We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth

Save
Share
925 London Blvd, Portsmouth, VA 23704-2235
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/03/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
ZenHotels.comUS$91
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (33)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 12/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 12/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 6 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth is one of the best budget hotels in Portsmouth, Virginia that’s right off of SR 141 with easy access to I-264, US 58 and SR 164. We are also close to Union Bank & Trust Pavilion, Downtown Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach Convention Center, Old Dominion University, Norfolk State University, Norfolk Scope Arena, Norfolk Botanical Garden, MacArthur Center, Nauticus National Maritime Center, Chrysler Museum of Art, Hill House, the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard Museum, Lightship Portsmouth Museum, the Children’s Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station, Naval Medical Center Portsmouth and Norfolk International Airport (ORF). We offer our guests free Wi-Fi, free coffee in the lobby and a guest coin laundry facility as well a microwave and mini-refrigerator in every room. Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth is a pet-friendly hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary instant cofffee
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Secured parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
31Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 3
  • 0
  • 4
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nicholas C wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This was a surprisingly great place for the price. Last second trip changes necessitated the need for us to stay here, and we were very happy with the staff, cleanliness, and of course round-the-clock coffee. Exceeded our expectations!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth
Responded 5 Sep 2021
Hello I7081LOnicholasc, Thank you for your kind comments and 5-star rating! It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. We are all looking forward to your next visit and hope it will be just as enjoyable.
Read more
id23336 wrote a review Sep 2021
Norfolk, Virginia58 contributions34 helpful votes
I picked this hotel because my house was being fumigated, and I couldn't leave my cat in the house. There were signs all over saying smoking wasn't allowed, but when I stepped into the lobby, it was like a smokers' convention was ongoing. The receptionist wasn't very friendly. But, I took my key and my cat, and entered my room, which also smelled smoky with mildew thrown in. I didn't expect a view, and was not surprised to find an old chain link fence around a parking lot. On checking the sheets (I always spray them with disinfectant) I found mysterious stains. The door had no security latch. There were screw holes where one had been. This is a not very safe area, so I was uneasy. When I told the receptionist the sheets were dirty, she checked and told me she could give me some clean sheets. I asked if I were to make the bed, and she said "I'm not the maid." Never got the sheets, and left without even using the restroom, much less the bed. I complained to corporate, and they say they'll give me half my money back. Very disappointing. I went next door to the Motel 6. They were very nice, and the room was better and cheaper.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid this one at all times
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth
Responded 3 Sep 2021
id23336, Thank you for pointing out the issues with housekeeping so that we can work to improve upon this aspect of the guest experience at our hotel. You expect and deserve a completely clean hotel room every time you stay with us. All guest complaints are taken seriously, and we want to assure you that the problem you brought to our attention is being addressed. We also do engage in deep cleaning processes right now as guest satisfaction is our top priority. Again, thank you for your time and feedback. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit.
Read more
Sheri V wrote a review Aug 2021
Raton, New Mexico4 contributions3 helpful votes
I am a travel nurse and travel all over the US. I made a reservation at this place and arrived on 5/22/21. I had another nurse following me. I had a week reservation in this PLACE and was staying there until our apartment was ready in Norfolk on the 29th. We pulled into the parking lot, trash bags and food littering the parking lot, homeless people standing around, looked like doing drug deals and curtains flying out the windows! I pulled right out and went down the street and contacted their corporate office. Stated they could not refund my card $600 and a check would have to be issued from accounting. It would take 4-6 weeks to arrive?? Its August 8th, after several phone calls still no check! I believe they have no intentions of refunding my money!I want my money! Is this the appreciation I get for working in these Covid times??😪
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth
Responded 9 Aug 2021
312sheriv, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! On behalf of our entire team, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your description of what you witnessed around our facilities, cleanliness, and in the parking area is alarming and distressing. We will forward your review to management for their attention and action. if you still have questions regarding your refund, please call us at the hotel again and we can discuss the matter. We hope you'll return someday to see how we're improving.
Read more
Lynice G wrote a review Jun 2021
Chevy Chase Village, Maryland3 contributions1 helpful vote
This room looks nothing like it’s advertised! I checked in, there was a terrible cigarette smell in my room. There were cigarette burns in the comforter, the chain lock on the door was completely missing as well as the arm at the top of the door! I checked out 10 mins later and the agent at the front desk said that she would refund my money. Now it’s a month later and still no refund! On top of that I still have not been able to reach a property manager to handle my situation! DONT EVEN BOTHER STAYING HERE!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth
Responded 23 Jun 2021
lyniceg2021, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your very detailed negative review of our facilities and customer service is rough to hear because our goal and our efforts are directed to bring the opposite results from what you describe. if you still have questions regarding your refund, please call us at the hotel and we can discuss the matter. We hope you'll return someday to see how we're improving.
Read more
Stan Miller wrote a review May 2021
Fayetteville, North Carolina341 contributions126 helpful votes
Do not stay at this motel. RUN !! In a very bad part of town !! I was afraid to leave my truck in the parking lot. During my check in (young man had no idea what he was doing, took long time) I checked the room out. Smelled. The room next to the room I was going to stay in, looked like total disaster. I don't know what had happened in that room. I was approached by 3 different ladies of the evening, asking if I wanted a date. I had enough and canceled my room. The young man said, it would probably take 10-14 days for the charges to be returned to my card. Plus, he had charged me for two nights, which I made it very clear, I was only originally intending to stay one night. DO NOT STAY HERE. HORRIBLE
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth
Responded 4 May 2021
Stan M, Thank you for completing our guest satisfaction survey and letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. It's our primary goal to ensure that you receive the best lodging experience and we wish to let you know that your voice is extremely important to us. Regarding your overcharged issue, please feel free to contact us if this situation has not been resolved to your satisfaction. We also hope that you will be far more impressed with our improved accommodations and services during your next visit!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$54 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Red Roof Inn Portsmouth, VA
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaPortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth
Which popular attractions are close to Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth?
Nearby attractions include Children's Museum of Virginia (1.0 km), Commodore Theater (0.7 km), and Lightship Portsmouth Museum (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Still, The Bier Garden, and Cafe Europa.
Are any cleaning services offered at Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Commodore Theater (0.7 km), Virginia Stage Company at The Wells Theatre (2.2 km), and Moses Myers House (2.5 km).
Is Red Roof Inn Norfolk - Portsmouth accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.