We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
See the most recent reviews
Showing 251: English reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

This is more of a motel than a hotel . Trash cans below every stair and liter around the stairs and external Hallway. Full trash can inside my room from previous guest . If I hadn't prepaid through orbitz I would have left . Noisy room can hear through the walls . Would have been worth my drive to different...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph C
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that we failed to meet your expectations. In response to your feedback, I will be retraining our staff to make sure we are enforcing our quiet hours to ensure that each guest has a comfortable stay. Additionally, I will retrain our housekeeping staff...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We stayed at this location for 1 week because it had been prepaid for about $850. Otherwise we would have checked out after just one night. The dishware, coffeemaker, pots, glasses, etc. are not in the room. You have to ask them to give them to you. They don't even bring it to your room. We had to pick them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SofiaMeko
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear about the cleanliness issues you experienced. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have coached our staff to ensure that our dishware is thoroughly...

Westerlo
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Overall: My stay was fine after I made the room my own. I bought a bunch of cleaning supplies and cleaned the room myself. Be advised, this is not a luxury stay place. This is extended stay - basically an inexpensive room - no frills. Reception: The man at the reception desk was not very warm, however he got the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamspiano
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. We appreciate you letting us know about the cleanliness issues you experienced. In response to your feedback, I will make sure our hotel and rooms meet our company’s high standards of cleanliness. We are sorry for these issues, but are happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 5 November 2015

This was a great stay for a business trip. The location was perfect. I would recommend this hotel for families and business trips. The hotel is in need of some upkeep. Perhaps the staff needs to be recycled.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheena35221
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you had wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our convenient location. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.

Reviewed 25 October 2015

Need to house visiting daughter for five days nearby. Was quite reluctant to try this property, but the location was perfect for her work and the rates were good. Look, it isn't the Ritz, but it was clean, comfortable and the staff wasn't just good. Staff was GREAT! Either of the two individuals we worked with at the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank analytic
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience! I truly appreciate your comments regarding our friendly staff and reasonable rates. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you...

Reviewed 21 October 2015

I have to agree with the reviews about the dismal quality of the facility itself and the lukewarm service from the staff. This is not the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, but it's very close and I base most of that on the poor service, lack of concern about complaints, and lack of pride in the property.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Britta D
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not to our company's high standards. To prevent this from happening again, I will use your comments as a training tool to coach our staff. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing...

Reston, Virginia
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Wow, where to begin? Unfortunately I was given few options on where to stay while our house was undergoing repairs, and I was stunned how miserable this hotel truly is. The photos do not accurately represent the hotel - it is much older and incredibly outdated. The fridge had mold on it, the burners barely worked, the shower was clogged....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank First L
Reston, Virginia
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Clean room/low price. Front desk person was very friendly. Rooms are no frills but priced lower than anything in the area. Near Reston Town Center so very convenient if you're on a tight budget but want to stay close.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeresaE888
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff and reasonable rates. I’m thrilled we were able to provide you with a home away from home experience! Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Last weekend, I needed to get to an extremely early Sunday meeting out by Dullas (worst kind) and needed a place to stay the night before. I have worked in hospitality for 20 years and currently work for the top hospitality consulting firm in the world and the staff here delivered. This is not a Marriott or a Hilton...if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David D
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I’m so pleased to read that you had a great stay at our hotel! I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly and accommodating staff. I’m thrilled we were able to provide you with a home away from home experience! Once more, thank you for posting your review....

Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewed 3 August 2015

When I first found this Extended Stay, I was ecstatic to find such a cheap, short-term option for housing. I needed a place to stay during the summer for an internship, and this provided a convenient option without the additional costs of utilities or furnishing. Unfortunately, I soon came to realize that I was trading price for quality. The housekeeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JR R
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review

Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. I appreciate your comments regarding our location and staff; however, I apologize that our amenities were not to your satisfaction. In response to your feedback, I will be working with our staff to ensure we are clearly communicating our amenities as well as sharing your comments with our corporate...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reston
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Reston
1.2 km away
Sheraton Reston Hotel
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Westin Reston Heights
0.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
0.8 km away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#11 of 20 in Herndon
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston

Address: 12190 Sunset Hills Rd, Reston, VA 20190-5840 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Price Range: RM336 - RM535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites - Reston Hotel Reston
Extended Stay America Reston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Accessibility, Quiet, Food, Public Transportation”
 of 5 bubbles johnsT3682DY, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you need first floor (no steps), be sure you don't get a room toward the back, where you do have a few steps to contend with”
 of 5 bubbles JimStaudt, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would not recommend this "hotel"”
 of 5 bubbles Humanfactor, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Maybe upper rooms better”
 of 5 bubbles SRAYM1993, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Does not stand by reservations as placed. Heating/cooling is not occupant friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles carolef228, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5