We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel

Save
Share
425 Water St, Portsmouth, VA 23704-3801
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
US$122
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (320)
Room & Suite (158)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 6 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Blending traditional elegance and modern style, our waterside Norfolk, VA area hotel in the historic downtown district of Olde Towne Portsmouth provides calming comfort and soothing relaxation. The Renaissance Portsmouth hotel boasts a hip location overlooking the vibrant, revitalized waterfront and offers stunning views of the Elizabeth River. Set above the harbor, the Portsmouth Ballroom's unique outdoor terrace, part of the 24,000 square feet of Norfolk area hotel meeting space, provides a stunning reception area sure to draw rave reviews from your guests. This updated luxurious Norfolk, Virginia area hotel also features 23 meeting rooms including a 70-seat Amphitheater. Savor the atmosphere of this waterside hotel in Portsmouth at Foggy Point Bar & Grill, presenting a selection of fresh seafood. Visitors to the area can enjoy the unique experience of taking the nearby water taxi across to many of the Norfolk business and visitor destinations including the Norfolk Naval facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
783Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 322
  • 241
  • 108
  • 54
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
TexasExPat1 wrote a review Yesterday
Fort Lauderdale, Florida6 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Don’t waste your time. There is only one employee/supervisor, Keith, on premise. The room, which we had to wait for 2 hours to be cleaned, was dirty with a crappy view. There is no bar or restaurant open. I did my research and this was not mentioned.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Call…call…call!!! Don’t rely on the website!!! Ask thorough questions not general ones.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Shena Brooks, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Responded today
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. I would like to apologize for the experience that you had during your stay with us. Unfortunately, our restaurant/bar is closed on Sunday and Monday evenings. This information is provided at check-in via a welcome letter and verbally from our staff. I do apologize if you weren't made aware of this when you checked in. The information that you've provided regarding your room not being cleaned will be shared with our Housekeeping Leadership team to make sure that another guest doesn't have the same experience. The feedback that you've provided is valuable and will be shared with the entire team.
Read more
Kf13 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
I wish I could give this place 0 stars. When I checked in the tv wasn't working so they sent maintenance up to fix it. Not only did the guy reek of marijuana but I overheard him talking to his manager about how the tv hadn't been working for a while so they would come fix it tomorrow. I was in a wedding the next day so I told them anytime they could come is fine. Flash forward to getting back from the wedding the tv isn't working. I called down to the front desk who said they cancelled the work order because it wasn't high priority. I also asked them if they could bring up towels and toilet paper. They brought up towels but no toilet paper and I had to end up using tissues all night. All of the staff at the hotel was very rude including the general manager. Please save yourself the frustration and stay somewhere else
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Shena Brooks, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing feedback regarding your stay. I would like to sincerely apologize for the experience that you had during your stay with us. The feedback that you've provided has been shared with the entire team and we will follow up in the areas where we fell short.
Read more
John B wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel has great potential, but they are going to need to step up their game. The location is nice down on the waterfront and is across the river from shopping. You can drive over or take the ferry. The staff was courteous, but did not offer up general information like parking or give guidance to the elevators or rooms. I had to ask other staff or guest for directions.The hotel was nice and clean inside, but there was trash all around the outside. In our room the bed was soft and comfortable. The curtains were torn and the phone did not work correctly. In order to get the checkout time I had to use my cell phone to call the front desk. The tv was a large flat screen, but none of the free services worked and the internet was not hooked up so there wasn't any menu information. You just had to flip channels to find what you wanted to watch. I wanted ice so I had to go down a floor as the machine on ours did not work. To top it all off in the morning I had to take a cold shower as there wasn't any hot water. Then they charged me $10 to park for my stay. The staff didn't ask about my visit, say have a nice day or please come back to see us. I am sure you would like to spend your hard earned money on a nicer place that pays attention to the details and values your buisness. If you don't believe me try it for yourself, maybe I expect to much and have a higher standard. Good luck with your choice hopefully this will help someone have a better night out.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shena Brooks, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing feedback regarding your stay. I would like to sincerely apologize for the experience that you had during your stay with us. The feedback that you've provided has been shared with all of our department managers and will be used as a training tool for our staff. Unfortunately we did have an issue with the hot water going out overnight. Once we were made aware of the issue, we contacted our engineering team to get the issue resolved. We have just finished a recent remodel of our guest rooms and we are still in the process of rewiring the building to get our streaming services up and running on the TV's. Again, my sincerest apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. Please feel free to reach out to me directly with any other questions or concerns that you may have had regarding your stay.
