road that is driveable for most vehicles. This serve a communal breakfast and many nights dinner too. Coffee and company are excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrandPaWalking
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Joined my husband for two nights as he is hiking the AT and I missed him. The place is beautiful and very private as it is in the middle of nowhere. We stayed in a private hut which was away from everyone; very comfortable bed, outhouse not far away. Excellent breakfasts and dinner in the main house. Best hostel I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TarHeel071
Woods Hole H, Owner at Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the new hut. We have budgeted excavation work this year to improve camping to add new huts. We hope to have the five huts up this Spring to provided outdoor private accomidations!

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Came off the trail in garbage shape. My pack didn't fit right, I had terrible shoes that were seriously hurting my feet and desperately needed a bed to sleep in. This place was a godsend. I shelled out for a room, milkshake (don't order one if they're busy though), a glorious massage and all the meals. Spent an ungodly amount....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julio A
Woods Hole H, Owner at Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for review. Sounds like you had a great time at Woods Hole and took advantage of the many great services: Indoor accommodations, amazing communal meals, massage therapy & yoga...We pride our business in providing quality service at an unbelievably low price and providing lasting memories.

Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here while hiking the Appalachian Trail. The first night we stayed there, we had an ok time. There was no light in the shower, which meant I couldn't shower. Also, there is one shower for the whole hostel. The bunkhouse holds 16 people, and their "tenting" space could hold 50 tents. The restroom facilities in the house are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Superschutte
Woods Hole H, Owner at Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

We are bit curious about this review? WH is a working organic farm raising grass fed Scottish highland cattle, non-GMO pastured hogs and organic gardens providing a plethora of fresh veggies. These along with other locally sourced foods are all incorporated into the homemade meals and have been a favorite for overstuffing hikers on the trail and guests for years....

Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

The main house is nothing short of whimsical. The food is delicious, especially if you are a nutrient-deficient thru hiker. Get a smoothie, just do it. Ask Neville about the history of the Hostel, it's a cool story One of the things that makes this place so special is that Michael and Neville don't just run this hostel as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad V
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This isn't a hotel, so if you are looking for full service, you may want to look elsewhere, but if you are looking for a remote spot that feels like you have been invited to stay with a friend, this place is for you. The setting is beautiful. The beds are comfortable. The food is great. We received priceless advice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 23 June 2015

The Hostel is just half a mile from the Appalachian trail. The rooms are clean and spacious. I was there just for the weekend, I drove there for the hikes, met lots of hikers doing the trail. They serve Breakfast and Dinner I would recommend if you are a hiker or not, all very natural and fresh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diego B
Green Bay, United States
Reviewed 15 June 2015

I stayed 2 nights and could not have been more impressed. The owners are incredibly nice, excellent cooks, and a great experience overall. The main house is very neat and clean and the bunkhouse (for hikers) is one of the cleanest and neatest I have ever seen. I loved the food, such as fresh salads from their gardens, apple butter,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 3 November 2014

This place is stunning around Halloween, when the foliage is gorgeous and there is already some snow on the ground. The unpaved road up to the hostel made me nervous, in my little, 14 year old Infiniti, but I made it (most of the wheels in this part of the world are 4 wheel drive). Neville is a wonderful hostess!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
Lexington, Virginia
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at the Woods Hole hostel during my Appalachian Trail section-hike this summer. The place is run by Neville & her husband Michael and they offer two types of accommodations...the main house and a bunkhouse. During my one-night stay, I noted no discrimination by the owners toward those persons staying in the bunkhouse. Woods Hole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oilman65
woodsholehostel, Owner at Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and perspective. We value positive feed back.. as it just makes us want to try harder and do better. We have come to really value and love what we do here. We hope to only grow, prosper, and be more nurturing in this wonderful experience we have...

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Woods Hole is an 1880's chestnut log cabin with adjacent log bunkhouse in the Southwest corner of Virginia. Established in 1986, the hostel offers two private rooms, rustic bunkhouse, massage therapy, yoga, and family style meals. Woods Hole is located 1/2 mile off the Appalachian Trail and 45 minutes from I77 or I81. Find your way back to nature with Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat

Address: 3696 Sugar Run Rd, Pearisburg, VA 24134
Region: United States > Virginia > Pearisburg
Price Range: RM288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For privacy, stay in the Hut.”
  • The Hut
 of 5 bubbles TarHeel071, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great peaceful spot”
 of 5 bubbles 69DiegoB, 23 Jun 2015 | Read review
“There are 2 private rooms and a bunk house for the AT hikers... It's an awesome experience!”
 of 5 bubbles Ricky216, 5 Nov 2013 | Read review
“The hostel is for backpackers; It is not like a tourist hostel. The b n b rooms are in different building (not far from the hostel bunkhouse). In this building is the kitchen, breakfast area, common room, massage room, porches...”
 of 5 bubbles henje, 9 Jul 2012 | Read review
4 of 4