Read more
britta2mozart wrote a review Sep 2021
Greensboro, North Carolina147 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
In my 15 years of being a loyal Marriott customer this was the worst stay. I've stayed at this property twice in the past and loved it. It's changed. I arrived at 5:20pm on a Saturday to check in. Check-in 4pm. My room was not ready. I was told that they had a large group check out at 4:30pm. In my head I said that's not my problem, but under I mask I smiled and said okay. They took my cell number and would call me when the room was ready. They did not recognize my membership status and they did not apologize for the room not being ready. I walked around downtown and they called about 30 minutes later. My room was on the 7th floor. It's one of the newly renovated. I'll post pics. It had a lovely view of the harbor. The carpet has been replaced with light vinyl plank floors. The ceiling has been painted dark gray. It's dark. The lamps did not put out much light. It was dark in there! The closet or wardrobe and hangers or gone. There is one hook in the bathroom to hang something. The ironing board sat against the wall and the iron sat in the space near the ice container. There was no place to hang anything. There was no desk and no chair. There was a peg type round thing you could sit on. If you bring in food you have to stand or sit on the bed to eat it. I called the front desk and I was told the newly renovated rooms are like this. The room does have a small refrigerator. The bathroom was lovely. It has a modern shower. There were a few towels and washcloths, nice shampoo, conditioner, soap and body lotion. There was no extra toilet paper. We had half a roll for the stay. The next morning I called and asked for more and it was never delivered. Most nice restaurants in the area close at 9pm but bars are open late. We wanted to eat at the hotel but we could only eat in the bar. There was a high school reunion in the restaurant. The menu was very limited. If you have food allergies or a limited diet watch out. There were maybe 8 items on the entire menu. The only thing my mother wanted was the flatbread but they were out of that. We went out to eat instead but the parking downtown and early closure meant we didn't get dinner. We went back to the hotel and ordered pizza delivery. While I waited for the delivery I ordered a drink from the bar. The bartender said they were out of 1 ingredient. She suggested something else and was very nice. She was the nicest person working there. I looked forward to a great night sleep and the dependable, most comfortable mattress in the world. I love Marriott mattresses. It's the main reason I stay Marriott loyal. Oh but this hotel didn't have them. Nope. I slept on a firm and uncomfortable mattress. Yet another letdown. Overall the hotel is clean and beautiful. The new rooms are horrible! The staff need some work. This is the hospitability industry and they were sorely lacking.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Shena Brooks, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Responded 17 Sep 2021
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing feedback regarding your stay. I would like to apologize for the experience that you had during your stay with us. The feedback that you've provided will be shared with the entire team and will be used as a training tool for the staff.
Read more
brianrM9150GK wrote a review Jul 2021
Williamsburg, Virginia5 contributions11 helpful votes
Rooms are nice with some quirks. The bathroom sliding doors are hard to open when fully closed. There was only one place to hang a towel. If you have two, you're out of luck. There was no closet or clothes hangers. If you have a suit or jacket you'd like to hang up, you're out of luck. As is often the case in hotels, the power outlets are not conveniently located. Wifi is available without login password, which is nice. Bed was comfortable. As with many hotels, the lighting was hard to figure out, but worked okay once we had the hang of it. The views from the 10th floor of the ships in the harbor was drop-dead spectacular. Room cleaning was only once every three days. Not good for a hotel of this price. In general, there did not seem to be enough staff while we were there. The hotel was quite full, but there were clearly not enough wait staff in the bar/restaurant. However, the waitresses I encountered were doing their best and were very nice. Parking is convenient. The ferry to downtown Norfolk is close by and we had a great time one evening crossing over for dinner. Despite my small complaints, this is a good hotel and I would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Get a room up high. Views are spectacular.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$112 - US$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
renaissance portsmouth hotel & waterfront portsmouth, renaissance portsmouth hotel and waterfront conference center
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaPortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
249
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Children's Museum of Virginia (0.3 km), Portsmouth Naval Shipyard Museum (0.05 km), and Lightship Portsmouth Museum (0.04 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Still, Cafe Europa, and Fish & Slips.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Portsmouth.
Are any cleaning services offered at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Commodore Theater (0.6 km), Virginia Stage Company at The Wells Theatre (1.4 km), and Moses Myers House (1.6 km).